We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sightseeing outside the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Afternoon in Montserrat

Afternoon in Montserrat
| Plaça de Catalunya, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))
932 853 832
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$60*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Montserrat offers a rich and varied landscape: a unique natural park, one of Spain's foremost museums and the site of the shrine dedicated to the Virgin of Montserrat, a Black Madonna.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sightseeing outside the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We enjoy an adventure which includes a good portion of exercise. This was for us a great adventure. Train rides, mountain terrain, ancient monastery and more.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,011
    312
    69
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tampa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We took the second train to the Monserrat stop and arrived close to 10:30 am. We spent the whole day on the mountain and did not use a tour company. The weather was a bit warmer than in the city. The path to St. Joan is rocky and steep in parts. Though I did see ladies in heels and dresses walking parts of the path. The boys' choir is off until August and the line to see the patron saint was long. We waited approximately an hour to view it for about 30 secs. Worth the wait to see an over 800 year piece of art work.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Do yourself a Favour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We booked our Montserrat Tour with Julia Tours. What a beautiful place, so peaceful & picturesque. would highly recommend a visit to this Monastery. The tour takes about 5 hours & you do get plenty of time to wander by yourself around the monastery. You can take the Funicular even higher up the mountain once at the monastery.There are lovely nature trails to walk on & or you can line up for hours to touch & speak to the Black Madonna for a very short time. Should you choose to to visit the Black Madonna, go as early as you can. By 10am the line was almost 2 hours long. There are amazing views from the monastery which is at 1,236 mtrs above sea level. A most relaxing visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santee, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Monserrat - don't miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is a truly amazing place! We took a tour two other couples, with a private driver, in a small van. Good choice! Plan to spend the day as the drive is outside of Barcelona. Don't miss the vendors selling homemade goods. We bought some cheese, took a 10 day cruise and the cheese did well. The funicular is so worth the trip. Don't be afraid!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We traveled to Montserrat with a car and driver which made it very easy to get there. Upon arrival, we visited the monastery which is incredible! We then started on one of the guided walks but ended up climbing almost to the too of the mountain which offered magnificent scenery. We could have taken the funicular train but we like to walk. It was a great trip for half a day.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afternoon in Montserrat also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Afternoon in Montserrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afternoon in Montserrat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.