We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Rius I Taulet, 1-3, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Fira Palace Barcelona)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
ft walton beach, fl
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is beautiful and in a great location. The metro is a short 5-7 minute walk and is immediately accessible to the Red and Green line, both of which stop at La Rambla. Additionally, if you arrive by bus (from Girona airport or somewhere else), there is a metro right outside the bus station that connects the red line right to the hotel. The room was large and clean. We would definitely recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    29
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
22
34
5
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
206 hotel reviews
Reviews in 175 cities Reviews in 175 cities
719 helpful votes 719 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Although this is certainly not a flashy hotel, nor does it offer grand views, it more than makes up for this in comfort and service. The location is on a quiet street, but a fairly quick walk to Plaza de Espana and the metro. The rooms are huge for a hotel in a major European city, and, with double doors to the hallway, extremely quiet. The internet worked well. My cousin and I stayed for three nights, and the front desk always seemed to be well-staffed, with helpful personnel. It was hands-down the best hotel in our 2-week trip from Paris, and not the most expensive. I only wish the restaurant were a bit more affordable, but there are plenty of options within easy walking distance. If you're looking for a quiet room with understated luxury, comfort, and great service, this is the place!

Room Tip: No views, and all of the rooms are very well insulated, so I don't think you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great rooms at this hotel. We were a family of 4 and had 2 double beds which made our stay very comfortable. Breakfast was not incl and was expensive at ear 18 per person. Not too many eating joints around the hotel. Its a short taxi ride away from Ramblas which has all the action in barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for harley days nice hotel but restaurant staff rude and slow housekeeping desperately bad even when we had the do not disturb sign on the door they would ring the room this was frustrating as we were working nights and needed our sleep

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironwood
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Barcelona-Fira Center after an 11 day cruise. The day before disembarkation, which was fortunately a port day in Barcelona, we found out there would be a taxi drivers' strike on disembarkation day. We went to the hotel early, talked to the front desk staff, and they were more than happy to stow our luggage overnight so we didn't have to haul it on and off buses the next day. Very accomodating!
This hotel is in a beautiful location, three blocks down from the National Palace on a shady side street. There is a hop-on-hop off bus stop across from the Palace, and metro and bus service a short distance away in the Placa d'Espanya. It is an easy walk, maybe 20 minutes, down Ave. Paral-lel to La Rambla, or just get on bus D20 and it will take you to La Rambla and the big Columbus Monument. We were newcomers to Barcelona, but it didn't take long to figure out public transportation.
A short walk up the hill past the palace and you are in the beautiful Mont Juic area and can visit the Olympic Stadium from the 1992 Olympics. Even though the fitness center of the hotel is being renovated right now, they provide you access to a fitness center nearby, or you can enjoy the shady streets and go for a run!
The rooms in the hotel are huge by any standard, not just for people getting off a cruise ship. We paid extra for the club level, and it was well worth it. It included an excellent breakfast, beverages, cocktails, and snacks available all day in a private lounge.
There is a restaurant connected to the property, but we went out to area restaurants to eat. If you head down toward Ave. Paral-lel on the side street (I think the street is Lleida), there is a cute tapas place called Casa de Tapas. It was really fun, and just a few minutes walk.
There are always a few cabs parked out in front of the hotel (except if they're on strike). We asked for a quote to the airport and felt it was a little high. The concierge in the club lounge called a cab for us, and with tip it was about forty euro. There is also an airport bus that leaves from Placa d'Espanya which would probably be a good option if you don't have a lot of luggage. It is a relatively quick trip to the airport from the hotel.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to fellow travelers. I wouldn't hesitate to return here if I am lucky enough to get back to Barcelona some day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

There is a thin line that mark a big difference between customer service and good customer care. We always choose IHG as our home away from home because of their consistent attention to details. Nicolas, at the club lounge, is a fine example of the professionalism that set them apart. Friendly, warm and very helpful, this young chap went that extra mile to a six star attention, making us feel like there is no better place away from home. Good job! Thank you so much.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Barcelona for eight days which included a conference. Initially everyone said 'you are too far from La Rambla' which caused me some concern. How wrong they were! The Montjuic location was fantastic. A block from the Magic Fountain and Museu Nacional d'Art de Catalunya (MNAC), a short walk to Placa Espanya and the tourist bus stops and one block from the wonderful Casa de Tapas Cañota for a great meal. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and very keen for us to see the typical Catalan sights while we were in town. Bookings at restaurants & tourist information were readily available. A taxi stand was located right outside and the metro was a short walk away. Sight seeing tickets could be arranged through the Business Centre on the ground floor. The rooms were well appointed and spacious even after a week. The restaurant had an excellent menu and the food was very tasty. The conference facilities were very good. Recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center

Address: Avenida de Rius I Taulet, 1-3, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Fira Palace Barcelona)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#44 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center Hotel is set in the heart of Montjuic, one of the most cultural areas of the city. Located between the famous Plaza de Espana and Gran Via Avenue, visit the nearby Montjuic Magic Fountains, Olympic Stadium and Montjuic Castle. You can also spend some time shopping in the amazing entertainment centre - Arenas de Barcelona. If you decide to enjoy the attractions of the Barcelona city centre, you are only a few metro stops away. See Gaudi's impressive Sagrada Familia or spend some time among the pavement cafes and entertainers of Las Ramblas, or take a quick drive to Barcelona's beach. This Barcelona hotel is convenient for your business travel, with meeting and conference facilities and free High Speed WIFI access to make sure you are connected at all times. You will be ideally located for easy access to the Fira de Barcelona Exhibition Centre. Whether you are staying with us for business or for a city break, our excellent location is only a 25 minutes' drive from Barcelona's International Airport and with the metro station Plaza Espana being a short walk away, Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center is perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fira Palace Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Fira Palace Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Fira Palace
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.