We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous weekend hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hesperia Barri Gotic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hesperia Barri Gotic to your Saves list
Hesperia Barri Gotic
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ample, 31 | Ciudad Vella, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Hesperia Metropol) (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #298 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Hornchurch
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

If you are staying for a weekend in Barcelona, then stay here!! Set in the quaint alleyways of the Gothic quarter, it is easy to find. There are a multitude of bars, Tapas and restaurants in either direction. 10 mins to Barceloneta and its hive of entertainment, and Las Ramblas.
The hotel is clean the staff efficient the rooms and beds are very comfortable with a/c more than adequate. Never tried the breakfast.
The staff on the reception are excellent friendly and very knowledgeable. yes there was a little street noise, but nothing that bothered me.
I will be returning and with friends next year!!

Room Tip: Light sleepers are better getting a back room, personally I love people watching so the front room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    158
    92
    24
    19
See reviews for
42
150
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Basic hotel, no frills, good rooms, efficient and courteous staff, excellent position close to subway and Gothic area. You should be aware that the larger room that front the street and also the nosiest.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I stay here from May 3rd-8. I arrived early in the morning and was told to come back at 3pm for check in. They had a large room to leave luggage. I was given a room on the first floor it was very noisy soon as went in to the room. I asked to be moved, but was told there was no room available to change to. I was told to come down the next day to change rooms. I barely slept that night. So if your going to book here call to make sure your not on first floor facing street. So noisy all night long. I could even hear people ordering from restaurants at street and drunks at 5am. The next day the moved me to second floor, much quieter. The room was inside not street facing. Still could hear others in their rooms. The bathroom was tiny I felt like I was going to hit my arm on the sink every time I went to use the toilet. The positive is nice front desk. Each time my room safe broke-she had maintance come quickly. The location is great. Perfect for great restaurants. Quick walk to las ramblas. I won't stay hear again because of noise and space.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Location is perfect for accessing all of the main attractions Barcelona has to offer, it's affordable yet still offers all you would expect of a 3 star hotel... Nicely decorated rooms spacious enough, a good selection of breakfast items to set you up for the day, warm and friendly staff, clean and safe environment. There is nothing to complain about and we would definitely recommend. The only possible area for improvement would be the lack of natural light in our room and the lack of a more scenic view but honestly it doesn't really matter if you're looking for a base to stay, and it's built in a narrow street so it's really what you expect anyway! Very good stay, and the hotel was central to this. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

First of all this hotel was a very good price (we booked via Last Minute.com but it was one of the cheapish choices and stood out as classier than all the others at the same price).The road is tiny and narrow with lots of character, cafes et in the gothic quarter. Stones through from the sea too.
The hotel itself was more attractive that I'd expected , the foyer is decked out with lots of artistic touches including a v Daliesque wavy polished wood counter. They have gone to much trouble to make it look lovely and give it an artistic vibe. Marble floors and a lot of light coming in via lots of windows and a huge skylight, although it's in a v narrow road with lots of tall old buildings.
Hotel reception staff all absolutely lovely.
Breakfast one of the best we had had from a 3 star restaurant - they have a healthy slant to it, loads of fruit, dried fruit, big range of juices BUT lots of pastries and cakes. They also have hot food scrambled eggs etc.We didnt prebook b&b but you can do so the day before for £8 pp - it IS worth it. If you choose to have breakfast on the day it is double that at £16.

Room was a modest size, standard double. We'd specified a double bed a twin with LM but it was two twin beds nestled together ..! Thought about changing it but we were too tired and decided we could handle it, as it was on the top floor and quiet. .Ensuite was fine but bath too small to be a bath and too big for a shower tray! No complementary shampoo shower gel but I asked at reception and they happily gave me some.
Beds v comfy & on the firm side, tho had to request more pillows as they were very flat and only one each but that got sorted promptly too.
While we were there only 4 nights at the end of March it seemed very warm indeed, however the air con wasnt working - you can turn the heating on or off using a dial (we chose off) but aircon, no. Would have been nice but in March its not too problematic

