We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, spacious rooms, housekeeping could be improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Rius I Taulet, 1-3, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Fira Palace Barcelona)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 518 hotels in Barcelona
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Convenient location, spacious rooms, housekeeping could be improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for 4 nights and was pleasantly surprised to find this hotel in an excellent, easy to find area. We did request a nice view room but ended up with a view of apartments opposite. The room was great, spacious with a huge t.v and big bathroom. The double beds are not average size, be aware and didn't give us much turning room however we slept comfortably with no noise disturbance from outside or inside, in fact we often thought we were the only one's in the hotel. Limited tea, coffee and milk supplies but a good working fridge which we used to store our water bottle in ( shop over the road sold water rather cheap). We didn't eat at the hotel and found a cafe within 5 minutes walk which was reasonable and catered for vegetarians. We had to ask every night for additional towels, we sometimes were left none and sometimes 2 (there were 3 staying in the room) this could be annoying if your back late and want a quick shower before bed. On the last night of our stay we arrived back to the room around 11pm and were shocked to find wet towels draped all over the floor from the door into the bedroom, we asked at reception what had happened to then be told our room had flooded whilst we were out and they had forgotten to remove the towels. Needless to say we waited for housekeeping to arrive and remove them, leaving a wet carpet and wet clothes that had been left on the floor when we went out. Staff at reception told us we had to wait until the morning to speak to someone about this. Although the staff in the morning were very apologetic it was abit late to be offered use of their laundry facilities free of charge as we leaving for our flight home. It was a shame this happened as the rest of our stay was very pleasant and would book again if I ever returned.

Room Tip: Double beds are smaller than average opt for king size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    48
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
41
53
8
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
preston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

booked to stay here for 2 nights as a family of four - we booked our stay through a third party broker ( to get the best deal) - we originally requested a family room to accommodate all 4 guests, we also rang the hotel few days prior to our stay to confirm the booking and to request that we have either a family room or at least an interconnecting room so we could be with our children. We arrived from the airport quite late at night to check in and upon arrival we found ourselves standing for approx 20 mins whilst the receptionist tried her best to accommodate our request. Unfortunately, after a while we were informed that there was no interconnecting rooms or indeed 2 rooms next to each other. The closest rooms we were offered was 1 room on the 1st floor and our 2nd room on the 5th floor !!! - We weren't pleased but wasn't in a position to argue or negotiate as we was tired and just wanted to get into the rooms. We were offered a VIP upgrade to the club lounge on the first night but unfortunately by the time we had taken our suitcases to both rooms the VIP club lounge was closed !!!! The next morning we moved out of the 2 rooms and was moved to different rooms and this time they were next door to each other. we tried to use the VIP lounge on the 2nd night but the new rooms cards we were given didn't work and therefore we could not gain entry to this exclusive lounge !! Overall, although the mix up with the rooms were a nuisance and an inconvenience, the hotel is very nice, clean.The breakfast was ok but not the biggest choice, the bacon was streaky bacon and very greasy and the sausages were chipolatas cooked in onions ( like hot dogs sausages) Didn't opt for any meals in the restaurant but used the bar area which is very relaxing and quiet. Overall the hotel is of a very high standard with nice bathrooms and I would certainly stay here again despite the mix up with the rooms

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solroed
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed in a double room at the 5. floor for a week.

Good Things first. Room was very large compaired to European standards, clean, nice bed, (double duvet however), great view. Lifts quick. Metro 5-7 minuttes within walking distance as well as busses. Good and plentyfull breakfast. Fast check in and checkout. (remember the city tax though which you have to pay in addition to the hotel bill.). Staff polite. Two (ish) museums, the magic fountains, and a shopping mall nearby. No street noice to talk about.

Bad Things. There were not anything to complain about regarding this hotel, but I will mentioned a couple of things. It was iritating that you could not get your own coffee at breakfast, but had to wait untill you catched the waiters attention, and they were busy. The lobby and breakfast room was very Cold ( two much aircon). I read on tripadvisor that there were lots of restaurants and bars around, yeah well - I would not exactly call them restaurants, more like cafes with touristy Pictures of the food, and cheap looking bars. Only one nearby that looked decent. We did not feel tempted to try them. The fact of the matter is that the hotel is fine, however, not at all 5 star, and the area was boring. Way to far away from the Beach and the city center.

