We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your camera, the view is stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afternoon in Montserrat

Afternoon in Montserrat
| Plaça de Catalunya, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
932 853 832
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$66*
and up
Ranked #4 of 288 Attractions in Barcelona
Type: Canyons, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Montserrat offers a rich and varied landscape: a unique natural park, one of Spain's foremost museums and the site of the shrine dedicated to the Virgin of Montserrat, a Black Madonna.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bring your camera, the view is stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Bring your camera, the view is stunning. One of the best attractions when going out to Barcelona is taking this trip outside of Barcelona to visit this amazing site. I would even recommend taking longer to visit if you intend to explore the entire place.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    925
    291
    63
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stony Brook, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Afternoon in Monsterrat was perfect especially after the Palm Sunday mass at La Sagrada Familia at noon. We had just enough time to grab a quick bite after the mass to get to the travel agency office where the tour met at 3pm. Breathtaking architecture at the monastery as well as street vendors and restaurants and gift shops within the compounds. I wish we could have heard the boys' choir as their schedule is unknown it seems and they usually sing at 1pm if they are there. Long line to see the black Madonna but not too bad...got the chance to say a small prayer after. Gorgeous main church. Love everything about Barcelona. Wished we would have had more time as we were rushed to be back to the bus on time. We used Julia travel as referred to by the hotel concierge and they were excellent...honestly, we also took a bus tour with another tour company to Montjuic and the narrative on the bus rides were boring, we all fell asleep but the destination was worth it....

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Montserrat visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Enjoyed the locale, A certain degree of fitness required to take the walk
Tip : Buy your train ticket for Aeri cable if you intend to use the cable car

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Rain killed ther view but visit was still very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Rained on and off and the clouds covered the top of the mountain. But we got there early before the tours and the school kids and had a great look at the basilica and the sanctuary. Very beautiful. Sun would have made it even better. The cable car and cog view would have been zero so drove and paid the 6 Euro parking fee.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Get on the train early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Well worth a visit but get to the train early as they are very small and crowded and you may have to stand for the hour's trip.Basilica is magnificent but I would like to see a little more reverence from the visitors.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afternoon in Montserrat also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Afternoon in Montserrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afternoon in Montserrat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.