We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, quiet, clean and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hesperia Metropol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hesperia Metropol to your Saves list
Hesperia Metropol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ample, 31 | Ciudad Vella, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #317 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location, quiet, clean and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Location is perfect for accessing all of the main attractions Barcelona has to offer, it's affordable yet still offers all you would expect of a 3 star hotel... Nicely decorated rooms spacious enough, a good selection of breakfast items to set you up for the day, warm and friendly staff, clean and safe environment. There is nothing to complain about and we would definitely recommend. The only possible area for improvement would be the lack of natural light in our room and the lack of a more scenic view but honestly it doesn't really matter if you're looking for a base to stay, and it's built in a narrow street so it's really what you expect anyway! Very good stay, and the hotel was central to this. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    138
    85
    24
    18
See reviews for
37
132
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

First of all this hotel was a very good price (we booked via Last Minute.com but it was one of the cheapish choices and stood out as classier than all the others at the same price).The road is tiny and narrow with lots of character, cafes et in the gothic quarter. Stones through from the sea too.
The hotel itself was more attractive that I'd expected , the foyer is decked out with lots of artistic touches including a v Daliesque wavy polished wood counter. They have gone to much trouble to make it look lovely and give it an artistic vibe. Marble floors and a lot of light coming in via lots of windows and a huge skylight, although it's in a v narrow road with lots of tall old buildings.
Hotel reception staff all absolutely lovely.
Breakfast one of the best we had had from a 3 star restaurant - they have a healthy slant to it, loads of fruit, dried fruit, big range of juices BUT lots of pastries and cakes. They also have hot food scrambled eggs etc.We didnt prebook b&b but you can do so the day before for £8 pp - it IS worth it. If you choose to have breakfast on the day it is double that at £16.

Room was a modest size, standard double. We'd specified a double bed a twin with LM but it was two twin beds nestled together ..! Thought about changing it but we were too tired and decided we could handle it, as it was on the top floor and quiet. .Ensuite was fine but bath too small to be a bath and too big for a shower tray! No complementary shampoo shower gel but I asked at reception and they happily gave me some.
Beds v comfy & on the firm side, tho had to request more pillows as they were very flat and only one each but that got sorted promptly too.
While we were there only 4 nights at the end of March it seemed very warm indeed, however the air con wasnt working - you can turn the heating on or off using a dial (we chose off) but aircon, no. Would have been nice but in March its not too problematic

Our room was facing the back of the hotel over another narrow backstreet - exceptionally quiet on Thursday but Friday and Saturday nights were noisy but not impossible... and there was a football match on :)
Oh and the lift broke down on our second night but the hotel did all they could and engineers came out to solve it but it took til Monday - we were offered a different rm but liked where we were.
Nothing wrong with this hotel, remember its a 3 star but it is a very good 3 star. Spotlessly clean, and the cleaning lady is a demon (I mean that as praise). We were rather messy the first night...she tidied our dirty clothes into a laundry bag and all our bits and pieces were magically tidied up too.
So no bar or restaurant for eve meal but there is a mini bar in the room, and some kind of room service menu but we just went out - there is a cute pizza place just across the way you can eat a slice of good pizza v cheap - its really small but I liked it!
Hemp museum in an amazing building next door - but never went.

Best tip I can give anyone is GO TO GILDA. Its a tapas bar on the same road Caller Ample. Seriously make sure you go the good is like floating up to heaven and dining on ambrosia. Best tapas or maybe even best meal ever, sad we only found it at the end. You might need to book on a saturday hight as its rammed but we were lucky on sunday Barcelona played Real Madrid til 1030 pm so it was not busy.

2nd Best tip is go on the overhead cable car esp if sunny to Montjuic. It is absolutely breathtaking (about £30 for two x round trip including the metro part way there). You get there from Parallel metro station which is walking distance from the hotel. It was quick too. The view is incredible from the gardens and castle high up on the hill. Wished I could have stayed all day and taken a picnic.
Also, taxis are reasonable we thought compared to London and its a compact city to good to use them. And hardly any traffic jams and gridlocks so you sail through.

Two warnings - the wi fi in the hotel is free but we were spammed like nothing else as soon as we turned it on - literally a blizzard of spam on the iPhone. Had to stop using it. It was terrible.

