We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Expo Hotel Barcelona to your Saves list
Expo Hotel Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Mallorca 1-23, 08014 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #300 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Lyon, France
1 review
“Only Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Expo has very good location, if you walk outside the Sants railways station, it is just on the right. Only 1 minute distance between the hotel and Sants station.

Service is not as good as the location. After staying 3 nights in Expo, I asked for hot water facility everyday but I didn't get one until I checked out. I asked room service for hot water, it was OK in the morning, but in the evening I was told that only hot water was not available for the room service.

I recommend this hotel only for its excellent location and good connection of metro.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    669
    389
    147
    77
See reviews for
242
582
158
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The connection by metro is good, next to Sants and Plaza espanya (airport bus).
The room is ok, though it would not give it 4 stars, but the bed is very compfortable.
I liked the breakfast Buffet (and economic for 8,-).

Room Tip: ask for a room that goes not to Plaza Sants, very loud (but you have a big balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

No coffee machine no slipper... can't believe this is a 4 star hotel. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This 4* hotel is excellent value for money being a mile or so away from the centre of Barcelona. Its benefits being its proximity to Sants Station, (quite literally across tehe road),with links to the airport and also proximity to the metro with La Rambla being approximately 10 minutes away.

An easy 10 minute walk will also bring you to Plaza Espanya, with its lit fountain and also Las Arenas shopping centre, including a number of good value bars and restauarnts at teh top overlooking the plaza, Montjuic and the city centre.

The rooms are very clean, not huge but sufficent for a couple of nights stay. Wardrobe space is adequate. There is a mini bar but al always, its expensive to use this. We used it and replenished it our selves from the large supermarket immediately next door.

Reception are very helpful, most of the staff speaking very good English.

We only used the top floor pool bar, prices were average for a hotel and there were plenty of seats and sunbeds available next to the pool.

In the immediate vicinity, there are a couple of small bars/cafes, selling the usual tapas and drinks were cheaper than in the hotel. There are also a couple of restaurants opposite, although we did not eat here during our stay. There also a number of small bars along the main road towards Plaza Espanya and also a large park area. The general area is well lit at night and seems genrally safe.

For me, its vicinity to transport links, th ecity centre and football ground, coupled with the reasonable cost means I will definately stay here again and I have trips planned here in March and then May, bringing teh family, to take advantage of the pool area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel for views over the city. Rooms at the back of the hotel ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was amazing cant wait to make
Return journey.
The rooftop pool was beautiful soooo relaxing best city break I've been
On. Cleanliness great staff fantastic felt so comfortable we had a beautiful view!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was a pleasant hotel, which was clean,the reception staff were quite unfriendly but bar staff upstairs are lovely and very accommodating.
I would not recommend this hotel in terms of location, it's fine if you are using the metro but certainly not walking distance from any of the key sites!
I personally amn't a lover of taking trains so I would recommend staying in locations more central to las ramblas and the more bustling restaurant areas to get the true feeling of Barcelona it is a pain getting home at night or if you leave anything in the hotel you have a train journey home to think of! and it was a little bit rough at night time! Particularly with the carnival that was going on when I was there in August!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtvchicka
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 5 nights after booking it for his birthday and were so glad we booked this hotel! The reception staff were very accommodating and happy to help with any queries. The hotel is 20 mins away from El Prat airport via train and the hotel is only a few stops away, cheapest transport to a hotel ever as a single ticket was only a few Euros! Definitely come out of the exit where you will see a motorcycle parking area and the hotel is across the road! Rooms were lovely and bright and most have balconies, rooftop pool is nice to chill near. The only thing I wouldn't recommend is the room service breakfast, poached eggs were atrocious which was a massive shame considering all the other room service was so good! Not the best start to my friend's birthday morning! Lots of lovely restaurants around as well as easy access on the Metro to all the touristy spots and much more, the T10 ticket is cheap and good for 10 single journeys, and their metro system is easy peasy to work out! I recommend downloading the trip advisor app for Barcelona and the metro app to help you on your way! All in all a great trip and we even had beach time! Fun times in a great city, go forth and explore! Muchas Gracias for having us Barcelona!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Expo Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expo Hotel Barcelona

Address: C/ Mallorca 1-23, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#167 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#172 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Expo Hotel Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A functional 4* hotel providing the perfect balance between quality and price, its strategic location makes it the first choice for savvy urban travellers. It's right next to Sants Railway Station - the main transportation intersection of Barcelona - making it fast and easy to get into the city center, to the beach and reach any tourist attractions in town. The hotel is also only a 5-minute walk from the Fira exhibition grounds and close to popular tourist attractions such as the Olympic area of the Montjuic, Placa d'Espanya and Arenas shopping center. The hotel's 423 ample, functionally designed exterior-facing rooms offer free WiFi and have a terrace - for a fabulous view of the city. Whatever the reason of your stay, a guest assistant will be at your disposal to make any necessary adjustments to your accommodation. The cherry on top: A roof terrace restaurant serving delicious Hamburgers and a swimming pool with privileged views of Montjuic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Expo Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Expo Hotel
Expo Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Expo Hotel Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.