We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally Located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Regina Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Regina Barcelona to your Saves list
Hotel Regina Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Bergara, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Centrally Located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, the room was slightly cramped but the bathroom was good. It was centrally located with great access to lots of places. The tour bus stop was walking distance from us. The staff were super friendly, however rooms were a bit noisy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Regina Barcelona, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your comments about our Hotel Regina in Barcelona.

As you said the location of our hotel is centrally located, just one minute walk from Plaza de Catalunya and Las Ramblas and next to all public transport in the city, including the Aerobus.

I apologize if you feel that your room was noisy, however, if you decide to come back to Barcelona, please contact me directly at mbanon@grhoteles.com i will be happy to personally handle your reservation and assign you a very quiet room.


Best regards,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    369
    143
    51
    12
See reviews for
247
355
42
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

2 mins walk from areo bus stop, cozy and clean room but not very spacy. Toilet is above standard. Easy access to internet with stable wifi in the room. Very friendly staff even during the night shift. It is a pity that we only stay here for one night and have to leave for Madrid today.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Regina Barcelona, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear sir,

First of all I would like to thank you for such a positive comment about our Hotel Regina in Barcelona and our facilities.
I will extend your comments to our night staff, I am glad that you felt confortable in our hotel unless you stayed with us only one night. But if you choose to come back some another time to Barcelona, it will be a pleasure to personally take care of your reservation,you can contact me mbanon@grhoteles.com

Regards,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights into the new year the hotel is in a central location and you can get everywhere in the city as is in a central point. The staff are helpful and always on hand. I would recommend that people stay here- singles, friends and families - it should be stated on the first day randomly in the lobby we did see a cockroach but we informed the hotel and they got rid of this but we did not see another one anywhere.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Regina Barcelona, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Sir,

First of all I want to thank you the dedicated time to write a comment about our Hotel Regina Barcelona.

Thank you so much for recommending our hotel, our hotel has rooms of all types, from single to family rooms for 4 people.

Do not hesitate to contact me directly at mbanon@grhoteles.com if you decide to return to Barcelona, ​​it will be a pleasure to personally handle your reservation.

Best Regards,


Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

From Aeroport de Barcelona-El Prat, one can take the Aerobus that will stop in Plaça Catalunya and from there one can reach this hotel by walking in under 2 minutes.

Overall the hotel was decently okay. It's conveniently located with great access to public transportation and walking tours.

The room that I got was acceptable but in general it was dusty. I can easily see the dust move and fly around every time I move something.

The room was not soundproofed. One can easily hear the noise and traffic outside the window as well as the sound of my next door neighbour and irritatingly the sound from the pipe especially when the wind blows hard in the middle of the night. Another irritating problem that I had with my room is that, I cannot turn off all lights and watch TV. When I tried to turn the lights off the TV has to go off with it.

As for TV channels it has several local and international broadcast. Free wi-fi access in my room was fast and stable.

As for the breakfast buffet they serve typical continental breakfast but during my 7-day stay in this hotel, I got bored with the same predictable food. All the food that they served were the same and not even a slight change or additional treat or surprise for the weekend.

Lastly, be prepared to pay extra for the tourist tax when you check out. If you have booked and paid the whole amount for your stay in a separate website, make sure to read if the tourist tax is included in you payment or not.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Regina Barcelona, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Sir,

First of all I would like to thank you for the time you spent to write your review of our Hotel Regina Barcelona.

I apologize for all the inconveniences that you had during your stay in our hotel. I would ask if you can write me at mbanon@grhoteles.com your room number in order to solve these problems one by one.

Regarding the city tax never can go included in the rate, it is 1.21 euros per person, up to a maximum of 7 nights.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me if you decide to come back to our city, I know this has not been an excellent stay but we will do everything possible if you give us a second chance to change your perception.

Sincerely,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaarina, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel is located perfectly near Plaza Catalonia and easy access to aerobuss, metro and Rambla. So if that is all you need, you are in luck. Regina has nice features but it is not a luxury hotel. With this price it is ok though. Not full stars because of: would need more soundproof on doors and walls, bathroom renewal, better beds as a whole, some variation in breakfast and proper coffee! Nice design overall and good service. Perfect location and all around ok hotel for this price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Regina Barcelona, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Sirs,

First of all I would like to thank you for the review on our Hotel Regina Barcelona.

Thank you so much for your words, they are going to help us to improve those points that you would appreciate in a future stay, including soundproofing, choice of breakfasts for longer stays and beds, although it is something that we always have special care. If you tell me your room number I will make a detailed inspection.

You can contact me mbanon@grhoteles.com for anything you might need.


Kind regards,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Scottsdale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Aftre a 12-day cruise, our first land nights were in Barcelona. We picked the perfect location, at Catalunya Square. The Hotel Regina was a wonderful choice, Our room in the back, #516, was very large with a nice view of the street life. Our travel companions had a slightly smaller room in the front. Both rooms were spotless with modern, clean bathrooms. The lobby, downstairs bar and breakfast rooms were well-decorated and spacious, The hotel staff was courteous and very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 16 (316, 516, etc) seem to be the larger ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Regina Barcelona, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Sirs;

Thank you so much for writing a review about our Hotel Regina Barcelona.
It is a pleasure to read that your stay at our hotel was very satisfactory and that you liked the room we assign to you.
Thanks for your comments regarding the courtesy of our staff, without them we could not receive such positive comments like yours.

If in the future you decide to return to Barcelona, I ​​will be happy to personally handle your reservation, please contact me for whatever you need to mbanon@grhoteles.com


Kind regards,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

THis hotel was a perfect location for visiting Barcelona. It was very central and only minutes from where the airport bus drops you. Tourist info is right by where they stop which is perfect and the underground is again right by the hotel. The hotel stated thats its a four star but I would say its a very good 3 star as in most european hotels!! The service from reception was impeccable especially from the young staff and equally so the breakfast waiting staff. Breakfast wasnt bad at all for a continental breakfast and this is from a welshman whos loves his fry ups!!!! The room we had was basic but clean and maybe this was because we insisted on a smoking room so maybe we didnt get the best of rooms which we totally understand. All in all a very good hotel. Just a footnote dont use the elavotor on the left for the first time when youve had a bit to much to drink as it is very scary because the door looks like a wall and you feel like you cant get back outl!!!!! But im sure its perfectly safe as we was to scared to use it again!!

Room Tip: Our rooms was on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Regina Barcelona, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Lord;

I want to thank you the for writting a comment about our Hotel Regina Barcelona.
I am pleased to read that you felt very well attended by our staff and that the standards of our breakfast were good.

Referring to the elevator on the left, is a pleasure to inform you that in less than five days it will finish the change and arrangement, we are working day after day to offer better facilities and facilities to our guests.

If you decide to return to Barcelona in the future, do not hesitate to contact me mbanon@grhoteles.com , it will be a pleasure personally handle your reservation and despite requesting a smoking room, I'll assign the best smoking room available.

Regards,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Regina Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina Barcelona

Address: C/ Bergara, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#124 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#154 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#165 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regina Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical 4 stars hotel of Barcelona, since 1917, perfectly situated in the very center of the city (Catalunya Square and Las Ramblas at 100 meters). The hotel has been entirely refurbished in 2007 withe noble materials and design furniture, respecting its story and introducing all the modern services expected. Hotel Regina has diferent types of room from Standards to Family rooms up to 4 people. Large breakfast room with intercontinental buffet. Free high speed wifi in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Regina Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Regina Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.