We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy little place for quick dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cornelia and Co.

Cornelia and Co.
Valencia, 225, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)
+34 932 72 39 56
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Cornelia and Co. is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,867 of 6,679 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $22 - $28
Cuisines: Organic, Mediterranean, Tapas, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Eixample
Description: Cornelia and Co is a lifestyle focused on authentic taste for elaborate handcrafted things, products of the land and sea with friendly environment, high quality gourmet products made with care, decorative items made of natural materials, recycled and fair trade. Our cuisine is influenced by the Mediterranean diet with organic meats, assorted rices, wild fish, fresh pasta and pizza made here daily for Vito (Puglia) and snacks, cooked everything Raquel our wonderful chef and do not forget to try our lustful desserts Along with our French baker Bernard.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Trendy little place for quick dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were going to go to Catalana Cerveseria for dinner but did not want to wait an hour for a table. So, we walked around the area and found this little trendy place for dinner. The menu has a little bit of everything, tapas, pasta & steak. We ordered a few tapas to share and the food was delicious but not exceptional. The restaurant does not offer highchair for my 16 months old daughter. Therefore, I had to hold her on my lap during the whole dinner. This place might not be fit for family with kids. The restaurant also sells food as well as kitchen stuffs. Service was average. Many locals were having dinner there and the atmosphere were causal but trendy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    116
    54
    35
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Youthful and trendy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

You don't bump into this place of a misstake as it's a bit off the usal routes used by tourists. We were recommended this place by the locals and it was such a good experience that we had to return here another day. The interior decoration is modern and trendy with a youthful touch which could be seen in the local crowd. The personell was also quite young but very prodessional and polite. The tapas was served on pieces of wood and ceramic tiles. The food both looked and tasted so good. We loved this place as it was an experience for all our sences. They also have a good selection of both local wines and around the world. They have a small delicatessen shop inside and you can also buy with you their good wines. They have a few tables outside by the buzy street if you just want a glass of wine or a quick lunch "passing by". Even their toilet was extraordinary.... You better make a reservation if you want to have a dinner in the night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenston, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious Little Discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

In the Eixampie area of Barcelona, past seductive patisseries and gourmet food shops is a restaurant worth seeking out. The atmosphere is modern Barcelona and the food amazing. Try the Fried Eggplant with Cane Honey or the Beef and Foie Gras Burger - they're fantastic!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Plenty To Fill You Picnic Basket With At Cornelia & Co.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Sometimes, when you are on your feet all day taking in the local sites and culture, even those on a culinary journey can’t help but look for a place to eat close to home. Such was the case with Cornelia & Co. – we were tired and wanted good food that was near our hotel. Good food might be an understatement here.

There is a neat, quirkiness about the restaurant. You can sit down and order food there. You can take it away (some refer to it as a deli). And they have a wall of different wines – so it is a wine shop to boot. I guess that's why they call it the Daily Picnic Store.

We gave the wine list a good looking over and our eyes caught an amazing bottle of red for a very reasonable price – a 2011 Alvaro Palacios Les Terrasses priorat. It was about 30 Euros a bottle. This is a wine with great structure and texture. It gets better as the bottle is open. And while it has some heft, it doesn’t overpower any of the food you order – or at least what we ordered. We were very happy from the get-go.

First course, as was the case at most restaurants in Barcelona, was pan de tomate. By now, we were starting to catch on how to rub our toast with garlic and tomato. Here, the tomato was ripened just perfectly and spread easily on the bread. Soul Mate was very pleased.

We started with a really tasty salmorejo cordoba gazpacho and cod croquettes. I usually prefer the chicken croquettes because cod can be strong . But not here. Perfect mixture of the fish and the creamy filling.

One of the more unusual dishes on the entire trip was one we had here and made our Barcelona All-Star team – lightly battered eggplant that was fried and then drizzled with honey. It wasn’t too sweet and not too crunchy. But packed with flavor.

We then had pulpo galliego on slices of roasted potatoes. Delicious dish as well. We don’t typically have dessert unless something really catches our eyes. It did – a Marie Antoinette cake with chocolate and raspberry.

We found a number of restaurants that are keepers ripe for a return visit – this is one of them. It has great food, fantastic wine, a comfortable setting, helpful wait-staff. And reasonable on the cost front.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A great deli / restaurant. We had a variety of tapas, which was great - my favourite was the octopus. The service was friendly and attentive, though it wasn't very busy when we went.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cornelia and Co. also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Cornelia and Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornelia and Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.