We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No regrets with this hotel choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Portal de l'Angel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Portal de l'Angel to your Saves list
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Portal de l'Angel 17, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Oakville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No regrets with this hotel choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Excellent location close to Playa Catalunya, Gothic Quarter and the Rambla. We got a street-view room with a little balcony overlooking the pedestrian shopping street which was surprisingly well insulated from the outside noise and better than the inside rooms overlooking the pool. Our room included a free in-room safe, free wi-fi, refrigerator, satellite TV, good a/c, modern bathroom with beautiful tiling and comfortable beds. Staff were friendly, helpful and spoke English but not overly knowledgable on tourist interests and activities. There are two gov't tourist bureaus within a few blocks. The building has some history and some nice architectural features. The courtyard area is a nice retreat from the busy streets but the pool is quite small and just suitable for dipping. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and found it to be excellent value.

Room Tip: Get a street-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    189
    52
    10
    9
See reviews for
86
239
29
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in June 2013 for 6 nights. I had preveiously stayed at this hotel in 2007. The hotel has gone trough an extensive renovation since then. My room was large by European standards, including the bathroom. It was extremely clean. The air conditioning was great. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions. The breakfast was extensive with eggs cooked multiple ways, lots of fruit options, cereal, various juices, breads, cheeses, meat, yougurt and of course coffee and tea. The location of the hotel was perfect. A short walk from many tourist sites, shopping and the metro. I did not use the fitness center or the swimming pool so I cannot comment on those. I had an interior room that did not face the street, so street noise was not an issue for me. I would stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were impressed with this boutique-style hotel. Such a beautiful building - a fabulous fusion of historical architecture mixed with modern interiors. Location was excellent. Shopper's paradise in the square and Las Ramblas a five-minute walk. We were pleasantly surprised by our room - spacious by European standards, very well appointed with professional- looking interior design (they have inspired me to renovate my own bedroom at home!!). Considering the level of noise surrounding the hotel, they have done an excellent job with soundproofing and the room was very quiet. Check in/check out was a breeze since we were the only people at the front desk coming and going. Staff were pleasant and helpful with directions and suggestions. Housekeeping was efficient (even cleaned our room when we went out and accidentally left our do not disturb sign on all day). Small pool in the back was quite cozy - too tiny for serious swimming, but it offered a refreshing dip on hot summer days. Since there is only room on the patio for about a dozen lounge chairs, and they fill up quite early in the day, plan to head to a beach for sunbathing. Lunch food by the pool was great, but we did not eat dinner at the hotel since we preferred to be out and about and there is an overwhelming array of restaurant options close by ... so many restaurants and so little time!!! Of note - the food and drink on Las Ramblas is Barcelona's version of the tourist trap. Go for a walk there, but move two or three blocks away and food and beverage prices become very reasonable. Free WIFI and two laptops available for complimentary use in the lobby was a bonus. Overall a great stay of four nights in a fabulous city. However, our air conditioning was barely adequate on the maximum setting (we slept without blankets)..it was bordering on hot in the room but doable. Also, the decorating scheme of the rooms is quite dark with minimal lighting - great for ambience but made applying cosmetics a little challenging.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

although they have soundproof windows, they have angry, noisy cleaning ladies, like they have a problem that you are sleeping..!!! they start around 8 o'clock ;) we asked for a room with view and balcony, but it was no door to get out on the very, very, very small balcony. :))) we try to change it, but they say that they will have a room in two days. in the meanwhile someone from the reception tell me that there are only three rooms with doors and balcony, and I am not gonna have one of this, so we did not change any room. when we looked from outside we saw that only the rooms on the third floor have this problem...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A gem of a hotel right off Catalunya Square which is a central point for site-seeing buses, taxis, shops and the Rambla. We had a superior twin on the third floor which overlooked a pedestrian shopping street, but had little noise after shops closed.
Rooms comfortable and elegant with good toiletries etc. Staff very helpful.
Breakfast served in the garden conservatory, brilliant choice - and reasonable at 14 euros.
It would be good if dinner was served in the garden too.
The garden/swimming pool area is wonderfully peaceful.
I'm surprised this is only a three star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Beautiful hotel, great location! Stayed on holidays with my family , wife and kids. Rooms comfortable, clean, slurpy breakfast and a great summing pool. In the centre of the town, near Ramblas and Plaza Catalonia. Recommended!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here (in Room #102) in Mid-June 2013 with my wife. The place is nice, but not great.
Good Points -
1. Location cannot be beat - close to Plaza Catalunya, 2 minutes walk to the Cathedral, 5 mins from Las Ramblas. Perfect location in my book.
2. Hotel Nice and clean and building is lovely.
3. Well appointed rooms, nicely furnished.
4. Pool area very nice - great for relaxing (pool a bit small......)
5. Bar Staff excellent - can't fault them at all.
6. Hotel restaurant very good (on the whole)....some issues to be discussed later.

Not so Good Points -
1. Air conditioning did not work - we had it turned to maximum cooling and it was still hot in the room - all the air conditioning did was move hot air around - no cooling whatsoever. The A/C was also REALLY noisy, so there was zero chance of a good night's sleep with it turned on. Ended up turning it off and opening the window. This got a slight breeze into the room (without the horrendous noise) but had the downside that the TV of the people in the room next door kept us awake when they had it playing full blast after midnight (may they rot in hell). Also had the downside that someone was smoking in the area outside the window and we got a roomful of cigarette smoke.
2. Food was mostly very good - we ate at the Restaurant one night and it was excellent. However, we ate at the bar one lunchtime, and the burger that my wife ordered was totally raw in the middle. She likes rare, but this was raw to the point of bleeding - really not good. The club sandwich she got to replace it was, however, very good.
3. Room is pretty small, but as said before, nicely done.

All in all, a pretty good hotel, but our stay was really spoiled by the combination of a rubbish Air conditioning system and noisy neighbours. We are planning on coming back to Barcelona later in the year, but are still in 2 minds whether the location of this hotel is enough to make us come back - maybe we were just unlucky with this room.

Simon & Sue, Aberdeen UK

Room Tip: It may be we were unlucky, but avoid room #102 like the plague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Portal de l'Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Portal de l'Angel

Address: Avenida Portal de l'Angel 17, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#73 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Portal de l'Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a 19th-century building, the Catalonia Portal de l'Angel (formerly Catalonia Albinoni) is set between Plaza de Catalunya and Barcelona’s Gothic Quarter. It features an outdoor swimming pool on the grounds and has free Wi-Fi.The hotel's comfortable bedrooms all feature private bathrooms, air conditioning and satellite TV. The Albinoni maintains much of its original design. The hotel restaurant, El Jardí de l'Angel serves a range of Catalan dishes and guests can dine on the pool-side terrace. The famous Las Ramblas is less than 220 yards away, while Passeig de Gràcia and Gaudí’s Casa Batlló can be reached in around 10 minutes, by foot. Barcelona Cathedral is just over 110 yards from the hotel. The Catalonia has easy access to public transportation and is just a 5-minute walk from Catalunya Metro and Train Station, as well as several bus services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Portal de l'Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Portal De l`Angel Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Albinoni Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Albinoni Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Albinoni
Catalonia Portal De L'Angel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.