And - beware of Park Guell which was my no.1 thing to visit. As its a park I thought it would be free... it is until you go further in and hit the queues and realise you have to pay to go into the Gaudi bit which is the only pretty bit! After queueing for around 45 mins then its 8 euros each and you have to wait even longer until your scheduled slot (another 30 mins) but once inside you realise you could have seen it all from outside and theres not as much of it as you had thought, Its nice but expensive crowded and for the price you would expect more - we had done it in half an hour - 45mins. And then as we left we heard a guard telling someone that you could get in to the Gaudi bitof the park for free after 6pm! We were so annoyed and very underwhelmed. Also dont attempt to walk some of the way there if you arent fit, just getting to the Park by foot from the metro is an uphill slog.You have been warned! Wish someone had warned me it wasnt all its cracked up to be.... Lonely Planet you let us down on that infol.
But definitely recommend the Hesperia it's lovely and the city itself :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel with a special offer on Agoda and were impressed with everything it has to offer.
The location is great! It is in the Gothic quarter, with Las Ramblas, the Beach, the metro and all of the lovely streets of Barcelona a short walk away.
The reception staff were very helpful, plus It felt secure.
Our room was a decent size, air con if needed, tv (although we were too busy sightseeing and eating tapas!) mini bar(at additional cost) free wifi- worked well. The bathroom was clean and smelt clean. Only thing to note is to bring your own toiletries as only shower gel and soap is provided.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I checked in on the 3rd Feb and due to check out tomorrow. Reception staff are lovely and super helpful. Booking taxis or pointing us in the right direction was no problem for them. Rooms are very small. We had room 209 pointing inwards so no outside noise which was lovely. Close to La Rambla, lots to see and do. Be prepared to do alot of walking, but is worth it to see it all on foot. Maids cleaned everyday, be sure to put your door card on the handle or they will not come in. Will be coming back :) Thank you Hesperia Metropol :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Very functional small hotel by narrow, shadow alley, in the middle of small restorants, pubs and shops, historical places and the beach. The international TV channel connections are not perfect, so it would be good to know some spanish to be able to follow the local channels ;)

Room Tip: It is possible to ask for quiet room. Those rooms just do not have any view at all. They are facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Check in at the hotel was a breeze and very much uncomplicated. Upon arriving at our room, we noticed that the shower head was broken. We brought this to the attention of the staff at the desk but unfortunately, as we checked in late in the evening, their maintenance staff had apparently gone home already. They did give us the choice to switch rooms but we felt it was an unnecessary as we were only staying the night. Regardless, the staff was very friendly and accommodating.

The hotel is walking distance to many attractions and also very close to public transportation. The room was small but clean. Be sure to check out their breakfast buffet; tasty calories for the all-day walking exploration of the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We made this return trip to Hesperia Metropol on Carre Ample (Ample Street) in Barcelona because on our first visit we found that it was ideally located for what we wanted. Flew into Barcelona Airport and got train to Franca railway station, a 10 minute walk from hotel. We were in hotel within an hour of leaving airport. The hotel was only a few streets from the Cathderal area, which was in full Christmas Market flow. We were 10 minutes walk into Barcelonetta, the fish port area of the CIty, where we had friends staying during our visit. Barcelonetta is full of small cosy eateries and much cheaper than in the City and Rambla's areas. We stayed B&B at hotel and found it adequate for our needs, myself and my wife. The double/twin room was ideal, although located on the front on second floor, therefore prone to street noise during the night. All in all I certainly recommend the hotel and have had feed back from friends who did take my advice after our first visit. Staff very courteous and good English speakers. Well done.

Room Tip: We were room 209 front of hotel second floor, directly opposite Ryan's Irish Bar. Aware of noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hesperia Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Metropol

Address: Ample, 31 | Ciudad Vella, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hesperia Metropol 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hesperia Metropol hotel enjoys a privileged location in the heart of Barcelona's famous Gothic Quarter. It boasts recently renovated facilities and excellent amenities, such as free Wi-Fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, NHHotels, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hesperia Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Metropol Barcelona, Catalonia
Hesperia Metropol Hotel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hesperia Metropol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.