We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go... now!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Pepita

La Pepita
C /Corsega 343, 08037 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)
+34 932384893
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 5,918 restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $20 - $65
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Eixample
Description: New concept of tapas, reinventing our spanish beloved pepito sandwich, feminizing it and using new ingredients under this same concept. Taking care of the traditional receipts, product´s season and tapas eating way. La Pepita is a place to come for an early aperitif, some beers and bravas, late lunch or dinner, at the marble bar or in the cozy small saloon. It is a familiar restaurant, where the value for money and treat is something we take care about.
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Go... now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Without a doubt the best meal in Barcelona. The wait was off-putting, with peeps packed in waiting for tables and the staff was literally under siege However, they never lost track of those waiting, made sure they had drinks and maneuvered around them in the packed space all the while smiling. Our wait was a half hour, our server suggested the sea bass and beef pepita and they unexpected flavor combinations blew us away. With the incredible service and timing of our plates you'd have thought we were the only diners in the restaurant. We're going back, but arriving earlier next time!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    617
    180
    67
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A MUST if in Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I cannot recommend this place enough. The food was incredibly delicious, and the service was excellent. We arrived a little before the rush, and waited about 30-40 minutes for a spot at the bar. The restaraunt is small and cozy, so don't expect lots of room to wait. Some people even had to wait outside (so bring a jacket if it's cold). If you wait up by the bar, ask for a drink and enjoy the company you are with. Once you are settled in, you will have completely forgotten about the time you spent waiting. The food was incredible. We tried 3 tapas and each ordered an entrée and finished our meal off with a dessert. The tapas were the best we have had in Barcelona.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“One of our favourites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We arrived without a reservation and the place was fully booked, however we were early enough to get a seat at the bar (around 6:40) which I highly recommend. They don't start serving food until 7.30 which gave us time for a few cheeky drinks. The service was awesome, staff were really cool and spoke good English which is always a bonus. Now for the food. It was simply amazing. Pretty much fine dining for cafe prices. Every single bit a food was awesome. Top 3 best meals in Europe along with Dinner by Heston in London and Katogi in Ios. Do yourself a favour in Barcelona and go there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This place is one of Barcelona's treasures. The atmosphere is delightful, the food was unbelievable and the owner makes you want to run away from home and live in La Pepita forever. Do yourself a favour, don't leave Barcelona without booking a spot here for dinner.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

A friend took us here when we visited Barcelona and we were blown away. Great vibe, great food. A delicious and memorable dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pepita also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Pepita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pepita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.