We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Acta Splendid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Acta Splendid to your Saves list
Hotel Acta Splendid
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Muntaner 2, 08011 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Excellent service and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The people, service and location were excellent. There is easy access to public transportation to any part of the city. The rooms are very clean and quiet. Everyone was very helpful and accomodating to us.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    202
    62
    19
    9
See reviews for
69
162
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Overall, the Hotel Splendid stay was excellent value for the money. The room was neat, clean and well maintained. The buffet breakfast was also very good with a wide variety of choices and very pleasant and friendly staff. Highly recommended!

Only one complaint and possibly just an oversight at that. We purchased the Barcelona Red Bus Tour tickets from the hotel. When we presented these to the bus tour operator she would not accept them as they had not been stamped with the hotel authorization. We had to the tour office to get them to phone our hotel and to authorize that our tickets were valid. This was just a minor annoyance but also just a reminder to the hotel to do the requested stamping when issuing the tour tickets.

Great place.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Me & my husband stayed in this hotel for 4nights at the start of our honeymoon, before taking a week cruise with Norwegian Cruise Line from 30th July -3rd Aug. We could not fault this hotel, fantastic location, clean hotel, great free wifi service, we had a spacious room & bathroom with comfortable bed at the front of the hotel.

Staff were available in reception 24/7, very welcoming & helpful. The hotel gave us a bottle of champagne as a gift for our honeymoon which was much appreciated by us!!

We would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to explore Barcelona and will definitely stay here again, thanks Acta Splendid!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

The hotel is located in a good quite spot a few minutes from the center.
The staff is very kind and speaks english very well.
There is also a computer for personal use and they also setup a special mail box where you can send anything you need printed.
The WIFI works well and there is a good reception in the rooms.

We stayed there a total of 11 days (we liked it so much we extended our stay) and really liked it.

p.s.
try out the restaurant across the street (7 sins) it is very good.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Stayed 5 nights in this excellent hotel. Hotel is perfectly placed for exploring Barcelona, 7 minutes walk to Rambla and Cataluna railway station, comfortable, quiet, with pleasant efficient staff, great buffet breakfast. Rooms are spacious, (as well as bathroom) We had a very comfortable stay

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Rooms are not large but adequate. Beds comfortable, very good breakfast included for extra 8 Euro PP. Sheets and towels were clean and good quality. Good 3 Star Hotel well situated for exploring the City. Walking distance of about 10 minutes from La Ramble, and about 15 min to heart of historical city Center and markets. 30 minutes walk to La Famiglia Cathedral and close to other Sites designed by Gaudi. The Hotel is surrounded by Tapas Bars and restaurants. The Hop on - hop off city tour busses are about a 5 minute walk in Placa Catalunya.

Room Tip: Some traffic noise street side but not enough to be troublesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We stayed here for a week. There was a person at reception 24/7 who would open the door. This made us feel safe. The staff was extremely polite. For a 3 star hotel it was very cozy and clean. I would have thought that it was 4 star. The rooms were always clean, very spacious and quite new.The internet in the rooms was fast. Very good location: a 1 minute walk to the subway and 5 minute walk to Placa Catalunya. The area is clean and safe also. However the plumbing made a lot of noise; we could hear the people next door every time they went to the toilet or had a shower. When cleaning our room, the window was left open for the fresh air to come into the room. However outside that window was a common area and anyone inside the hotel had access to that area and could enter out room. We asked the hotel to keep the windows closed from then on and they did so. The breakfast was overpriced for what is was and we went to cafeterias around the area and ate well for much less. A day before our departure we were told that they called call us a taxi at any point to take us directly to the airport; all they needed was a 10 minute notice. The day of travel, the police started to close the hotel road off . The hotel had no idea why and what was going on and refused to call for a taxi with the idea that if this road was closed, then all roads were closed. We had to run with our suitcases 3-4 blocks north to find a taxi and we eventually found one stopped at the traffic lights. Some roads were closed off like the hotel had said because there was going to be a local marathon. However, the hotel should have known this and informed its guests, considering they knew that we had asked for a taxi the day before.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Acta Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acta Splendid

Address: Calle Muntaner 2, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#176 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acta Splendid 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acta Splendid Hotel is a three star hotel in Barcelona ideal for a few days visiting the city, is located in the Eixample district, allowing you to walk to the center in a few minutes. It has 40 rooms that feature soft and modern decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Acta Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acta Splendid Barcelona
Hotel Acta Splendid Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Acta Splendid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.