We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for - Superb situation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Rius I Taulet, 1-3 | 08004 Barcelona, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Fira Palace Barcelona) (Montjuic)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #29 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
BEDFORD
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for - Superb situation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The name of the hotel seemed different from our booking which was the Fira Palace. In any event after a little confusion we found the hotel and the check in was efficient and packed full of information - very good! An issue with the cold water in our room led to us asking for a room change. This was actioned immediately and we received a complementary sweet tray and a letter of apology. The hotel really knows the value of looking after its guests. The room was excellent, spacious and with great facilities, I couldn't fault it. The breakfast was plentiful and with good selections. A small point was that much of the hot food was luke warm at best as the hot lights appeared to be ineffective. Well situated for Espanya metro station and the fountains (a 2 minute walk) with the converted Bull Ring with many distances being 10 minutes away. I couldn't fault the service, staff or accommodation. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms - they were identical and excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    95
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
76
109
13
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

In general not bad, quite comfortable and clean. Good service. I suppose I expected more after reading opinion on the official site. The swimming pool was supposed to be free, but it turned out to be extra charge 25 e / day ( not worth the money) . The gym very basically equipped. The breakfast was supposed to be 14 e / as per the official website, but at the reception they asked 16 e / yet in the rooms the flyer still saing 14 e. Not a big thing but you feel uncomfortable.
Breakfast very good. Cleaning service and the general reception very good.
In comparison to other 4 star hotels expensive ( 150 e / night ) but not exceptional. I decided to stay in this hotel only because they offered the free facility pool and the gym. I will not stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Inside rooms have view at the back yard. The room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaBarcelona, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Anna L,

Thank you so much for sharing this review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable hotel as well as our good service.

I would kindly clarify to you that, as stated in our official website, the free service for all our guests is our Fitness Center. There are special rates for our guests to access to the thermal zone of our White Wellness Spa. Unfortunately we do not have swimming pool.
In regards to the breakfast prices, please be advised that, "advance purchase rates" are always available so, probably is for that reason that you found a different rate in the hotel if you did not booked it together with the accommodation.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Yours sincerely,

Enrique Escofet
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Return visit to Barcelona and chose this hotel based on location and review - we were not disappointed. We were greeted warmly by reception and given a large and very comfortable room which had everything we needed for a three night stay. Admittedly we didn't spend much time in the hotel so our experiences were limited to our room and the breakfast restaurant. We thought the breakfast buffet was great - good range and quality - maybe we'd prefer more the warm items a little hotter - with attentive staff in a very calm and quiet room with plenty of space. We ate in local restaurants so didn't sample the hotel's evening offerings.

The room was really spacious with separate shower and bath and the usual courtesy toiletries, gowns, and a typical hospitality tray. Although we didn't use them we thought that the mini bar and room service prices were really good. The TV had a few English channels - enough for us to see the news headlines, and wi-fi was fast and free.

We used taxis and also the underground from nearby Plaza Espana to get around - sharing a T10 ticket for 10 Euros. We were disappointed to find the magic fountain (just a hundred yards or so away) was closed for maintenance during our stay - then puzzled and pleased when it actually opened on the weekend! The views from the Bullring Shopping Centre at Plaza Espana are really good (and free) day and night.

The area is away from some of the major tourist attractions (although some are on the doorstep) and we found it a very quiet location but enough evening food choice.

A very enjoyable short break and we'd use the hotel again without hesitation if we re-visit.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for a week with my wife in this pleasant hotel adjacent to the Fira Centre (which looks closed). The magic fountains have lost their magic for the time being - broken! As was the case for the Montjuic Funicular!

However taxis are available all day outside the Crowne Plaza, but a refreshing walk will get you to all sights. The metro or FGC from Placa España will easily get you around otherwise.

After a week you see all sides of the hotel's offerings and whether these are consistent. Our experience of the Club Lounge leads us to recommend this especially.

The discreet and private check in in the lounge was a welcome service. Bruno managed the Club facilities for all the time we were in the hotel save for his days off. He was patient, amenable, and thoughtful throughout - a great asset to the hotel.

Breakfast, Nespresso coffee, snacks, tapas (at lunchtime and early evening), top shelf drinks all day including Moët on ice, provide most of what any traveller, business or leisure might need.

Recommended - this hotel is a worthy representative of IHG - this coming from a Platinum Elite member.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed second week of February 2015, room, staff, service outstanding. Club lounge very good, nice selection of tapas and drinks. The only thing not up to Crowne Plaza standard was the breakfast, in the lounge or downstairs in the restaurant everything was cold, eggs, bacon, potatoes, and pancakes. I know it difficult to maintain hot food on a buffet but other Crowne Plaza's I have stayed were able to accomplish this. We brought this to the attention of the staff and as of this post it has not been rectified. Bruno in the lounge has been more than helpful and tried to correct the breakfast issue. Sunday maid service did not show up and had to call for service which was completed at 1500hrs.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaBarcelona, Director General at Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear RC100000,

Thanks for your opinion.

We are very glad that you enjoyed our rooms and the service provided by our staff. We also take note of your comments about the breakfast - they are very important to improve our service.

We wish to host you again very soon!

Warm regards,

Enrique Escofet
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a few nights in December and it was great.

Room is VERY large and very clean. Strong wifi in the room, nice staff and decent food in the hotel bar area (though I ordered the same thing two nights in a row and each plate was substantially different). Easy access to restaurants and convenience stores for cheap food and snacks.

A bit far from the main attractions, but this place was so nice and quiet that I'd definitely stay here again. And, it's a short taxi ride from the main train station.

This is probably the nicest Crowne Plaza that I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaBarcelona, Director General at Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear TravellingMofo,

Thank you very much for such a positive opinion!

We are so glad that you enjoyed our big rooms and that everything was at your liking. We are also very happy that you had the opportunity to try our restaurant El Mall. And you also noticed that our hotel is well based!: not in the busy downtown but very well connected with everyting.

It would be a truly pleasure to host you again.

Warm regards,

Enrique Escofet
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved this hotel . So clean and comfortable . Really convenient location about 2 minutes walk from the fountains and not far from cafes , restaurants , tourist bus stops and shops . We stayed for 4 nights and would definitely book this hotel again . We actually stayed here in November 2013 but I guess my review is overdue !

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center

Address: Avenida de Rius I Taulet, 1-3 | 08004 Barcelona, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Fira Palace Barcelona)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center 4.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fira Palace Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Fira Palace Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Fira Palace
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.