Would I stay here Again? No, purely due to location.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for a short 3 day break to Barcelona. 5-10 minutes walk from the metro it is well placed for flying in and using public transport. This is a good standard hotel with plenty of space and excellent service. The room was very nice with a massive LED tv and comfortable chairs. Beds very comfortable and a very nice bathroom that was spacious and modern. We had two large double beds in the room.
We used the RENFE train network to get from the airport to the city (20 minutes) and could use one of our T10 tickets for this journey and the other remaining tickets around the city. We liked the old town best with its only narrow streets and the area around the hotel was very nice.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived at the hotel mid morning, after an early flight out from the UK & were delighted that after a short wait we were able to access our rooms. These were on the 8th floor with a view across the roof tops to the Sagrada Familia & the cable car. Very clean rooms with for once, efficient, quiet, air conditioning. There was also English TV channels, free wifi, complimentary shampoo, shower gel etc. Chairs in the room were very comfortable, as were the huge beds! The tea/coffee facilities in the room could have been better - just one large cup & one very small cup provided (our son's room only had one cup throughout our stay despite requesting a second); plenty of tea & coffee sachets but only two small milk portions! We also only had one small bottle of water in the room for two people. The breakfast was expensive for what it was. The 'hot' food the hot plate was barely warm. I opted for the croissants which just tasted of oil & so didn't bother with breakfast for the rest of our stay. The buffet style evening meal was also only warm, despite us being in the restaurant within 10 minutes of it opening. Needless to say we only ate there on the first night. Also, like other reviewers, we were disappointed to find on arrival that the pool was still shut for refurbishment. Despite my gripes I would probably stay again as the location was great - just a short walk from the Magic Fountain & the sightseeing bus stop was just a 10 minute walk up the road & the accommodation a good price. However, next time all meals will be eaten out!

Room Tip: Great view across Barcelona from the 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just got back from Barcelona and stayed at this great hotel. I'd definitely recommend and would stay there again. Breakfast is great, free wifi across the whole hotel, free computers to use for all, good sized rooms/bathroom, friendly and helpful staff and good size TV in the room. 4 of us staying in one room, I rearranged the furniture a bit to give us more space; with the room being so big, the kids on the other side of the room felt like they were far away which is great!

Location was great too; 10mins from Espanya station to Line3, which was one of the main lines we used to get around the city and not far from city centre.

I've given it four stars as the cleaning staff would sporadically forget to top up on items in the room, the air con was a bit too weak, the four bed rooms had three quarter beds (not double) and I feel a hotel of this calibre could do with a few extra little touches like drinks in the foyer.

Would I stay here again? Defo.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is one of the most amaZing hotel with one of the biggest standard rooms which I have ever seen... They have the best of amenities in the room.. They have a 42 inches LED in the room, biggest I have ever seen in a hotel. Kudos to the owners for making such a fine property.. The location is not city centre, but it is not bad either...

The staff especially the porter was extremely helpful. The breakfast staff was very cordial.. All in all, I would only stay in this hotel, whenever in Barcelona..

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center

Address: Avenida de Rius I Taulet, 1-3, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Fira Palace Barcelona)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center Hotel is set in the heart of Montjuic, one of the most cultural areas of the city. Located between the famous Plaza de Espana and Gran Via Avenue, visit the nearby Montjuic Magic Fountains, Olympic Stadium and Montjuic Castle. You can also spend some time shopping in the amazing entertainment centre - Arenas de Barcelona. If you decide to enjoy the attractions of the Barcelona city centre, you are only a few metro stops away. See Gaudi's impressive Sagrada Familia or spend some time among the pavement cafes and entertainers of Las Ramblas, or take a quick drive to Barcelona's beach. This Barcelona hotel is convenient for your business travel, with meeting and conference facilities and free High Speed WIFI access to make sure you are connected at all times. You will be ideally located for easy access to the Fira de Barcelona Exhibition Centre. Whether you are staying with us for business or for a city break, our excellent location is only a 25 minutes' drive from Barcelona's International Airport and with the metro station Plaza Espana being a short walk away, Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center is perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fira Palace Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Fira Palace Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Fira Palace
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.