We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at the Crowne Plaza Barcelona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Rius I Taulet, 1-3, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Fira Palace Barcelona)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Noyemberyan, Armenia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay at the Crowne Plaza Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 4 nights and had an excellent time. The location is perfect for a short walk to the subway and a few minutes from the Museu Nacion d'Art. The room was spacious and comfortable. We ordered room service on the second night and the food was filling and delicious and the bar downstairs was relaxing and well priced. Next time I am in Barcelona I'll probably rest my head on their comfortable beds again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    56
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
48
60
10
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Business Traveller.
The hotel has no SECURITY.
Thiefs are around the lobby while the clients are relaxing in the lobby!
They stolen our bag, money, passport, credit cards.
HOTEL MANAGER IS USELESS.
AVOID THIS PLACE.
Instead to make business there we were popping up Consulate, Police and international phone calls.
Thanks for the wonderful experince we had tha Crowne Plaza Barcelona!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaBarcelona, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Mr.Marco,

Thank you for leaving us a feedback. As already said in our previous e-mails sent to you early this week, we are very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered, I want to sincerely apologize again for the inconveniences about the lost or theft of your bag that you suffered during your stay in Barcelona, our team unfortunately could not find it later as we normally do with many of the lost items of our guest.

As per our records, we are aware that constant follow up and resolutions it’s been offered to you in a timely manner by our Front Desk Manager.

As already mentioned to you on our previous communications and with regards to your comments:

• We do have a security team in our hotel. They are not dressed as security guards, but we do have a security team in our hotel.

• We do have an insurance policy, if you want your case to be manage by our insurance police, kindly complete a detailed case with all the details and enclose a copy of the police report and send it to me by e-mail. I will forward your mail to the insurance company for the appropriate follow up.

Mr. Marco, as sad as it may sound, the problem bad people trying to steal things from others is not exclusive of any particular hotel or even city, we do have a constant communication with the local police department and it is not false to say that this is a constant battle within all the venues in major cities.

As per your comments made at the front desk indicating that the staff may has not been helpful to you, we are really shoked as, most of our staff it’s been within the hotel between 10 and 20 years now giving constant and unparalleled service levels and we receive quite a few letters every week talking about the positive atmosphere within the hotel and the excellent service our staff provides.

Despite your disappointment we do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

We have already offer you in the first contact a special treatment for your next stay with the aim that you recover your trust in Barcelona and in our hotel company.

Mr.Marco, please let me know about your next visit and we will make sure you receive a very nice room and I will personally look after you to ensure you have a lovely stay with us.

Many thanks again for your comprehension please let me know if there anything else we can do for you. You have our details from previous e-mails.

Sincerely,

Enrique Escofet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here at the end of March 2014 for a weekend trip. At the time, the hotel was quite new. The hotel is just a short 10 min walk to either Placa Espanya or Poble Sec metro stations. The airport bus service into town (The A1 Aerobus) from Terminal 1 stops conveniently at Placa Espanya.

The English speaking hotel reception staff were very helpful and friendly and helped to orient us on the map upon arrival. Although we arrived quite early, we were able to check-in and settle into our room before the standard check-in time, enabling us to get some rest before seeing the city.

Our room was large, spacious & clean with a very cosy and comfortable king size bed. The fittings were of a high standard and the TV was enormous.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located in a residential neighbourhood it's a typical chain hotel where things work according to plan but still lacks some soul. Nonetheless the rooms are comfortable and spacious, staff is nice and helpful and there is a metro stop ten minutes walking. Twenty minutes walking and you'll be at the end of Las Ramblas. No interesting restaurants around. Gym was no working but you can access a gym located at walking distance (2 minutes). Breakfast could be more varied. All in all you'll fell comfortable.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is tucked in behind the Fira Center in Barcelona. It is about a 5-10 minute walk from the Pl. España metro station. It was clean and very classy. They did recognize IHG members and treated were very helpful work local directions.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here two nights in July and the hotel was very good.We had a few issues while checking in ,but the staff was very helpful and showed good cutomer service -The rooms are huge and nice decorated.The breakfast was ok,we got it included,I probably wouldn't have payed for it.
The hotel bar is excellent and wifi is fast

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kontich, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent 4 nights in this great hotel.
Though being out of the centre, it's within walking distance of the Magic fountains and in proximity of public transport at Placa Espanya. There is also a taxistop in front of the hotel.

The staff of the hotel was very kind and helpful at all times.

My friend and I were both upgraded to a club room with club lounge access.
The rooms were very spacious and comfortable, with excellent beds and a very nice bathroom. I also loved the multimedia interfaces for the SmartTV.

The club lounge is very welcoming. We enjoyed the breakfast in the morning and the tapas and drinks in the late afternoon. Very nice & friendly service.

Too bad the new SPA was not open yet.
This hotel met all my expectations and I will gladly stay there again on my next visit to Barcelona.

Room Tip: I would suggest making the upgrade to executive or clubroom. Club lounge access is a nice feature an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center

Address: Avenida de Rius I Taulet, 1-3, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Fira Palace Barcelona)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center Hotel is set in the heart of Montjuic, one of the most cultural areas of the city. Located between the famous Plaza de Espana and Gran Via Avenue, visit the nearby Montjuic Magic Fountains, Olympic Stadium and Montjuic Castle. You can also spend some time shopping in the amazing entertainment centre - Arenas de Barcelona. If you decide to enjoy the attractions of the Barcelona city centre, you are only a few metro stops away. See Gaudi's impressive Sagrada Familia or spend some time among the pavement cafes and entertainers of Las Ramblas, or take a quick drive to Barcelona's beach. This Barcelona hotel is convenient for your business travel, with meeting and conference facilities and free High Speed WIFI access to make sure you are connected at all times. You will be ideally located for easy access to the Fira de Barcelona Exhibition Centre. Whether you are staying with us for business or for a city break, our excellent location is only a 25 minutes' drive from Barcelona's International Airport and with the metro station Plaza Espana being a short walk away, Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center is perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fira Palace Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Fira Palace Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Fira Palace
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.