We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice in Barcelona!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Rius I Taulet, 1-3 | 08004 Barcelona, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Fira Palace Barcelona)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Venice, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent choice in Barcelona!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Hotel is completely new and has every comfort and service a great chain and crowne plaza offers around the word. The rooms are great and they offer you plenty of facilities and amenities such as nespresso coffe in the rooms with the machine and natural bath products directly produced from farmers from different countries. The food ( we had tapas for buffet lunch)was delicious and well served! This a great property to choose for both business or leisure as its just behind plaza de espanya!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaBarcelona, Director General at Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Admir K,

Thank you for your opinion.

We are very glad that you enjoyed so much our rooms. In fact, we do take care of every single detail, such us the amenities in the room and the quality of our restaurants as you realised. All together make your stay unique.

We would be very happy to host you here again very soon.

Warm regards,

Enrique Escofet
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    75
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
57
84
12
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Perfect for business or leisure. Excellent size rooms and a very friendly and helpful Staff.. A good range of fine restaurants, shops e leisure places all within walking distance. If needed, public transportation also very near by..

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaBarcelona, Director General at Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear PM2026,

Thank you very much for your opinion. To read a so great experience involving our rooms and staff makes us very happy.

It would be a pleasure to have you here with us again.

Warm regards,

Enrique Escofet
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was my 2nd visit to this hotel, but it was previously known as the Fira Palace. The check in was swift and friendly. We had a room with king size bed. The room was very clean and extremely quiet. No noise was heard from the corridor. The view from the 5th floor was not brilliant, but you could see the wonderful Museum of Art building in the morning light.

Breakfast was 18 euros per head. The usual things you would expect from a hotel of this standard.

The bar was occasionaly very busy and extremely loud due to the amount of seminars held in the hotel. However, when it was quiet it was very nice and calming.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant (el mall) one evening - and that was enough. We arrived in the dining room around 19:00. It was quiet with only two other tables occupied. I have no idea why, but we were rushed through the courses, and left the restaurant just before 20:00. The waiters seemed to be around us frequently to see if they could take away our plates. The wine was being continually poured from the bottle - even if we had not touched the glass since the previous re-filling - and was in danger of being finished before we had finished our starters.

I found it strange that the spa area was not free to hotel guests - especially the pool. They want 15 euros per person for entry.
To find the hotel can be challenging. As said at the top, it was previously known as Fira Palace. That is the name all the taxi drivers know. They generally do not know Crowne Plaza. Also the GPS for the car generally has the hotel as Fira Palace.

The location is great! It is less than 10 minutes walk to Place d'espagne (the old bull ring) where you will find a lot of restaurants which are open all day (after 11:00am). It is also a short walk to the "magic fountain" and the Museum of art. In the other direction you can walk down Avenue Parallel to the port, which takes around 15 to 20 minutes.

Despite my disappointment with the restaurant we will be coming back to this hotel. It really is very good.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaBarcelona, Director General at Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Simon P,

Thank you very much for your visit and your opinion. We made a big effort to make the rooms wide and comfortable, and we are happy to see so good results in your experience.

We are sorry that you felt a little bit over – attended. We take care of our guest so much because we wanted them to have a wonderful experience with us, and to not worry about anything but enjoying the dinner and the conversation.

We have recently re-opened the White Wellness SPA, with a special offer for guests at so much lower price than any other SPA of the same category.

Finally, we have upgraded our hotel to be a part of IHG Hotels, that is because now we are named as Crowne Plaza Barcelona Fira Center.

Thank you again for your opinion and we would be more than happy to host you again at our hotel.

Warm regards,

Enrique Escofet
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are clean and spacious with all the comforts for a business trip, the staff are helpful and it has a good location. The fitness was undergoing a refurb so I missed it. The breakfast was a bit basic and whilst the food from room service was good, the waiter was old school Spanish which was a shame otherwise a good night's rest

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaBarcelona, Director General at Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear William A,

Thank you very much for your opinion, so important for us to improve issues like you mentioned about the breakfast room. We try our best to offer new products every day, but they have to pass the high quality control before being served because we really want our guest to enjoy a first-class breakfast.

I am very glad that you liked our big rooms! Our fitness room is now finished: it is functional, modern and full-equiped. I hope that you have the occasion to enjoy it the next time that you come to the beautiful Barcelona.

Warm regards,

Enrique Escofet
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was very clean, very large room with twin double beds and a huge flat screen TV on the wall. Bathroom was also huge with a large walk in shower and separate bath.

Public areas were spotless and all staff very friendly.

Restaurant in the hotel was also very good.

The only thing that let the hotel down was the location, it was a bit out of the way and there wasn't a great deal to do in the nearby vicinity.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaBarcelona, Director General at Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear rob_from_wales,

We are very glad that you enjoyed our big room – one of the biggest hotel room-size in Barcelona, and the restaurant aswell. Our hotel is not based in the busy downtown, that is because it is quiet and modern. We are sure that you realised that it is very well connected to the city center though.

Thank you for your opinion, we are looking forward to have you here again!

Warm regards,


Enrique Escofet
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice hotel, with modern amenities.
Close to touristic attractions.
The hotel itself is modern, well maintained, with nice rooms, featuring large samsung smart tv screens, expresso machine...
Customer service is what sets the hotel apart, from the reception staff to the concierge and the housekeeping, everyone is helpful and willing to go the extra mile.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaBarcelona, Director General at Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Wap13,

Thank you very much for such a positive opinion! We are very happy to see that the big effort that we do everyday has been translated into a wonderful experience as you had at Crowne Plaza Barcelona.

It is a pleasure for me to inform all the staff involved in your experience about your satisfaction.

Warm regards,

Enrique Escofet
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here on business for a conference. The biggest standout staying at hotels with work a lot was the staff, they were amazingly friendly and helpful to everyone. This wasn't just reception staff, every member of staff I saw during my 4 night stay was so friendly and helpful to everyone.

The location of the hotel is superb, if you get the Aerobus from the airport you are about 5 minutes walk from the stop at Plaça d'Espanya. You are also on one of the main metro lines making getting around very easy.

The rooms were really clean, mini bar well stocked and free Nespresso coffee available in your room, like others I was not expecting the turn down service at all. The breakfast was equally impressive with a great choice which all appeared to be fresh.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaBarcelona, Director General at Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear MartynCoup,

Thank you for your opinion! When you are coming to Crowne Plaza Barcelona, there is no matter for us if it is for business or leisure: we are ready to beat your expectations! Our staff is our best value, and I am very glad to check that they did such a great job with you.

I am happy that you realised that we are very well connected with everywhere in Barcelona. It is very easy to come to our hotel!

Finally, our rooms are specially designed for your max comfort, plenty of space and well equipated.

We will be extremely happy to host you here again.

Warm regards,

Enrique Escofet
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center

Address: Avenida de Rius I Taulet, 1-3 | 08004 Barcelona, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Fira Palace Barcelona)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center 4.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fira Palace Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Fira Palace Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Fira Palace
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.