We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Regina Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Regina Barcelona to your Saves list
Hotel Regina Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Bergara, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The hotel is small but functional. Like most hotel in Europe the design is always efficient, small bathroom but good layout. Breakfast is self service but the variety is excellent. We didn't try lunch or dinner because there were so many choices of restaurant in the city.

Room Tip: This hotel is not about view but it is located in the heart of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Regina Barcelona, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Sir,

First of all I want to thank you for your post about our Hotel Regina Barcelona.

Thank you so much for your comments about our breakfast, it is a service very important to us, where you can find all kinds of fresh fruit, fresh juice, coffee, homemade cakes, pastries, ham, sausages, cheese, etc...

We hope you have enjoyed your stay in Barcelona and if you ever decide to return to the city, it will be a pleasure to accommodate you again, please contact me directly at mbanon@grhoteles.com and we will do all our best to make your new stay an unforgettable period.

Kind regards,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    369
    143
    51
    12
See reviews for
247
355
42
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

i had no room in my habitual one so, i came to the Regina.
it is an old hotel, small and complicated rooms and the price - around 100€
the 2nd elevator didn't work so - very busy to go up and down... not the best option

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Regina Barcelona, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Sir,

I want to thank you very much for the dedicated time to write a comment about our Hotel Regina Barcelona.

Regarding the lift, it is a pleasure to inform you that we have been working on one of them in order to improve our service and to make the arrival to the room much more quickly and conveniently. Since one week ago, the two elevators are now fully operational.

We value your comments that small room as the Hotel Regina, as a historic building, we have all kind of rooms, but please, when you decide to return to Barcelona, do not hesitate to contact me directly at mbanon@grhoteles.com , I personally will manage your booking.

Best Regards,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Despite the location (very close to Las Ramblas, the most tourist place in Barcelona) this hotel doesn't worth 4 stars in Barcelona, nor in any city in the world. Rooms are very small and dark, my window was a joke, and the bathroom was impossible to be in without feeling claustrophobia. Not a place I would recommend to stay. Breakfast was awful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Regina Barcelona, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you so much for your comments on Regina Hotel Barcelona despite not being good.

Regarding the rooms, I would like to inform you that the Hotel Regina have many kinds of rooms from single to family rooms for 4 people, I regret a lot if we assign the room was not to your liking.

I see in your comment that the breakfast was not to your liking. Our breakfast includes everything from fruit and fresh pastries, homemade daily cakes, cereals, yogurts, nuts, various types of breads, fresh orange juice etc. ... I would appreciate it if you can write an email to mbanon@grhoteles.com saying what you would like have preferred to find in our breakfast.

Thank you so much for your feedback, we will take care to this details.

Best Regards,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed here for 6 nights in December and was pleased with the location overall. It was close enough to the ramblas but not in the heart of it which suits me perfectly. I was not impressed with my room initially as it was very small and noisy plus the shower area didn't feel clean. I feel like I could hear the metro trains at night plus noise from the corridor and slamming of other room doors etc. The breakfast was very good. It was also great of them to provide bathrobes but I kind of wished there were slippers as well as the non carpeted floor was rather cold. Didn't travel with slippers as I was going in winter.....

Room Tip: - if you are a light sleeper suggest you bring ear plugs - slippers will come in handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Regina Barcelona, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Sir,

First of all I want to thank you for the time you spent to share your comments on our Hotel Regina Barcelona.
The location of our hotel is very centrally located within walking distance to all public transport in the city and all the tourist and shopping area.
Sorry that the room did not seem big enough, in a future stay please contact me directly at mbanon@grhoteles.com and will be happy to assign you a larger room. Concerning the slippers, it is a pleasure to inform you that we already have shoes for all our rooms, whether standards or higher.

Again, many thanks for your post, I am at your disposal for anything you might need from Barcelona.

Regards,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, the room was slightly cramped but the bathroom was good. It was centrally located with great access to lots of places. The tour bus stop was walking distance from us. The staff were super friendly, however rooms were a bit noisy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Regina Barcelona, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your comments about our Hotel Regina in Barcelona.

As you said the location of our hotel is centrally located, just one minute walk from Plaza de Catalunya and Las Ramblas and next to all public transport in the city, including the Aerobus.

I apologize if you feel that your room was noisy, however, if you decide to come back to Barcelona, please contact me directly at mbanon@grhoteles.com i will be happy to personally handle your reservation and assign you a very quiet room.


Best regards,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

2 mins walk from areo bus stop, cozy and clean room but not very spacy. Toilet is above standard. Easy access to internet with stable wifi in the room. Very friendly staff even during the night shift. It is a pity that we only stay here for one night and have to leave for Madrid today.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Regina Barcelona, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear sir,

First of all I would like to thank you for such a positive comment about our Hotel Regina in Barcelona and our facilities.
I will extend your comments to our night staff, I am glad that you felt confortable in our hotel unless you stayed with us only one night. But if you choose to come back some another time to Barcelona, it will be a pleasure to personally take care of your reservation,you can contact me mbanon@grhoteles.com

Regards,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights into the new year the hotel is in a central location and you can get everywhere in the city as is in a central point. The staff are helpful and always on hand. I would recommend that people stay here- singles, friends and families - it should be stated on the first day randomly in the lobby we did see a cockroach but we informed the hotel and they got rid of this but we did not see another one anywhere.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Regina Barcelona, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Sir,

First of all I want to thank you the dedicated time to write a comment about our Hotel Regina Barcelona.

Thank you so much for recommending our hotel, our hotel has rooms of all types, from single to family rooms for 4 people.

Do not hesitate to contact me directly at mbanon@grhoteles.com if you decide to return to Barcelona, ​​it will be a pleasure to personally handle your reservation.

Best Regards,


Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Regina Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina Barcelona

Address: C/ Bergara, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#124 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#154 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#165 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regina Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical 4 stars hotel of Barcelona, since 1917, perfectly situated in the very center of the city (Catalunya Square and Las Ramblas at 100 meters). The hotel has been entirely refurbished in 2007 withe noble materials and design furniture, respecting its story and introducing all the modern services expected. Hotel Regina has diferent types of room from Standards to Family rooms up to 4 people. Large breakfast room with intercontinental buffet. Free high speed wifi in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Regina Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Regina Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.