We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I expect from Marriott” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Barcelona Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pau Claris 122, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona) (Eixample)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #78 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Exactly what I expect from Marriott”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Location: The hotel is walking distance from everything you want to see in Barcelona and also walking distance from the Place de Catalunya which is where the bus from airport drops you. It's an easy trek with luggage.

Hotel: As for the hotel itself, the amenities are fantastic, the bar is great an the rooms are comfortable, quiet, and luxurious. Great Sangria from the bartender, didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't rate the food, but the late night drinks were on point.

Staff: The staff was excellent. I checked in and was using points to pay for the room, there was a problem with the certificate having not arrived at the hotel yet for the points, they still set me up in a great room and helped me work the issue with no problem to get the points used for the room. I ended up needing to extend my stay for a few more days and again wanted to use points. I had to move rooms because the one I was in had been requested by a guest checking in and I had extended my stay. The staff was great. Bent over backwards to make the transition smooth. Literally can't say enough good things about the staff.

Staying here reminded me why when able I choose Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    274
    67
    11
    3
See reviews for
105
299
25
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel on 3 occasions, normally for 3 days at a time. My last stay was for 7 nights. The staff could not be more helpful than during my stay. We were fortunate to have a room upgrade so had huge room and enormous bed, styling is modern but of high standard, bathroom the same high standard, with large bath and shower, again all of high standard.
We only ate breakfast which was normal self service with fresh fruit, pastries, and hot breakfast.
In Barca there are hundreds of restaurants and tapas bars so no need for hotel food this trip.
Special mention to Iris thanks for the service all very happy.

Room Tip: The brice can vary so don't be put off if price is high when you look try few days later and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I found our visit to the Renaissance Barcelona to be great. Yes, it’s a contemporary hotel, modern in style, and more reflective of the new Barcelona than the old. But the people there treated us with welcoming warmth, even before we arrived, with helpful emails from the Navigators. Besides, the location cannot be beat, especially if you are only there for a short stay, as we were. Beautiful roof deck view, smart rooms and a very comfortable bed that's nice to come back to after a day of sightseeing in this amazing city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel a while ago and we enjoyed it very much. It is a good location and the rooms were very very nice, stylish and clean.
We sat at the roof top bar every night it was the perfect way to enjoy the city and the awesome view. The potato chips that they gave us were great.
The hotel is far from the beach and it is hard to get to if you are driving but it is worth every penny.
There amenities were great. Never took advantage of any meals other then breakfast but everything about this hotel is great.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

A great Marriott property, esp fab free breakfast if you get it comp'ed with your status, as well as free wifi.But the location is the Best! Several great restaurants ( 336, Rene, etc) next door. As well as it's 1 block from the train station. Take the train from the airport & walk down to the hotel. Incredibly short distance. Saves you heaps of euros...rooms decent size( we were on 10 th floor) and 8 th floor outdoor terrace has the greatest views. We are platinum marriott members, so we do get great add ons. But anyone would love this place. It's a very good deal.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Hotel is fresh and new, with most the amenities you would expect for a five star hotel, but the service has some way to go. Starting at check-in. Painfully slow, with only one counter open and a long queue. Concierge on the neighboring counter has nothing to do, and should be able to help with the check-in. In addition, the bar by the reception is taking it’s time to make any drink – if they give service at all. With two bartenders, both deeply involved in solving some technical issue, none of us plentiful guest received as much as a nod to let us know they knew we were there.

Rooms are well-equipped, fresh and nice. Not super fancy, but nothing wrong either. Nice with complimentary water.

Breakfast was ok, but again I would expect more from a five star hotel. I missed a wider selection of cold cuts, cereals and fruits.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina_El-Mashni, Executive Assistant, PR & Communications at Renaissance Barcelona Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at the Renaissance Barcelona Hotel. We pride ourselves on offering our guests 5 stars service so we are of course disappointed to learn your experience did not match initial expectations.

We understand that in morning and afternoon pick times the reception can be a busy place, however we regret to learn it caused a delay to checking-in, we assure it does not reflect our standards.

We are pleased to hear you found our rooms comfortable and equipped with all the facilities expected by the modern travelers.

Our hotel offer a number of options for breakfast including a Continental breakfast for 18 € and our popular Buffet breakfast with a large selection of food such as cold cuts, cereals and fruits for 24 €.

Thank you again for your feedback, which is very valuable to us to further improve our product and services. We do hope we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Renaissance Barcelona Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Cristina El Mashni
Executive Assitant, PR & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel and found it to be very convenient to our vacation needs. We had a typical European room. Their breakfast spread was great. The bar was also good. The concierge was very informative, sometimes very busy and a few times absent from her desk. We used taxis from this location as well as the hop on hop off buses to get to tourist attractions- as they had a drop off point a close block away. It was quiet for sleeping. Glad we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Barcelona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Address: Pau Claris 122, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#57 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#60 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#66 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Barcelona Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Barcelona Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city and just steps away from Paseo de Gracia shopping district and Plaza Cataluña. The hotel is also just minutes away from famous cultural and historical sites such as Las Ramblas and Sagrada Familia, but also surrounded by many little hidden treasured away from the main stream tourist attractions.This ultimate full-service lifestyle hotel offers 211 contemporary guestrooms. The hotel features 7 meeting rooms with almost 500 m2 ideal for corporate meeting and social gathering, and also the outside venue “La Terrassa”, available for private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Barcelona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Barcelona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.