We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now I understand churros” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Churreria Layetana

Churreria Layetana
Via Laietana 46, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
+34 932 68 12 63
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #256 of 6,406 Restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Dessert, Spanish, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Churro Laietana is located in Old Town, between the Barrio de Santa Caterina and the Gothic Quarter in the heart of Barcelona, ​​where you can enjoy comiendo y churros con chocolate batons otras between varieties . Te forward !
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Now I understand churros”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I never understood churros, nor thick hot chocolate before this experience. This made it all fall into place. Fresh crispy churros dipped into hot, thick but not overly sweet chocolate drink and I was hooked. Still dreaming about it. Don't expect a fancy setting, just a great spot without frills.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    10
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic churros”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Part of my mission during my visit to Barcelona was to chow down on some churros. I came across Churreria Laietana; a heaven-sent, hole-in-the-wall dive on the prominent Via Laietana. The staff were very friendly despite our language barriers. The kindly lady told me the price in Spanish. I helplessly started to fish out some Euros,and then she wrote down the price on a napkin and held it up to me.

I could tell this was an authentic place. Wizened old men, that seemed like regulars came in and ordered the fried doughy sticks of goodness. After I polished off the churros I shamelessly scooped up the remaining melted chocolate with my spoon. That’s a testament to how delicious it was.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The best thing about Barcelona!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This place is incredible. They seem to only cook different varieties of churro and hot drinks, which they churn out all day. There are just two people working in this nondescript churreria. I don't think they speak English, and certainly most of the people in their spoke Spanish. Hunt this place down, it is amazing, after one serve you won't want to stop.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic, tiny churro shop.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Easy to miss little shop that always has a few locals inside. Amazingly good churros for next to nothing. The hot chocolate is incredible too.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious tiny establishment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Stumbled upon this little churreria by accident and decided to go in. The churros con chocolate are very fresh and absolutely delicious. Very inexpensive too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Churreria Layetana also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Churreria Layetana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Churreria Layetana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.