We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Alma Barcelona to your Saves list
Alma Barcelona
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Great Neck, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

What can you say that hasn't been already said? Superior in every way. Rooms are modern and new. Separate toilet area. Dark at night. Great bed. Lots of electrical outlets. Wifi A-okay, fast. More storage space than you probably have at home. Big issue: insufficient lighting over sink for shaving or make-up. Surprising because it seems designers thought of everything. Beautiful property. Nice breakfast area and patio lounge. Outstanding service from employees. Special shout-out to Javier and Sarray who arranged dinners, made suggestions, took care of laundry problem and even took us for a walk to find a train station. Location could not be better--on main boulevard, Passeig de Gracia, and near to everything, either on foot or via metro. We stayed in Room 610, a grand deluxe on top floor with view of La Pedrera roof. Didn't eat breakfast at hotel, many coffee-croissant places within 5 minute walk, so why spend 25E? Excepting Paris, which is in a class of its own, Barcelona is nicest city in Europe. It has everything you'd want: nice people, beaches, great weather, food and architecture. A great walking city. Safe and clean. When we return it will be to the Alma Barcelona.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    174
    40
    9
    5
See reviews for
162
643
43
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tranby
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nice and quiet hotel with pleasant and service minded staff. An outdoor restaurant in nice Spanish surroundings. The air-conditioning of our room and indoor areas were excellent. A nice place to come back to after sightseeing in Barcelona.

Room Tip: The hotel is facing a quiet street. No traffic during night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A fantastic hotel located perfectly in the city. Staff were brilliant both friendly and efficient. Didn't eat at the hotel but had drinks in the garden and on the roof top terrace. The bed rooms are spacious, quiet, clean and well stocked with good quality toiletries and drinks in the complimentary minibar. Excellent experience would definitely return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The location is superb and the quality of the hotel and service provided by the staff was faultless. We did not eat any meals at the hotel but there are many good bars and restaurants within a short stroll. The room was quiet and the shady garden was an oasis of quiet. The beds were very comfortable and the bedroom and bathroom were a great size. The complimentary minibar was a bonus. The staff on reception could not have been more friendly or helpful.I would definitely recommend this hotel and would look nowhere else to stay if I return to Barcelona.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel. We stayed in a deluxe double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Roof top bar makes this hotel - Amazing views at night with excellent staff and perfect cocktails. An ideal hotel for romantic break with comfortable rooms with interesting design. The breakfasts are expensive for a limited , albeit good quality , selection.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Let's start off with the positive things. Great location to get around the city by foot or sightseeing bus. (hop on hop off bus is 2 blocks away, get your ticket at the hotel for euro 24) The hotel really nice boutique style, very lovely and competent, helpful staff. The interior modern, minimalist, dimmed lights (which I actually love). Awesome roof deck with view of the Gaudi buildings terrace 2 blocks away. Also a very nice courtyard terrace for breakfast or dinner. The rooms are nice and spacious for a city hotel, also minimalisic interior. Beds are comfortable and good size. View into the courtyard in our room. Good closet space, big mirror in hallway. Complimentary mini bar with water, juice and beer. As much as I like the seperate toilet with an extra sliding door to seperate it from the bedroom, in my opinion a little sink is missing. (also a toilet brush is missing) The bathroom itsself good size, big shower and tub and a double sink. Huge drawback is the missing door in the bathroom. As much as I love the person I share my room with, I do appreciate my bathroom privacy. Also if the other person is sleeping you have to basically wake them by switching on the light in the bathoom to wash your hands or get ready. Not cool. But lovely bathroom products, even though a vanity kit was missing. Some spots in the room remained very dusty throughout the stay. (my suitcase looked like I stored it in a never used attic) They have a small gym, a sauna, a hamam and an indoor pool. When we visited the spa a maintenance guy was cleaning and working on the door in front of the glass doored sauna so I immediately withdraw the thought of a relaxing saune stay. Overall great place to stay in Barcelona and if they would step up the game, dust the rooms properly and add a bathroom door and a sink in the toilet I would surely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Everything is great about this place. Staff is so very helpful, serviceminded and has great knowledge of the city. Fingerprint access to rooms was very convenient. Rooftop had just been opened when we stayed at the hotel, it was super.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.