We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel One Paralelo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel One Paralelo to your Saves list
Hostel One Paralelo
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Calle Salva 62, Barcelona, Spain (Montjuic)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at Hostel One towards the end of a very long backpacking trip through Europe. It was a welcome relief to feel so at home at Hostel One. The staff are super friendly (I got a hug as I came through the door, late at night tired and ready for a break), it's in a pretty easy access place and the facilities are pretty good for a hostel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    20
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
9
74
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

It was such a great stay and the staff are all wonnderful. They make you feel cozy the momment you step in. Relax in the terrace and chill out with the staff and fellow travellers who seemed like long lost friends, step in to the jaccuzzi if you like and a nice dinner sharing with everyone else at the hostel. It was particularly delightful for solo traveller like me. The location was great too, close to La Rambla but in a quite neighbourhood closeby.
The restroom was a bit too small for me but everything else was great. Its a perfect place to meet interesting people and I would definately recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Barcelona. .. Cheers

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Would highly recommend this hostil to anyone traveling to Barcelona. The great staff makes all the difference, they make great a great dinner, have a nice breakfast waiting for you when you get up. The staff will also show the residences a night out. Any time i go travelling, i will look to stay at a hostil1 because of the great experiences here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Everyone is extremely friendly especially the staff. Cynthia was so sweet even to the day we leave. The neighborhood is great! It's not shady nor is it extremely touristy. Yet, everyone speaks enough English. The free dinners are great because it allows you to meet people and saved us a bunch of money. The hostel also organizes pub crawls. It's definitely a party hostel so if that's not your thing, avoid it. The rooms can be a bigger given the price we paid for the hostel, but that's seriously our only complaint. Other than that, it was the best hostel we stayed at during our trip in Europe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My friend and I stayed here when we backpacked through Spain, Italy, and Greece. I would definitely say that this was one of our most favorite hostels. Of all the hostels we stayed at, I would say that the staff was most helpful here. They will literally sit down with you and help you plan and book activities and make your trip amazing! There is a free dinner each evening that brings everyone together and really helps you to meet people. Everyone will do pub crawls and go clubbing each evening. during the day there are so many sites to see and the metro is very convenient. We had a great location and it was easy to navigate the city. It was clean and I would definitely stay here. It is a party hostel though (people party til 7 am) so bring earplugs and an eyemask if you want to actually sleep!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Single traveller in my 30s, first hostel stay in a long time and glad it was here! Warm welcome, relaxed vibe, was given a detailed run down of the city by Gonzalo over a cuppa and felt instantly comfortable.

Pluses: clean, very friendly, laid back (some ppl brought a dog and even that was accommodated for), modern bathrooms, well equipped eg soap in bathrooms, 3 free computers, excellent wireless coverage on EVERY floor, food both breakfast and dinner available for a donation if you're on a tight budget or want to benefit from the communal atmosphere. Very secure, security code to enter the building so no stressing about lost keys.

Minuses: rooms rather stuffy so had to sleep with window open making it pretty light in the room, blocked toilet took a while to get fixed, jacuzzi NOT warm... Tho they are planning to fix it so hopefully that will change.

Tip: although directions were accurate and simple to follow, it's a much shorter journey (30 mins instead of about 90) from/to airport, to take Aerobus to Place Espanya (€5.60) then short walk to metro to take L3 line to Parallel and then follow directions as given by the hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was my favorite hostel out of my entire trip in Europe. The actual accommodations themselves aren't amazing (they're still great) but the staff and the atmosphere are the best you can find anywhere. Upon arrival, Nico (I think that's his name) brought me a cold drink and sat and talked to me for 15 minutes. He gave me a map, gave great advice about the city and was willing to help with anything I asked. Throughout my entire stay, staff would drop whatever they were doing to help me out. On top of that they were just fun and felt like another traveler staying at the hostel. They hung out with everyone and pushed everyone to be social and get together. They host dinner every night (which saves money) and they have tons of activities (pub crawls, tours,etc) that everyone in the hostel joins in on. There's also a jacuzzi which is always fun. By the end of my stay at this hostel, I seriously felt like I had been friends with everyone for years. It was such a blast.

The accommodations were great, roomy, and clean and we had no issues with anything. The showers are really really small though. Location is great - it's not really walking distance from the bigger sites but it's right next to the metro which is what you should use anyway. You shouldn't have any hesitations when booking this hostel, I promise you won't regret it.

*If you're looking for a quieter hostel this is not the place to stay. It's not a crazy party hostel but it's very very social so people will be coming in and out of your rooms late at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel One Paralelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel One Paralelo

Address: Calle Salva 62, Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel One Paralelo 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The relatively new Hostel One Paralelo opened in 2011 and has received very high ratings from our reviewers ever since. Our guests say the 'cool, friendly and family', with attentive, friendly staff and clean, new and comfortable beds. It's located near Paral·lel metro station, 'super close and convenient to the centre of Barcelona', within walking distance of Placa d'Espanya, La Rambla, Placa Reial and more. We like their free nightly dinners, made by the staff and designed to create a communal family atmosphere. Close Our custom-designed hostel features thick, comfy mattresses, instant and long-lasting 24hr hot water, bright rooms with windows, free Wi-Fi and computers where you can upload your memory cards. We have a fully-equipped kitchen at your disposal. Even better than that is our sunny patio with Jacuzzi and BBQ to rest and chill out from this crazy city. Our TV gets most sports events, from English premier league to NFL, plus a load of new movies. But what will make the difference is our staff - a mixture of residents and travellers with different backgrounds that are happy to help you sort out whatever you need. Between us we've got a maniacal attention to music, improvised Spanish- and Italian-style dinners, BBQs and crazy and innovative outdoor activities so you can discover our city from a new point of view. Feel at home far from home!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel One Paralelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel One Paralelo Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel One Paralelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.