We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fonda Espanya Restaurante

Fonda Espanya Restaurante
Sant Pau 9, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)
+34 935 50 00 10
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Fonda Espanya Restaurante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #398 of 6,910 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Raval
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful dining room , decent menu , fairly well executed Catalan cuisine . Set lunch was pricey (€26) but good quality food and service staff were excellent .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    103
    16
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were very disappointed with our meal at the Fonda Espanya restaurant. The dining room is absolutely beautiful but the food was way below our expectations. Our main meat course was served with just meat and sauce with no vegetables, salad or other accompaniments and there were no vegetables or salad with the whole meal. Presentation was also not of a modern standard. Such a shame.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great meal in a beautiful room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The dining room was designed by Montaner who also designed the not-to-be missed Palau de la Musica Catalana.
We had the set lunch menu of water, wine, appetizer, entree and dessert for 26 euros. Every dish was delicious. Our appetizers were cream of leek soup with scallop and a noodle dish in a cast iron pan that was tasty and a generous serving. Entrees were duck cooked perfectly and squid with grilled vegetables. We both chose chocolate souffle for dessert, which was a little undercooked.
We went early at 1:00 and had the room to ourselves. The locals didn't start coming in until 2:00-2:30. The service fell apart a little at the end when they got busy. It took forever to get our bill even though we politely asked for it in Spanish. So, I can't give them 5 stars. However, I still recommend eating there. It was a great dining experience.
Reservations can be easily done on-line.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Avoid this trap: worst meal in Spain”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This restaurant is advertsing heavily in tourist handouts. Don't go there. There is obviously not always a chef in the kitchen. I'll be more concrete: it is unlikely that someone Spanish or even European could prepare the junk food trash that we got supplied.

If you depend on tourists and one time guests it is clear that you don't care. Our barely touched plates were simply taken away without asking for comments! Because the staff know already.

OK, I'll spell it out for you:

1. Starter: calamares. Can it be easier? These were tough and raw, yes, uncooked in - of course - a soggy batter. They were cut coarsely. We tried two and found them inedible. No flavour at all. They were taken away, without comment

2. Starter: tuna with avocado. Again, can it be easier? We got a thin layer of avocado in a ring as usual topped by very coarsely cut tuna. Again flavourless. How dare you present a dish this way? And lend your name to it? Do you still know what is happening?

3. Main dish: Sea bass. A standard in most restaurants. But awful. Greasy and unappetising.
I quote:"from the Ala Carte menu. The fish was full of bones and very fatty, the skin was left on which was not very appetizing in appearance. Needless to say, my husband was not pleased with this selection." I can only confirm.

4. Main dish: pieces of goat (kid). There may have been small pieces of goat beneath the enormous amounts of breadcrumbs but we could not find them. After the soggy calamares (because the oil was not hot enough) now the oil was hot enough for deep frying. So the thick layer of breadcrumbs was thoroughly fried. Alas, this dish again was tasteless and we had to try only one piece of this spoilt dish to know. Again it went back.

So in fact most of our dishes went back practically untouched. This brought no surprise. The staff sure know plenty of simple places where to eat better.
It does not help getting people flooding the sites with so-called good reviews.
It is cheap but that was not what I was looking for. I was looking for quality and you cannot get that at Fonda Espanya.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Fonda Espanya Restaurante, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Fonda España as a good local cuisine restaurant .
I am very sorry to hear we did not reach your expectations due to the series of unfortunate incidents your encountered during your meal with us.
I take good note of your comments in order to improve service and facilities and prevent situations like the one you describe be repeated, but fortunately, most of our guests enjoy Fonda España for its special setting, service and quality of food.
I am at your disposal at nborras@hotelespanya.com to provide a private answer to a more than exceptional situation as you describe.
Looking forward to having another opportunity to demonstrate you the high standard of our services in Fonda España.
Yours cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“This Restaurant is a gem i am not even sure if i want to share.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have visited Barcelona more then 10 times and i have tried so many restaurants, but this one is the place where i always come back, it s just a sure value... The con about this restaurant is you have to wait around 10 minutes outside to get in, it s always packed and i find it ridiculous how it s the number 363 in Barcelona, i think it should be in the top 20... The food is tasty, the whole menu is !!!!! any tapas you pick, who ever you are with , you can go to this restaurant and you won't be disappointed. The price / value is just great, most dishes are under 10 euro, sangria 1 Liter is around 8 and it s delicious.... I literally tried the whole menu and i was never disappointed and i always leave happy... So you want to eat a very nice meal/ tapas in Barcelona, it s the best restaurant you can come across!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fonda Espanya Restaurante also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Fonda Espanya Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fonda Espanya Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.