Our room was facing the back of the hotel over another narrow backstreet - exceptionally quiet on Thursday but Friday and Saturday nights were noisy but not impossible... and there was a football match on :)
Oh and the lift broke down on our second night but the hotel did all they could and engineers came out to solve it but it took til Monday - we were offered a different rm but liked where we were.
Nothing wrong with this hotel, remember its a 3 star but it is a very good 3 star. Spotlessly clean, and the cleaning lady is a demon (I mean that as praise). We were rather messy the first night...she tidied our dirty clothes into a laundry bag and all our bits and pieces were magically tidied up too.
So no bar or restaurant for eve meal but there is a mini bar in the room, and some kind of room service menu but we just went out - there is a cute pizza place just across the way you can eat a slice of good pizza v cheap - its really small but I liked it!
Hemp museum in an amazing building next door - but never went.

Best tip I can give anyone is GO TO GILDA. Its a tapas bar on the same road Caller Ample. Seriously make sure you go the good is like floating up to heaven and dining on ambrosia. Best tapas or maybe even best meal ever, sad we only found it at the end. You might need to book on a saturday hight as its rammed but we were lucky on sunday Barcelona played Real Madrid til 1030 pm so it was not busy.

2nd Best tip is go on the overhead cable car esp if sunny to Montjuic. It is absolutely breathtaking (about £30 for two x round trip including the metro part way there). You get there from Parallel metro station which is walking distance from the hotel. It was quick too. The view is incredible from the gardens and castle high up on the hill. Wished I could have stayed all day and taken a picnic.
Also, taxis are reasonable we thought compared to London and its a compact city to good to use them. And hardly any traffic jams and gridlocks so you sail through.

Two warnings - the wi fi in the hotel is free but we were spammed like nothing else as soon as we turned it on - literally a blizzard of spam on the iPhone. Had to stop using it. It was terrible.

And - beware of Park Guell which was my no.1 thing to visit. As its a park I thought it would be free... it is until you go further in and hit the queues and realise you have to pay to go into the Gaudi bit which is the only pretty bit! After queueing for around 45 mins then its 8 euros each and you have to wait even longer until your scheduled slot (another 30 mins) but once inside you realise you could have seen it all from outside and theres not as much of it as you had thought, Its nice but expensive crowded and for the price you would expect more - we had done it in half an hour - 45mins. And then as we left we heard a guard telling someone that you could get in to the Gaudi bitof the park for free after 6pm! We were so annoyed and very underwhelmed. Also dont attempt to walk some of the way there if you arent fit, just getting to the Park by foot from the metro is an uphill slog.You have been warned! Wish someone had warned me it wasnt all its cracked up to be.... Lonely Planet you let us down on that infol.
But definitely recommend the Hesperia it's lovely and the city itself :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel with a special offer on Agoda and were impressed with everything it has to offer.
The location is great! It is in the Gothic quarter, with Las Ramblas, the Beach, the metro and all of the lovely streets of Barcelona a short walk away.
The reception staff were very helpful, plus It felt secure.
Our room was a decent size, air con if needed, tv (although we were too busy sightseeing and eating tapas!) mini bar(at additional cost) free wifi- worked well. The bathroom was clean and smelt clean. Only thing to note is to bring your own toiletries as only shower gel and soap is provided.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I checked in on the 3rd Feb and due to check out tomorrow. Reception staff are lovely and super helpful. Booking taxis or pointing us in the right direction was no problem for them. Rooms are very small. We had room 209 pointing inwards so no outside noise which was lovely. Close to La Rambla, lots to see and do. Be prepared to do alot of walking, but is worth it to see it all on foot. Maids cleaned everyday, be sure to put your door card on the handle or they will not come in. Will be coming back :) Thank you Hesperia Metropol :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hesperia Barri Gotic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Barri Gotic

Address: Ample, 31 | Ciudad Vella, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Hesperia Metropol)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hesperia Barri Gotic 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hesperia Barri Gotic hotel enjoys a privileged location in the heart of Barcelona's famous Gothic Quarter. It boasts recently renovated facilities and excellent amenities, such as free Wi-Fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hesperia Barri Gotic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Metropol Barcelona
Hesperia Metropol Hotel Barcelona
Hesperia Barri Gotic Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hesperia Barri Gotic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.