We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eurohotel Diagonal Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Eurohotel Diagonal Port to your Saves list
Eurohotel Diagonal Port
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Lope de Vega 4, 08005 Barcelona, Spain (Poblenou)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #370 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
nova scotia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great value for location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights to see as much as we could of Barcelona. Perfect location for all sites. 5 min walk to beach, 10 min walk to mini rambla and around the corner from lots of shopping. Highly recommend the hop on hop off bus tour if you want to see as much as you can in a short time. The hotel was clean and friendly. We didn't use the restaurant but walked 3 min to the pizza/coffee shop and had the best coffee and croissant for breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    135
    83
    30
    21
See reviews for
44
145
7
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed in the hotel whilst attending a conference at the CCIB (Centre Convencions Internacional Barcelona). The CCIB is about a 10/15 minute walk away from the hotel and it's a nice walk when the sun is shining. This is the good thing about this hotel.

Now for the not so good bits.

Basic hotel, as already suggested more 3 than 4 star. Think Travel Lodge by the sea.

Breakfast was very basic and not worth the money. Charging for WiFi isn't great, especially if the signal is weak and the connection is slow. 9.95 euro per day for bad WiFi.

Worst of all, they put two small 330ml bottles of still water in the room, and then charge 2.6 euros for them. EACH!!! Charging for a small bottle of water in the room is bad enough, but charging this much is just mean.

As if all of that wasn't bad enough a faulty iron that was delivered to a colleagues room had a frayed cord, gave him a shock and paramedics were called in. Nice.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javiergrao, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Eurohotel Diagonal Port, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Rafaelhoteles Diagonal Port.

We are disappointed to learn that we did not cover your expectations regarding breakfast service, minibar and wifi connection.

We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. It enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borlange, Sweden
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Rooms were ok and quit with comfortable beds. Have seen much better breakfastbuffé for €14.95.Wifi only free in the lobby for one hour then you need a new accesscode. Expesive in room. Staff friendly. For me was the location perfect but a bit far from citycentre.10minutes to Metro.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We got the reservation for this hotel through Hotwire and I was a bit nervous about staying here after reading all of the negative reviews. However, I was pleasantly surprised with our stay here. Our room was big (by European standards) and clean, with extra seating, a desk, and a safe deposit box. No free wifi in the rooms, however this seems to be the standard with larger hotel chains, and there was free fast wifi provided in the lobby with a code. The staff was very nice and attentive.

The only semi-negative was the hotel's location. It was a very quiet location close to the beach, however it was a bit of the way outside of the city center. It IS accessible by the tourist buses and a 10 minute walk to the Metro, but it still takes a while to get to the city center. I think the next time I return to Barcelona I would prefer to stay closer, however overall I do not regret my stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarvenpaa, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was not 4 star hotel level, more like 3 star.
The hotel may have been once 4 star, but it is quite clear there has not been much effort to maintain this level. Breakfast in Barcelona is usually excellent, but not at this hotel.
Also, the bar was not attended, you needed to call the bartender, which is a bit funny.
Furthermore cleaning of the rooms was very superficial, a fallen plastic bag laid on the floor for 3 days.
Good thing was very efficient air conditioning and that rooms were rather quiet.....
We will not return here. Last year we were at Hotel Princess, which was far far better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Lobby of hotel very presentable, that is the only good point about this hotel. when entering bedroom the floor at bottom of the bed very stained also the sides were as bad, bed side lamps covered in dust and hair, bathroom looked as if heated towel rail had been removed but all fittings left on wall some rusted and holes around fittings. No tea or coffee making facility's. Only good thing close to beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javiergrao, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Eurohotel Diagonal Port, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for taking your time in sharing your experiences and proposals regarding your stay at Rafaelhoteles Diagonal Port. We regret not having covered your expectations regard to our hotel. It is our commitment to meet our guest expectations and we appreciate very much your comments for actions to be taken in the future. We will take care of room maintenance and cleaning. Providing tea & coffee making facilities is a matter that is being studied.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eurohotel Diagonal Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurohotel Diagonal Port

Address: C/ Lope de Vega 4, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#181 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurohotel Diagonal Port 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located beachfront, 500 meters from Olympic Port -15 km from El Prat Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Eurohotel Diagonal Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafaelhoteles Diagonal Port Barcelona
Rafaelhoteles Diagonal Port Hotel Barcelona
Eurohotel Diagonal Port Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurohotel Diagonal Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.