We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barcelona's best kept secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Via Augusta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Via Augusta to your Saves list
Hotel Via Augusta
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Augusta 63, 08006 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Minotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Barcelona's best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last night, asked my business contacts to book me somewhere near their office that was "cheap and clean". Well this hotel surpassed anything I could have possibly imagined. I have stayed at 5 star hotels in Barcelona and from the welcome at the front desk to their helpfulness there was no difference. The room was spacious with wooden floors (I hate carpet) beautiful big windows that open, great bed, lovely bathroom with all amenities (shower gel, shampoo etc) great big shower! Breakfast was also lovely, good coffee (rare) eggs, sausages and fresh bread rolls with all types of jams, honey etc, fresh fruit and squeezed orange juice. I hesitate to recommend this hotel as its going to get really busy!! Paid just €45 for the night!! Should definitely be a 3 star hotel does not merit 2 stars!!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for one overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionViaAugusta, Director General at Hotel Via Augusta, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Mss.

I want to be grateful for her the time that has dedicated to valuing our hotel.

We are very proud that you had enjoyed having breakfast in our breakfast room. We try to have a mixed and complete breakfast with fresh fruits, eggs, bacon,...

And please, if you are so kind, explain this secret to everybody!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    245
    73
    15
    4
See reviews for
74
203
66
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

On arrival I was greeted well and as I had arrived early pleasantly surprised that I was given to a very clean spacious room overlooking the square. A very central location. Unfortunately the corridors were noisy as wooden, I cold hear my neighbours very clearly. The breakfast was disappointing, no fruit fresh or otherwise. On the Monday morning the bread was stale. No tea making facilities in the room and the bar was not open. I tried to check in on line for my return flight and there was no printer and was told to e-mail the hotel. The Receptionist was not helpful and was never busy. On requesting a taxi this was far too much trouble. Improve the staff and I would return to this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lappeenranta, Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is located close to many Barcelona's tourist attractions such as Casa Milà, Sagrada Familia, Park Güell, Casa Batlló with a metro (subway) station just around the corner. Also very suitable for football enthusiasts who wish to see FC Barcelona.
Nice clean rooms with a spacious bathroom and a tasty breakfast is included in the room price.
We can highly recommend this for couples, solo travellers and for everybody interested in exploring Barcelona. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights, the room was clean as was the hotel itself. the staff was friendly and helpful overall a good place to stay when in Barcelona at a reasonable price, close enough to everything that its possible to walk if you wanted.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Very nice hotel, the staff are friendly, it has a very good location (two metro stops away from Plaza Catalunya, in the middle of downtown, and close too from Park Güell). It has affordable rates, and rooms are clean, comfortable and cozy. I went with my grandfather and he loved it too. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Cheap hotel with a good location and friendly staff. Clean but small room, free wifi, acceptable breakfast. My colleague had a room without windows which is pretty unlucky but if you can avoid that you can't really complain about anything for this range of price.
It's a two star hotel but beats many 3 star ones.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

budget type. if you look for hotels with bells and whistles you will have to look else where. this is a perfect resting spot for travelers who don't spend much time in hotel rooms.

the good:
- close to L3 fontana station. L3 can take you to placa catalunya and la rumblas in three stops. also can take you to placa espana. at both places you can hook up with airport bus
- bus stations even closer if you take the time to figure out the routes
- walkable distance to park gruell, casa mila, casa batllo, sagarada familia and saint pau hospital. we walked to all these places.
- spacious, modern and simple rooms
- price we paid is a nice surprise for the quality
- hotel staff are nice and eager to help. speak good english.
- plenty of restaurants and convenient stores nearby

the bad:
- none. very happy with our stay.
- if you are a very light sleeper street noises might be a problem. didn't bother us at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Via Augusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Via Augusta

Address: Via Augusta 63, 08006 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Minotel)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#99 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#139 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Via Augusta 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to Gracia FGC Train Station, Hotel Via Augusta has a rooftop terrace with views of Barcelona. It offers functional, air conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen satellite TV.The Via Augusta is a historic building with a beautiful original foyer. Rooms have simple, modern decor and hardwood floors. They include a work desk, a safe and a bathroom with a hairdryer.A varied breakfast buffet is served in the hotel, and drinks are available from the vending machine. A wide range of bars and restaurants can be found in the popular Gracia district, within a 5-minute walk.Hotel Via Augusta is 1300 ft from Fontana Metro Station, and Parc Guell is just 1 Metro stop away. Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas are a 5-minute ride from nearby Gracia Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Via Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Via Augusta Hotel
Via Augusta Barcelona
Hotel Via Augusta Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Via Augusta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.