We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, nice location, great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Rius I Taulet, 1-3, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Fira Palace Barcelona)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 517 hotels in Barcelona
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent value, nice location, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I picked this hotel as the rate was low at the last minute and as a Ambassador Gold member in the IHG I knew I'd get great service. I was not disappointed. The staff were wonderful. Made me feel really special, allocated me and my friend a lovely room on the second to top floor. It's about 30 minutes walks into town (or use the Metro), and 10 minutes from the Royal Palace. We had a view of the Palace from our room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    35
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
23
42
6
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good hotel located behind Barcelona Fira and stone throw away from Montjunic Musical Fountain. About 300m away from subway, Airport Bus stop and also Areans Shopping Mall.
Room is good except that the chain lock was installed incorrectly and unable to serve its purpose. When I told the cleaning lady she just shrugged it off as OK. She asked me why I needed it? It was surprising to hear this response from hotel staff. There are 2 layers of window and the outside layer was unable to close fully. This means some traffic noise still come in.

Buffet breakfast is ok with the usual spread at Euro 14 if you prepaid in full at check in. Otherwise it is Euro18. Coffee and tea making facilities is good for an European hotel. Full facilities like choice of tea, decafe coffee and even Nespresso capsules for Premium rooms.

Will return to stay.

Room Tip: Choose room facing the Barcelona Fira for better view of the city and mountain. Should be at least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a brilliant experience here! The location was perfect for us, we walked everywhere we wanted to go to and being in a centrally located hotel was key. The room had a king sized bed, a 50" Samsung smart tv with hdmi sockets to plug in to near the bed and at the desk, which for me was awesome as a techy guy! The room was very spacious, had a big sofa bed as well, shower was huge, great water pressure, air conditioning was perfect. Absolutely loved the room. Very friendly reception staff, business centre was quick and easy, and painless for me to do my airport online check in and print offs. Recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to the king sized option, the room is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I spent four days here for my birthday and was impressed.
Pros:
hotel is in Catalunya and close to tube. Nice area for visiting fountain (right up street). Just really a great location. Also the bus to the airport is 6 euro pp and fast.
Hotel is clean. Room is very clean. Kudos to cleaning staff they do an amazing job. They really make sure the details are on point.
It was my birthday so my husband arranged with Fernando (front desk agent) to do something nice for me. Fernando really took very good care in helping him make my day feel special. I am a platinum member and an ambassador so things like this matter. I specifically look for this bc I stay at IHG properties so much.
The rest of the staff were helpful in giving us directions and just very open to making sure we got what we needed.
I highly recommend this hotel. It has a high tripadvisor rating for a reason. The rooms are spacious and cozy. Just magnifique!!!

Only con is room service. The food was not good and kind of weird. Freshly made and quick service but just tasted bad. Not bad as in bad ingredients just not well made. I must say tho I had issues with food in barcelona period. We ate at several different places and only enjoyed one serving traditional cuisine. There are plenty of restaurants nearby so no need to worry. This hotel is worth the stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Really great hotel ! Stayed one night and defiantly will come back again

Great location near the Plaza de España , The metro staion is 400m away.

The rooms are huge , 2 queen size beds in standard rooms ,the bathroom is huge as well.

A/C and Wi-Fi worked very well.

Comparing to all hotels that I've looked around in Barcelona this is by far the best value to money ratio. If you are an IHG member you might get more discounts if you book it early and late check out included in the price by default.

Highly recommended !

Room Tip: It seems that all rooms are in a good form , chose what ever fits you the most regarding bed/s size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

What a good surprise. The room was huge (#132), the TV screen comparable to a movie theatre and the service close to perfection. The location is two blocks from Plaza España, Cataluña National Art Museum and the Magic Fountain. The same two blocks from subway station. if I'm back to Barcelona in the future, this will be the place where I'll stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean and comfortable beds and the hotel smells great. Food at the restaurant is good, loved the anchovies and the ham and cheese sandwich at the bar is excellent. Front desk staff could use some training though, specially the night staff, they are not as helpful as expected. Judith was very helpful, wish more of the staff was like her. The hotel is very conveniently located just walking distance from the Metro and the Arena.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center

Address: Avenida de Rius I Taulet, 1-3, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Fira Palace Barcelona)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center Hotel is set in the heart of Montjuic, one of the most cultural areas of the city. Located between the famous Plaza de Espana and Gran Via Avenue, visit the nearby Montjuic Magic Fountains, Olympic Stadium and Montjuic Castle. You can also spend some time shopping in the amazing entertainment centre - Arenas de Barcelona. If you decide to enjoy the attractions of the Barcelona city centre, you are only a few metro stops away. See Gaudi's impressive Sagrada Familia or spend some time among the pavement cafes and entertainers of Las Ramblas, or take a quick drive to Barcelona's beach. This Barcelona hotel is convenient for your business travel, with meeting and conference facilities and free High Speed WIFI access to make sure you are connected at all times. You will be ideally located for easy access to the Fira de Barcelona Exhibition Centre. Whether you are staying with us for business or for a city break, our excellent location is only a 25 minutes' drive from Barcelona's International Airport and with the metro station Plaza Espana being a short walk away, Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center is perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fira Palace Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Fira Palace Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Fira Palace
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.