We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Rius I Taulet, 1-3, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Fira Palace Barcelona)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 517 hotels in Barcelona
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Clean and comfortable beds and the hotel smells great. Food at the restaurant is good, loved the anchovies and the ham and cheese sandwich at the bar is excellent. Front desk staff could use some training though, specially the night staff, they are not as helpful as expected. Judith was very helpful, wish more of the staff was like her. The hotel is very conveniently located just walking distance from the Metro and the Arena.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    32
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
22
39
5
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A very nice and good located hotel. The staf were very helpful and friendly in every level. The rooms were good and we had good breakfast the two mornings in our stay. The hotel will be on our list the next time we are in Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice hotel with large rooms, good amenities and good location (10mins walk to metro and 5mins to the fountains). However room service is lacking. The room are clean but don't expect consistent replenishment of refreshments and even towels, as the maids are are either too overworked or not bothered; and after two days without we asked at reception and still nothing. Overall 3 is fair as reception staff a little grumpy too. And €14 for the club room seems unfair when you've stayed at so many of this hotel group (would'nt have minded but I suspect that where they were hoarding our refreshments!). Barcelona has lots to offer and if you're getting a good deal stay, but bring your own tea!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

perfect hotel.

rooms are 200% clean and spacious, fully equiped. staff really is nice, everything is clean and modern

facilities are great, wifi everwhere in the hotel. great location, close to plaza espana and poble espanyol.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a.clean well run hotel and has a great staff and the location was a few minutes walk to the train or buses.The front desk people were very helpful and told us where to go for dinner and it was a excellent choice about a 5 minute walk and the restaurant was excellent

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a spare of the moment weekend away with a friend. The hotel did not disappoint. The beds are the comfiest beds I have ever slept on and I've slept on a few (not like that, cheeky). The massive 50" was stupidly large but watching a movie was amazing, whilst nursing a little hangover.

Your 3 mins walk away from the magical fountains which is a most see when you visit Barcelona, and a 5 min walk from the arena viewing platform which gives you a 360 degree view of the city.

La Rambla, the harbour and the beach are a leisurely stroll down the road.

Worth every penny, would stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's hard to tell if it's a recruitment flaw or a management problem but when they were present, the majority of the staff displayed a dissatisfaction or disinterest that made interaction a chore. There were exceptions but from very first contact with the one & only staff member on duty at reception it was abundantly clear that we were a burden not welcome guests. After waiting 10 minutes for the sole staff member to get off the phone, we were informed that we could have checked in at the Club Lounge. A little hard to do when you've no idea where it is & there are no signs but handy to know for next time.

Room was nice other than the things that didn't work like TV & aircon. Club Lounge is lovely. Nice furnishings & lovely ambience, Breakfast in the Club Lounge was excellent. Other snacks, not so much. Range of drinks was good on the first day but weren't replenished once finished so got worse over the 3 days.

Dinner in the main restaurant was inappropriately expensive but reasonable quality. Staff we're reasonably attentive but predominantly mono-lingual. Not a fair criticism as I am too. It was just unfortunate for me that my main language isn't coincident with that of the restaurant staff.

Despite the annoyances above, my main gripe is an easy one to fix. Stop serving UHT milk! It destroys the flavour of otherwise reasonable coffee & leaves an after taste that couldn't be removed even with liberal application of the ever-dwindling supply of Club Lounge liquor.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center

Address: Avenida de Rius I Taulet, 1-3, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Fira Palace Barcelona)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#55 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center Hotel is set in the heart of Montjuic, one of the most cultural areas of the city. Located between the famous Plaza de Espana and Gran Via Avenue, visit the nearby Montjuic Magic Fountains, Olympic Stadium and Montjuic Castle. You can also spend some time shopping in the amazing entertainment centre - Arenas de Barcelona. If you decide to enjoy the attractions of the Barcelona city centre, you are only a few metro stops away. See Gaudi's impressive Sagrada Familia or spend some time among the pavement cafes and entertainers of Las Ramblas, or take a quick drive to Barcelona's beach. This Barcelona hotel is convenient for your business travel, with meeting and conference facilities and free High Speed WIFI access to make sure you are connected at all times. You will be ideally located for easy access to the Fira de Barcelona Exhibition Centre. Whether you are staying with us for business or for a city break, our excellent location is only a 25 minutes' drive from Barcelona's International Airport and with the metro station Plaza Espana being a short walk away, Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center is perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fira Palace Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Fira Palace Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Fira Palace
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.