We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed a fab stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Condado Hotel Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Condado Hotel Barcelona to your Saves list
Condado Hotel Barcelona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aribau 201, 08021 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a fab stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Just back from 3 days at the Hotel Condado with family. We had a lovely time. The staff were all very friendly, and the hotel is very nice.

Breakfast is a buffet affair with fresh fruit, rolls, hot food (though we didn't try that) juice and coffee.

The hotel seemed very safe, and kept our bags for us on the last day. The area around is quite quiet, which is good at night and meant that we could sleep with the windows open. That said, our room was at the back of the hotel.

All said, we had a lovely stay and would certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    416
    60
    12
    5
See reviews for
169
453
33
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Twin cities, MN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had a phenomenal stay for 3 nights at this hotel! It's clean, modern, superb free wifi,spacious and we requested a room that was in the interior so no noise issues! I would definitely stay here again! It was in a good quiet location but still near most things and bus stops. The staff is also friendly and helpful.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Booked hotel after reading reviews on the TripAdvisor; did not regret for a minute. Wait, I will take it back: first night we went to bed with windows open and the bars right under the windows create some action very late at night, between 2 and 5 am. However room had double windows which took care of the problem. Other than that it's pretty good. Breakfast is served every morning from 7 to 11 for an additional charge, I think, 12 euros per person. Scrambled eggs, sausage, good assortment of breads, pastries, fresh fruit and meats; pretty good coffee however it takes patience to get used to the coffee machine. After first breakfast we never really wanted to go anywhere else; very convenient and tasty. Room wasn't really big but we left every morning after breakfast, came back late in the evening for a sleep so we didn't need anything more; room on our trip to NY was a whole lot smaller and more expensive. Location was great: 10 to 15 minutes of walking distance to the main tourist attractions but away enough from the craziness. About three minutes to the bus stop, maybe 10 minutes to the metro. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Spent 4 nights here with a girlfriend here last year and we were thoroughly impressed with the services.
When booking, we were looking for somewhere close to the centre of the city, clean, and under 100 euros per night. Ended up booking here for just over 300 euros for 4 nights, for twin share.
Given the price we were preparing ourselves for nothing special.
Once we arrived we were just blown away. Gorgeous hotel. Spacious, spotlessly clean bedrooms, good sized bathroom, lovely staff.
Breakfast ordinary, we only ate here once. But it does the job.
We started the trip by walking to the city to get a feel for the area. Ended up getting taxis because they're so cheap and we got lazy! But it's easily walkable, around half an hour to the coast.
Hotel staff lent us an Australian to European power converter which was nice.

The only negative was that on the day we left and went to sort out the bill, there was a surcharge for something. Which is fine but I was a little bit annoyed that they didn't let us know this from the time of booking, but anyway.. It wasn't a lot, maybe 20 euros or something. Could have been in the fine print when we booked though so it's probably our fault.

All up, a great holiday, would absolutely stay here again, we love Hotel Condado.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We just completed a3 night stay at this hotel. The room was larger than we had in Rome or Florence. It was very comfortable. I found some of the front desk staff to be quite standoffish, particular my an older gentleman. He finally softened up by the 4t th day, but he almost seemed not to want to bother (non-English speakers).our package didn't include breakfast, so I can't speak to that.

Room Tip: It's unfortunate that even though the Condado was a nice hotel, a staff person can cloud your en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCondadoManager, Director General at Condado Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear guests, Thank you for your time reviewing your stay with us.

I am bit surprised regarding one of our Front Desk staff behaviour's as you can see how many TA users have congratulated our Front Desk staff in this same forum.

However, your review is highly appreciated as we can improve and avoid similar situations like you described.

Our mission is making our best to meet guest’s expectations. Please give us a new chance in your next visit to Barcelona. Warm regards, Ignacio Casellas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. Its just north of Ave Diagonal and a great spot for getting local buses to the rest of the main attractions. The room was very comfortable although the view from the balcony left a lot to be desired but we were spoilt after just staying in Valencia. The breakfast was great and the garden room was very calming. The reception staff were really helpful and recommended a couple of really good restaurants close by. The free water was an added bonus. All in all a good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Just returned from a 5 night stay. I chose this hotel after reading the good reviews and getting a very good price for the stay. There are reasons why its priced this way, which I will go over.

For the pluses, the hotel is just a block north of Ave Diagonal and a good spot to see the city. Major bus routes all over, so we got a T10 pass for the bus and used it for all of our transportation. The subway is just not that convenient from this location, and the bus allows you to see everything as you travel. Used Google maps app on my phone which had all of the bus schedules which made it convenient to get around. We also used the hop on hop off bus to see all of the major spots and explore. Also just down the road from the hotel.

Room is a good size, with a good sized bathroom, although ventilation was lacking in there (bring air freshener), but the air con worked well in the room. WIFI was fast, but we did have 2 or 3 outages during our visit. The breakfast is worth it if you get it included. It saves you the trouble of going out, although there are places nearby to eat if you want. Free water bottles are offered in fridges in the hallway. That was a nice plus.

Negatives:
If you can't sleep on a firm bed, then stay away. It's very firm and you will feel it in the morning if you are not used to it. Also, the hotel is next to a bar/club which is hopping each night from Thursday through Monday and it goes until 5AM. The privacy windows help with the noise, but you will still hear it if you get a room facing the street. This WILL keep you awake if you're a light sleeper so ask for a room towards the back. Even the higher level rooms that face the street will be noisy. There is no coffee maker in or outside of the room. Only during breakfast. Frustrating at times, and silly not to offer it since it's quite a simple amenity to provide. This hotel is made for you to use as a base, not to hang out in. Leave for the day and don't come back until you're ready for bed. That's fine, and I like that this is reflected in the price. If they charged more for the room, I would say this was not a good value...but it's priced right for what it offers.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street suffer from noise from the club across the street until 5AM. Stay in a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCondadoManager, Director General at Condado Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your time giving your opinion about your stay with us.

Your review will help future visitors. However, I would like to mention a couple of things:

In this forum, it has been mentioned in many reviews that our double glazing helps keeping the room quiet in low floors are absolutely quiet in high floors.

We are a Superior Tourist Hotel. We never show our hotel as plenty of services.
We are a family run hotel serving modern accommodation & good buffet breakfast trying to meet all our guests expectations. But, please, don't book with us in case you want spend time in our facilites.

I hope my opinion will help future visitors like your lovely review.

Warm regards, Ignacio Casellas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Condado Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condado Hotel Barcelona

Address: Aribau 201, 08021 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#68 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#85 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Condado Hotel Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Condado Barcelona has a privileged location at the business and shopping hub of Barcelona's Diagonal Avenue, just a few minutes away from Paseo de Gracia, Rambla de Catalunya and the famous modern style route. We offer a personalised service, absolutely focussed to our guest’s satisfaction during your stay in our city, Barcelona. The was recently fully refurbished, reaching an avant-garde and a very comfortable atmosphere like most boutique hotels in the world.In addition, the Hotel is located in an upmarket residential area of central Barcelona within walking distance to famous modern style route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Condado Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Condado Hotel
Condado Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Condado Hotel Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.