We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Rius I Taulet, 1-3, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Fira Palace Barcelona)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 519 hotels in Barcelona
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just got back from Barcelona and stayed at this great hotel. I'd definitely recommend and would stay there again. Breakfast is great, free wifi across the whole hotel, free computers to use for all, good sized rooms/bathroom, friendly and helpful staff and good size TV in the room. 4 of us staying in one room, I rearranged the furniture a bit to give us more space; with the room being so big, the kids on the other side of the room felt like they were far away which is great!

Location was great too; 10mins from Espanya station to Line3, which was one of the main lines we used to get around the city and not far from city centre.

I've given it four stars as the cleaning staff would sporadically forget to top up on items in the room, the air con was a bit too weak, the four bed rooms had three quarter beds (not double) and I feel a hotel of this calibre could do with a few extra little touches like drinks in the foyer.

Would I stay here again? Defo.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    43
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
33
49
8
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It is one of the most amaZing hotel with one of the biggest standard rooms which I have ever seen... They have the best of amenities in the room.. They have a 42 inches LED in the room, biggest I have ever seen in a hotel. Kudos to the owners for making such a fine property.. The location is not city centre, but it is not bad either...

The staff especially the porter was extremely helpful. The breakfast staff was very cordial.. All in all, I would only stay in this hotel, whenever in Barcelona..

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We choose this hotel mainly for its underground garage, but we found out that many of the places, like Mount Juidic and the "dancing fountains" were within a walking distance. There are also many good restaurants and Tapas Bars within a few steps. The hotel itself is spacious and elegant. As Gold Elite members we were upgraded for free to an executive room with view, which was in perfect order, very large and convenient. The free wifi is a big bonus. The hotel staff was always friendly and helpful. Breakfasts are generous and lovely. We had once nice toasts at the bar and once a bufet dinner at the hotel restaurants - both were very satisfactory. Very much recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Excellent hotel where we were very well looked after. The room was very large for a city location with all of the facilities that you would expect from a hotel of this calibre. We upgraded to the Club Lounge and found the facilities superb, providing an excellent breakfast and snacks throughout the day. Sandra and her team in Reception provided us with every request we made and we cannot praise her highly enough for her excellent level of service. We would most certainly return to the Crown Plaza on our next visit and strongly recommend a stay in this location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Your average Crowne Plaza Hotel. There was a line at check-in with the process seeming to take well above average for each guest. As they do not have a separate concierge area, guests would inquire about what to do in Barcelona also at the reception. There certainly was no sense of urgency when it came to acknowledging waiting guests. Check in itself was standard- neither friendly nor otherwise- mostly uninterested- not genuine. One bellboy was available, who again was not that interested in anything and was reacting to guests requests, rather then being proactive. The general feeling I got was that the hotel was grossly understaffed, undertrained- I guess the staff were inherited from the previous hotel (Fira Palace) and had yet to understand the IHG culture.
Room- clean, and with all the amenities expected from a 4 star hotel. AC worked well. Double door to the hallway ensures that noise does not travel from that direction. Housekeeping was erratic- every single day one item would be forgotten. On one day, both hand towels were not delivered. Bed sheets are not changed daily even if dirty- again lack of training, consistency and common sense.
Breakfast- service was again unfriendly and mechanical. The breakfast buffet selection was adequate for a four star hotel.
Check-out. Bill was correct. They are saving costs by not printing the initial bill for verification, thus the computer is turned around for all guests waiting in line to see your bill.
Overall- it was a very average stay and I would only consider staying here again depending on the price. They showed no interest in me, thus there is no need to show any loyalty to IHG even as a Platinum Rewards Club member.

Room Tip: High floor to avoid the noise form the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Really nice hotel, situated closely to the fountains and only a few minutes walk from the bus stop. Takes about 20 minutes to get into the centre of Barcelona on foot, but an interesting walk.

Our room was upgraded and was excellent with really comfortable beds and a bathroom to die for!

Everything was very clean and staff were very helpful.
My only complaint is that the outside space was closed which was a bit of a blow in this hot weather.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was rather put off to begin with when I arrived at the hotel, asked for assistance with my luggage and was ignored by the front desk staff and supervisor (who then went on a wander around the lobby). On the positive side, when the front desk did turn their attention to me, it was a very positive check-in and a nice highlighting of my status benefits. I would rate the room highly as large, well-appointed, in excellent condition and meeting all expectations. I'll also complement the front desk on handling the extension of my visit well and checking me out perfectly. Really only one glitch in my entire stay. The location is good for those who need to be near Fira, but a little fair from many of the typical tourist attractions if on leisure. Metro is a short walk away, so convenient. I do think it's an unwise practice for the hotel wifi to be unsecure.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center

Address: Avenida de Rius I Taulet, 1-3, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Fira Palace Barcelona)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#48 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center Hotel is set in the heart of Montjuic, one of the most cultural areas of the city. Located between the famous Plaza de Espana and Gran Via Avenue, visit the nearby Montjuic Magic Fountains, Olympic Stadium and Montjuic Castle. You can also spend some time shopping in the amazing entertainment centre - Arenas de Barcelona. If you decide to enjoy the attractions of the Barcelona city centre, you are only a few metro stops away. See Gaudi's impressive Sagrada Familia or spend some time among the pavement cafes and entertainers of Las Ramblas, or take a quick drive to Barcelona's beach. This Barcelona hotel is convenient for your business travel, with meeting and conference facilities and free High Speed WIFI access to make sure you are connected at all times. You will be ideally located for easy access to the Fira de Barcelona Exhibition Centre. Whether you are staying with us for business or for a city break, our excellent location is only a 25 minutes' drive from Barcelona's International Airport and with the metro station Plaza Espana being a short walk away, Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center is perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fira Palace Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Fira Palace Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Fira Palace
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.