We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BARCAAA !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Expo Hotel Barcelona to your Saves list
Expo Hotel Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Mallorca 1-23, 08014 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #281 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
accrington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“BARCAAA !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our 2nd stay at the Expo so knew what to expect. The hotel is right next to the Sants railway station. As this was a trip for football at the Camp Nou the location was perfect. The nearest metro station is a 2 minute walk away so travel and access to major sights/beach etc is extremely easy,- 9.55 EUROS for a T10 card providing 10 trips around the city=bargain !
The hotel itself has good facilities-i.e pool, bar,terrace and staff.Great views of Barcelona from terrace bar.We were there on bed and breakfast and found breakfast to have a good selection of hot and cold items.
Room decor needs updating but was suitable for our 4 night stay.Had a mid floor room which was quiet even though it was over the reception area of the hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    629
    365
    135
    70
See reviews for
225
554
147
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I expected to stay in a hotel close to the train station Sants, as we had an early train time the next morning, and couldn't get a wink of sleep all night as there was a concert playing until 3 am when we had to get up at 5 am!!! Absolute worst experience! I was not warned of this, I would have chosen a different location or hotel! I will fight to get a full refund!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISHAW
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was mainly a trip for the football at the Nou Camp and because of this the location was perfect. The nearest metro station is a 2 minute walk away so travel anywhere in the city is extremely easy. The hotel itself "DOES WHAT IT SAYS ON THE TIN" comfortable,( rooms not very large) friendly, and fantastic views over the city from the rooftop pool and terrace. As I have said, the rooms are not very large but this shouldn't be a problem as you will be out and about in the city. There is also a mini bar with a decent selection of drinks if you need one.( the rooftop bar closes at 1am) I'm afraid I cannot comment on the restaurant as there are far to many eateries to choose from in the city. The trip itself was excellent and I would definitely stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just on last day at Expo Hotel Barcelona. Bit faded on the outside but fine inside. Staff very friendly. Rooms fine (not huge).
Great views of Barcelona from terrace bar.
The hotel is right next to the Sants railway station. 30 mins from airport by train. Family's of 4 and 5 buy the T10 ticket at the station. One ticket will do 5 return journeys.
Short walk to the old bull ring which is now a mall with restaurants at the top. Also got great views.
Dancing fountain show is not on Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday.

Room Tip: Rooms on front of hotel, at the top right 913 and up have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed six nights and we were pleased with our accommodation. I requested a room on the 7 floor facing away from the train station and it was perfect. The deck and pool area we spent a lot of down time at and we enjoyed the view of the city. The metro station was great and we got everywhere in the city by using it and we also could walk to the plaza and the palace with no problem. Around the corner we found a nice coffee shop and a fabulous bakery.. The service was great and the help wonderful. I would stay again next year when I visit again.
.

Room Tip: request a room on the 6 or 7th floor facing away from the train station. Let the hotel staff book y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

been here 3days and totally satisfied with the hotel.
first, reasonable price
second, good location
finally friendly staffs.
But just one thing!
we requested a double bed but they prepared two twin beds because we arrived the hotel quite late at night and there was no more double bed.
that is why I couldn't give it 5 stars.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We got a good price, and were generally satisfied with the hotel. Room was big enough, not exceptional. Wifi was free and fast. The swimming pool on the roof on the tenth floor was a nice touch. Breakfast was copious and was only € 8.50 a day extra. The location is okay, it's right next to the Sants railway station, where you can take several metro lines to the center of the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Expo Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expo Hotel Barcelona

Address: C/ Mallorca 1-23, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#157 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Expo Hotel Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A functional 4* hotel providing the perfect balance between quality and price, its strategic location makes it the first choice for savvy urban travellers. It's right next to Sants Railway Station - the main transportation intersection of Barcelona - making it fast and easy to get into the city center, to the beach and reach any tourist attractions in town. The hotel is also only a 5-minute walk from the Fira exhibition grounds and close to popular tourist attractions such as the Olympic area of the Montjuic, Placa d'Espanya and Arenas shopping center. The hotel's 423 ample, functionally designed exterior-facing rooms offer free WiFi and have a terrace - for a fabulous view of the city. Whatever the reason of your stay, a guest assistant will be at your disposal to make any necessary adjustments to your accommodation. The cherry on top: A roof terrace restaurant serving delicious Hamburgers and a swimming pool with privileged views of Montjuic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Expo Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Expo Hotel
Expo Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Expo Hotel Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.