We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on the outskirts of Barcelona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Atenas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Atenas Hotel to your Saves list
Catalonia Atenas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Meridiana 151, 08026 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #335 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel on the outskirts of Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was lovely with spacious rooms. Stayed in a Terrace Room. Large balcony with this room. Toiletries are in the bathroom including shower gel and shampoo. Nice and clean room and room is cleaned every day. Plenty of towels. Staff are very welcoming and friendly. Bar is very nice and not too expensive. The barman put sky sports on for us do could watch my favourite team so that made my day. Metro station is across the street called Clot. It is 2 euros 15 for a single ticket which you can use on the teams or buses or subway. Hotel is near a couple of bars and is a thirty minute walk to Sagrada Familia Church or it is two stops on the subway. Breakfast at the hotel was lovely and varied. Again staff very pleasant and professional. Dining room was exceptionally clean. Thank you to all staff for an excellent stay. Well done. Special thank you to the bar man who put the Citt Everton game on for us.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HC_Atenas, Gerente at Catalonia Atenas Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback for our hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us!
We are happy to hear that you were very pleased with our friendly staff,Trust that we will continue our commitment to provide you with the best value accommodation. You can also be assured that we will use your feedback to help us correct our deficiencies and improve our services further. Your satisfaction is very important to us.
We very much appreciate your loyalty and hope to create a more memorable and enjoyable experience for you on your next visit.
It was truly a pleasure to serve you, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    199
    96
    54
    57
See reviews for
70
164
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bucharest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our first visit in Barcelona was in october 2014 and it was extraordinary! It is a very beautiful city and we stay in a very comfortable hotel: Catalonia Atenas Hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. It wasn't a very big room but it was ok. We enjoyed very much breakfast at this hotel and it wasn't expensive. The view from the top of the hotel was very beautiful. The metro station is very close to the hotel.
We want to say thanks to Mrs.Carmen from the Reception, a very special person. She helped us with our trip to Andorra were was awesome,too.
We recommend this hotel and we hope someday to return here!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HC_Atenas, Gerente at Catalonia Atenas Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review of our hotel. We are greatly pleased that you were impressed with the quality of our accommodations and services. Your review inspires and motivates us to reach for even greater heights.
It was a pleasure to have you with us. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is across the road for clot metro station which is 4 stops from city centre (catalunya) takes under 15 mins so location wise the hotel is good. Our room was very small but looked fine, double bed was 2 single beds which was a problem for me and my gf however someone did come and join them together which made it better. We was woken up one early morning by a lot of drilling and hammering and after complaining they put us in a different room which was an upgrade and a hundred times better than the standard room we paid for. Breakfast was ok but not worth 8 euros. Amazing views from the top of the hotel. Friendly staff. All in all not a bad stay, would stay again for a short stay

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HC_Atenas, Gerente at Catalonia Atenas Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Customer,
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience encountered in our hotel.
We would like to thank you once again and I hope that on the next visit we can exceed your expectations.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We booked this place through a British airways deal for 3nights . Checked out after 2 nights. As it was unbearable. No air conditioning meant having to leave the windows open during the night. It was really difficult to sleep as a result because of the loud traffic and partying revellers.
Internet isn't fast enough to watch videos online. Location is good and convenient as close to metro and to get to the centre of the city cost us 10 euros Ian a cab.
This is listed a 4 star but it's max basic 3 star comfort . Not pleased at all

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HC_Atenas, Gerente at Catalonia Atenas Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback for our hotel. I would like to extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience encountered in our hotel.You can be assured that we will use your feedback to help us correct our deficiencies and improve our services further. Your satisfaction is very important to us.
We would like to thank you once again and I hope that on the next visit we can exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

This was my second time staying in this hotel. I stayed in October 2011 & October 2014. Its only 4 stops on the metro (which is basically across the street - Clot station - 2 min walk). Also you can get the train to & from the airport direct from the main Clot train station (about a 5-7 minute walk). The hotel was clean & room was cleaned daily. We paid extra for a terrace & were not disappointed. It was large with 2 sun loungers & an amazing view. The sliding door was a double door so no noise from the street was heard. Actually the room was really quiet. We did venture into the pool which is situated on the roof top. The views are breathtaking. The pool is not heated & was totally freezing but we braved it for a swim as weather was beautiful. We found the local bar/restaurants to be very cheap & friendly. If in the future i will again travel to Barcelona, i will again stay in this hotel. The value for money is amazing. The only complaints are the pool being so cold & our ensuite was tiny but practical. I would have no problem with staying in the same room again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HC_Atenas, Gerente at Catalonia Atenas Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback for our hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us!
We are happy to hear that you were very pleased with our friendly staff, good location and amenities. Trust that we will continue our commitment to provide you with the best value accommodation. You can also be assured that we will use your feedback to help us correct our deficiencies and improve our services further. Your satisfaction is very important to us.
We very much appreciate your loyalty and hope to create a more memorable and enjoyable experience for you on your next visit.
It was truly a pleasure to serve you, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

The hotel is a no frills place. The room we were in was small, facing a lane at the back. A sliding door opened into a miniscule balcony and the bathroom was just about decent. The air-conditioning was erratic.
The breakfast was fairly good. The restaurant served dinner to only groups, so if after a day of hectic sightseeing one wanted to a have a meal, it was not available. The bar served a limited variety of snacks and if a number of people descended it was virtually impossible for the bartender to handle them all, let alone come by you to take an order. The staff could be more helpful.
From the hotel the city centre is approachable by metro,bus and taxi. The Sagrada Familia is a half hour walk along nearby Mallorca Avenue.

Room Tip: I suggest one request to have a look at the room given and try and change it for something better, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HC_Atenas, Gerente at Catalonia Atenas Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience encountered in our hotel.
We would like to thank you once again and I hope that on the next visit we can exceed your expectations.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

The hotel was reasonably priced and in a good location. It is a 10-15 minute walk from Sagriaa Familia and there is a metro station directly opposite the hotel for easy access into the city centre.
The breakfast was very good.
The pool is small but the views from the hotel roof terrace are amazing especially at sunset.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HC_Atenas, Gerente at Catalonia Atenas Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
We are enormously pleased that we succeeded in providing you with a good hotel experience. Let us thank you for appreciating our convenient location and our breakfast. It was wonderful to have you with us. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Atenas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Atenas Hotel

Address: Avda Meridiana 151, 08026 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Atenas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renewed in 2004, the hotel is situated in Avenida Meridiana, with easy access to any part of the city due to the proximity to Aragon Street one main streets of Barcelona, and Rondas witch will help you to get shortly to the Metropolitan Area. The Hotel Atenas is provided of an outdoor swimming pool and a solarium situated in the upper part of the hotel where you will enjoy a brilliant panoramic view of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, EasyToBook, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Atenas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Atenas Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Atenas
Catalonia Atenas Hotel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Atenas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.