We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Atenas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Atenas Hotel to your Saves list
Catalonia Atenas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Meridiana 151, 08026 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #335 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Better than expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

After reading some of the previous reviews I was a little worried, but I was pleasantly surprised. It is 5 mins from Metro and very easy to get into the City. Just make sure you get out the right side of the Station. Our Rooms were at the back of the Hotel and not affected by noise also air conditioning/recycling system was fine and kept us cool. Staff friendly and helpful and good choice of food for Breakfast. We did not eat a main meal but had food from the snack menu which was fine. We booked our holiday as a package and did not realise you had to upgrade to get tea and coffee making facilities. Also there is an early and late checkout service which although is extra was useful for our last day as our flight did not leave till early evening so we hung onto our room that little bit longer. Pool on the roof is more of a gimmick but my 7 year old liked it ! We had a slightly bigger bathroom as I think it was for a disabled person. Shower was fantastic. Only drawback is that you had to get the Metro to get anywhere but we bought a T10 ticket which meant each trip only cost us about 1 euro.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quieter as Hotel is on a main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    199
    96
    54
    57
See reviews for
70
164
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Water leaking, actually pouring in the bathroom. Front desk guy says very casually someone is taking shower upstairs????? How would we know is he taking shower or is it sewer water???? Just hands out extra towels. After much deliberation gives us different room. But much smaller than our room!!!!! Spain hotels need to maintain some basic standards of sanitation hygiene.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel is decent - rooms on the 5th and 6th floors are bigger than those on the lower floors. Toilets are very clean. A kettle with coffee/tea powder would certainly be useful. There is a restaurant run by a Bangladeshi in the adjacent building where the coffee tastes better than the one available in the restaurant in the ground floor. Staff were courteous and friendly. Value for money.

Room Tip: Take metro from the airport terminal to Clot. The hotel is less than 100 metres away at street level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel is viewable from the metro station "Clot" once you walk onto street level. The staff were very friendly and the room was nice, upon check in we asked if the room had a mini bar (after reading most did not) and the lady said she would check for us, it did not currently have one but they said they would have one brought up to our room for us which we were very pleased with. An annoying point was when we got to the room a maintenance man insisted on changing a light bulb which had blown though he did not come prepared and had to come back twice more with the right bulb/equipment. The air conditioning worked really well and pool was lovely in the summer sun though it was exceptionally small for a hotel and much more like something you would find in a backyard. Breakfast was advertised at €13 per person but the lady at the desk informed us it would only be €8, and offered a lot of sweet food along with a traditional spanish baguette station. There is a 24hr baguette shop just downstairs that also sells pizza, looks good but is a little average handy for those night owls though as the hotels snack bar stops serving food at 10pm. All in all the hotel was in a convenient location and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gholms
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed in Barcelona 3 nights on a short break and found this hotel perfect for our needs.
The hotel itself doesnt look too great from the outside although the lobby and the rooms and much better. Our room was modern, clean comfortable with good air con.
Its around 15 minute walk from Sangrada famila and about 8-10 euro in a taxi from La Rambla.
We didnt want to stay too central and the fact that the hotel was across the road from Clot underground station was a bonus.
The Clot-Argo mainline station is just down the road and there's a direct link to the airport which takes around 30 minutes and costs around 4euro. If you're looking for a well priced, clean comfortable and reasonably modern hotel not in the main areas of the city then this is worth a look

Room Tip: There are some rooms in the hotel that have a small enclosed balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Water leaking, actually pouring in the bathroom. Front desk guy says very casually someone is taking shower upstairs????? How would we know is he taking shower or is it sewer water???? Just hands out extra towels. After much deliberation gives us different room. But much smaller than our room!!!!! Spain hotels need to maintain some basic standards of sanitation hygiene.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Atenas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Atenas Hotel

Address: Avda Meridiana 151, 08026 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#167 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Atenas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renewed in 2004, the hotel is situated in Avenida Meridiana, with easy access to any part of the city due to the proximity to Aragon Street one main streets of Barcelona, and Rondas witch will help you to get shortly to the Metropolitan Area. The Hotel Atenas is provided of an outdoor swimming pool and a solarium situated in the upper part of the hotel where you will enjoy a brilliant panoramic view of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Atenas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Atenas Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Atenas
Catalonia Atenas Hotel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Atenas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.