We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and educational!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Espai Boisa - Barcelona Cooking School

Espai Boisa - Barcelona Cooking School
Passatge de Lluis Pellicer, 8, 08036 Barcelona, Spain
0034 93 192 60 21
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Espai Boisà is the first “Cooking School – Restaurant” in Barcelona that offers you a fully hands-on experience, preparing and tasting exquisite dishes from Catalan Cuisines and various other cuisines around the World, while sharing our cultural habits around food. We promote Organic, Seasonal ingredients, sourced by Local producers in Rural Barcelona. This is our philosophy and we would like to share it with you. Our Cooking Classes are designed to ensure you can reproduce all culinary techniques at home. Under the coaching of our professional chef, participants will be divided in groups of maximum 4, where you will be fully involved in preparing all recipes on the menu including your own paella. We are equally specialized in organizing and hosting private celebrations, company events, and team building activities, all based around cooking activities and food. Whether you´re visiting or living in Barcelona, we would love to welcome you to an authentic, fun and dynamic experience, in an off the beaten track gastronomic space.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun and educational!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Chef Alejandra was a great teacher. We made a variety of different foods and,as a result, had a fantastic meal! I feel confident I can recreate most of our lunch. Thank Espai Boisa!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Quite a Trip Highlight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

A refreshing and different way to learn the Spanish culture was taking a cooking class. The owners are darling, the place is very nice and the chef was terrific! Chef Alejandra was very warm, personable and knowledgeable while being firm. She was able to keep our drinking and chatty group of 16 on track while providing much levity. It was easy to follow her instructions and the food we made was authentic Spanish and tasty (plus all ingredients were organic)! There were a few people who had food allergies and she was able to make accommodations to make sure they were taken care of. There were also 2 assistants who constantly kept refilling our water and wine glasses without asking. After making the dinner, we sat in the dining room at one large table being served what we had made. It was quite fun seeing the excitement of those who don't normally cook, taste what they had helped prepare. Such delight and accomplishment! I would recommend Espai Boisa for both the beginner and the seasoned cook. An excellent bang for the buck!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A fun, interesting & delicious break in tourist-packed city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was my second class at Espai Boisa and it was even more delightful than the first (if that's possible). I made the reservations for the group of us that were going, and was concerned that some of my friends' food preferences and allergies might be a problem. Not at all! Claudia assured me there would be no problem and, sure enough, they were able to alter the menu to meet all of the needs and still provide an interesting, authentic Spanish meal.

The school's commitment to locally sourced and organic (when possible) foods and wines is terrific -- every ingredient was practically "just picked" fresh! Chef Alejandra is a culinary force of nature who explains things clearly, has a great sense of humor and is also able to keep a group on task -- which is no easy feat.

Pep pours wines from small, boutique wineries and gave interesting insights into what we were sipping (well, drinking -- they were SO good!).

In advance, we had told the few non-cooks in the group that they could relax it the sitting room with a drink and a book...but, everyone was having so much fun that they were right there with us learning, cooking, laughing, and having fun.

Espai Boisa is such a nice, interesting, intimate break from the tourist-packed La Rambla or La Segrada Familiia that it is an off-the-beaten-path experience that is not to be missed while in Barcelona.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Friendly and very professional from start to finish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Cooking school at Espai Boisa was certainly one of the most enjoyable and memorable experiences during our 10 days in Barcelona. Every aspect of the class was fantastic but what I found most impressive was the staff. Our chef, Alejandra, really knows her stuff and knows how to make participants feel comfortable regardless of their cooking ability. That was important as my wife is an experienced and avid cook while I am purely a novice. Alejandra and the rest of the staff combine just the right blend of professionalism, passion about what they do, and focus on ensuring that participants get the most out of the experience.

I won’t spend time repeating positive comments by others about Espai Boisa. However, I will say the strawberry gazpacho was one of the best gazpacho’s I’ve ever had and I’ve eaten a lot of gazpacho. The “menu” varies seasonally based on fruits and vegetables that are available locally; May is strawberry season in Catalonia so Alejandra did a bit of improvising from what you might expect at other times of the year. The more you appreciate traditional food from Catalonia, the more you will appreciate Espai Boisa. We were also very impressed with the wines. We tried a white and a red from small, local wineries. At Espai Boisa, the emphasis is always on fresh, local, and organic ingredients. If you like to cook and eat food that fits in this category, you will love Espai Boisa.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“One highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

On highlight of our trip was the cooking school we had as a group at the ESPAI BOISA. The space is divided into three sections: the waiting room also a salon, the kitchen and the dining room, beautiful and comfy.
All the tools that we worked with in the kitchen felt like new. We had a wonderful time.
All ingredients were fresh including fruits that perharps were not ripe enough, but this is a minor detail. This place is where we prepared the best paella or our 2 week stay in Barcelona! meaning the traditional paella of Catalonia (the finished color is brown not yellow).
Hands out with recipes were provided.
We cooked about 5 or 6 different tapas with a paella.
There was one recipe I did not like which was the gaspacho made with strawberries. Straberries were not ripe enough for my tastes. This, I believe is one thing you can negotiate with the cooking chef before you booked with them.
If you go, you may also want to negotiate the quality of the wine that is provided. Ours was OK except with this quality of food why not go for better wines.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espai Boisa - Barcelona Cooking School also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Espai Boisa - Barcelona Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Espai Boisa - Barcelona Cooking School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.