We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Via Augusta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Via Augusta to your Saves list
Hotel Via Augusta
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Augusta 63, 08006 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Minotel) (La Vila de Gràcia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #134 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was a good deal and the hotel was better than I expected in every way. When I booked it, it was described as a cheap hotel, but it didn't feel like that at all. It was a smart, clean, simple room and quiet, so a great nights sleep. Beautiful bathroom, warm and cosy heating (we were there in December). The staff could not be more helpful in reception - showed us all sorts of places to go. Breakfast was really beautifully presented and all you can eat, so you could have a good breakfast to set you up for the day. Last time I stayed in Barcelona it was near the Ramblas. This was further out - right next to Gracia and a few minutes walk from Fortuna metro stations - we loved this area in the evenings. Some lovely little bars where you could see locals, rather than be in a tourist trap. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    225
    69
    15
    4
See reviews for
70
185
63
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Hotel Via Augusta is situated in the area north of the centre of Barcelona known as Gracia, just a minute's walk from the FGC station of the same name. Being about 20 minutes from Placa Catalunya on foot or 5 minutes using the FGC train, it is very convenient for visiting the city. Buses also pass by in front of the hotel if you prefer and the nearest metro stop is a five minute walk. The neighbourhood is pleasant with local shops and a cinema handy. Fairly quiet at night and safe feeling. The staff in this hotel were very friendly and welcoming. After a morning arrival by train from Paris I checked in about 11am, well before usual check-in hours, but was informed I could have my room within the half hour and shown to a quiet seating area to wait. I was in my room within 10 minutes !! The room itself was pleasant, although not big by any means, it had everything I needed including a spacious bathroom and was clean and bright. The only small complaint was the shower which lacked any great enthusiasm when it came to the water pressure and I found the temperature control rather temperamental. Breakfast was a buffet type offering in a enjoyable quiet atmosphere with more friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast price was on the expensive side, although not compared to most hotels these days, and for the pleasant start to the day, not outrageously so. The hotel has complimentary wifi which although reliable was a little on the slow side at times. All in all I was very glad I chose this hotel for my stay and would certainly stay here again when I return to Barcelona. The great attitude of the staff really made a difference.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed here in October for my partners birthday.
We didn't expect much as it classed itself as a budget hotel, but the room was spacious, had a ensuite with a shower, good wardrobe facilities and a safe.
The reception staff were extremely friendly, and the room was cleaned to a good standard.
We had breakfast on the first morning as it was on offer for 6 euros, however it's mainly pastries, toast, baguettes, rolls, cheese and ham. They also had yoghurts, cereal, bacon, hot dogs and scrambled egg.
We didn't really want this everyday, so we used to get a couple of bits from the local shops which are everywhere.
The best part about this hotel is the location, it's very close to Metro Fontana, which gives you access to everywhere in Barcelona.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Via Augusta—it was far nicer, in fact, than we'd expected given the price. Our eighth-floor double room even had a lovely terrace, although we couldn't use it because it rained non-stop the whole time we were there! But the room was spacious and comfortable, the shower had good pressure and was plenty hot, and the staff were all friendly and helpful and spoke English (even when I attempted to speak Spanish…). We didn't sign up for the breakfast because we found a little cafe nearby, Chiars, across the avenue and down a little street behind the Gracia train station. We were happy to be in gracious Gracia, away from the hubbub on the Ramblas or in the Gothic quarter, and the nearest Metro line, L3 (the green line) was the only one we needed to use. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Our eighth-floor room (814) was perfectly quiet even though it faced the street, and it had a terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambettola, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

i spend 3 lovely day in the fantastic Barcellona hotel via augusta is very nice , silente and clean rooms and the staff is really friendly and helpful. Close to the hotel there are metro station, and plaza catalunia is only 15 min by walk

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

In a decent location. Near to a metro station on line 3 which is the only line I used to get everywhere in Barca. Places are walkable too if you wanted.
There's a few little bakeries near by too.
The hostel itself is clean. The rooms I thought were good. I had a single bed and it was a bit creaky when I turned over but it was comfy enough. The staff are all lovely. There's a vending machine for drinks and snacks.
Breakfast is varied and really nice. You can rent a bike for the day.
I think for the price it is certainly a brilliant hotel to stay in. For me, a hotel should provide a comfy room after a busy day exploring and this place definitely delivered the goods!
Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

For the amount of money asked as well as for the excellent service, I would say that this hotel is a great one to stay in! The rooms are tidy and kept well by housekeeping - who are all very kind and even helped me get into my room when my key didn't work. The location of the hotel is wonderful since it feels like owning a small apartment in Barcelona that you can go back to after a hectic day in the heart of the city near Las Ramblas. Great staff, great service, and over all an excellent hotel that I'd recommend to any traveler!

Room Tip: There are certain rooms that allow for smoking; if you are smoke sensitive like myself see if you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionViaAugusta, Manager at Hotel Via Augusta, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Richar R.,

Greetings from Hotel Via Augusta!

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad that your days in Barcelona were nice. I will inform to our team about your review.

We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Via Augusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Via Augusta

Address: Via Augusta 63, 08006 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Minotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Vila de Gràcia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#97 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#146 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Via Augusta 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to Gracia FGC Train Station, Hotel Via Augusta has a rooftop terrace with views of Barcelona. It offers functional, air conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen satellite TV.The Via Augusta is a historic building with a beautiful original foyer. Rooms have simple, modern decor and hardwood floors. They include a work desk, a safe and a bathroom with a hairdryer.A varied breakfast buffet is served in the hotel, and drinks are available from the vending machine. A wide range of bars and restaurants can be found in the popular Gracia district, within a 5-minute walk.Hotel Via Augusta is 1300 ft from Fontana Metro Station, and Parc Guell is just 1 Metro stop away. Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas are a 5-minute ride from nearby Gracia Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Via Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Via Augusta Hotel
Via Augusta Barcelona
Hotel Via Augusta Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Via Augusta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.