We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was ok until I checked out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Barcelona to your Saves list
Hilton Barcelona
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Diagonal 589-591, 08014 Barcelona, Spain (Les Corts)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #128 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Everything was ok until I checked out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. Everything was good. The staff speaks and understands English well. But on the day we checked out I saw the bill and noticed minibar charges. I told him we didnt' take anything from the minibar. He needed sometime to delete and recalculate the bill. Since my husband used his credit card during check in, I would need his credit card to settle the bill during check out. I went up to the hotel room to pack and my husband settled the bill. He overlooked that we were charged double on the 5th of November. We arrived on the 5th so we were charged on the 5th BUT there was also a charge of Euro180 of "NO SHOW CHARGE".
I have emailed and called Hilton but no one has gotten back to me about it. The email that I received recently was a generic email that says that they aren't able to waive the amount charged and that someone has gotten back to me. But NO ONE has called or emailed me regarding this matter. I'm really upset and unhappy about this. I even attached the hotel bill statement.

I'm unhappy with Hilton's service. I expected better from a known chain of hotel like Hilton.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBcn, Manager at Hilton Barcelona, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Like you, I am a huge fan of Trip advisor and I use it a lot for my own travels. I appreciate constructive comment therefore allow me to clarify your 2 points that caused disappointment.

Mini-Bar charges: All our mini bars are a well-known automated system called Bartech and information stickers in 5 languages in the mini bar are pro-actively informing our guests that any item that would be pulled up few seconds, will be charged automatically in your bill. There is a place dedicated for storage for personal product as we know that travellers might need space for a couple of items. The automatic system choice allows us not to enter in the room if it is not needed and respect our guest privacy.
When told that you did not use it, it was kindly remove and I apologise if the rebate took too long for your expectations.

No show charge: I will comment the no-show invoice separately to you directly as it does not give any added value to other fellow travellers.

Alain Martzolff
Director of operations
guest@hiltonbarcelona.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    298
    112
    28
    9
See reviews for
111
271
39
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I first learned of this hotel during a company paid travel to Barcelona. The checkin and checkout service is SLOW. But then I'm not sure if that's just the laid-back culture there. Staff speaks perfect English and I had no troubles communicating with anyone. Except when I specifically asked for my green salad not to have salmon, when it was delivered to my room, it still had 4 pieces of raw salmon :) Not a big deal as I am not a vegetarian so I just moved the fish at the side of the plate. But the fact that I specifically asked for it not to be there, just kind of bothers me a bit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Always great to stay at this hotel. Maria Sorolla (on reception) is always so helpful and nothing is ever too much trouble. This hotel is in a Great location for going to see any Barcelona FC home games (10 min walk to the ground).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Barcelona for 6 days and were very pleased with it. Service at the front desk was always prompt and courteous. We were able to check in at 9 AM when we arrived from NY. The rooms were decent sized -- bigger than your typical European hotel -- and modern. We had no problems with the wifi. We had an executive floor so we were also able to enjoy the free breakfast and happy hour at the end of the day. As mentioned in other reviews, this hotel is in the business district and roughly a 1/2 hour combined walk/metro ride to the tourist area of Plaza Catalunya which did mean that we took a cab or metro each day but we enjoyed being in a quieter area and also chose the hotel to be near the chabad for the sabbath. The hotel was also a 15 minute walk from the hop on/hop off bus and near several shopping centers and parks. The taxi stand in front and the helpful bellmen were another plus. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The location of the hotel is not bad for access to the train station and metro but it is a bit of a hitke to the city centre, Clearly this is a business hotel and they struggle a bit with tourists. When I was asking about directions to the Hilton Madrid they did not mention that my train ticket would take me from the main station in Madrid on to the airport and the hotel shuttle, Their answer to all transit questions was "take a cab" which is alright when your funds are unlimited. The breakfast was brilliant. Wait until you hit diamond status to stay here if you are a Hilton member because gold status won't get you into the concierge lounge, Service at the front desk was uneven in quality and almost always short handed. Not up to snuff for a top tier chain. Too many power on lights in the room.

Room Tip: ask for a mediterranean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hotel staff were very good; made us feel welcome after a 2 week cruise. Lots of stores and restaurants in the area to choose from. Directions for the Metro and bus were helpful; we were going to Park Guell for the morning. Check in and Check out were speedy. We really appreciated the taxi stand right out the front door which made transportation to the airport easy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBcn, Manager at Hilton Barcelona, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Your feedback and 5* rating gives warm to our heart as we are happy that our love for hospitality has been shared and noticed.
Best regards,
Alain Martzolff - Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel is very nice and the location is wonderful. This was our second stay at the Hilton Barcelona and will definitely stay there again. One word of advice, don't get it confused with the Hilton Mar on Diagonal since that one is very far from everything you want to see in Barcelona. Even after having stayed at the Hilton Barcelona once already I got confused booking online and booked the other one instead and they charged me for one night's stay even though it was only 4:45 p.m. when we got the mistake figured out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBcn, Manager at Hilton Barcelona, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear recent and loyal visitor,

I am sorry that there was a confusion with our sister hotel called Hilton Diagonal Mar.
We are called Hilton Barcelona as we were the 1st Hilton one to open in the city and we are indeed located in the upper Diagonal avenue. in the zone of "Les Corts".
We hope seeing you soon for more Barcelona adventures.
Kind regards,
Alain Martzolff - Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Barcelona

Address: Avenida Diagonal 589-591, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Les Corts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#75 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#83 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#109 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Barcelona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the financial district, close to the city’s shopping destinations; Hilton Barcelona offers upscale accommodation that captures the essence of the vibrant Catalonian capital. Whether here on business, for a meeting or taking a leisurely break, enjoy a wealth of premium amenities, warm hospitality and its location. Travel to the hotel by car from Barcelona International Airport in just 15 minutes and from Sants Train Station in five. Walk for just five minutes to reach the Maria Cristina underground station or take a bus from in front of the hotel. Both options provide easy access to explore the many attractions of Barcelona and the city centre.Wake up in a stylish and contemporary guest room, featuring high speed internet access and city views. Take care of business at the desk, or listen music with the new iHome player. Upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy all of amenities found in our standard guest rooms, together with exclusive access to the Executive Lounge, offering complimentary continental breakfast and evening drinks.Savour a taste of Catalonia, choosing from a tempting menu inspired by the culinary traditions of Barcelona at the Restaurant Mosaic or meet with friends over cocktails and tapas at the Vibe Bar and Terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Hilton International Barcelona
Barcelona Hilton International
Hilton Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.