We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Antwerp
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at Alma Barcelona from the 29th of December till the 1st of January 2013.
It is a very modern hotel but with a warm feeling. The receptionists do everything to let you feel at home from the first moment you walk in. We had a grand deluxe room on the inside of the building and it was so quiet that we could sleep with the window open. A nice gadget is the fingerprintlock to open the door, so easy..wished i had it here at my home. If I return to Barcelona I will definitly return to Alma! The only remark I would like to make is to change the tables at the restaurant , they were to low to sit and eat breakfast comfortably.

Room Tip: chose a room on the garden side of the hotel = grand deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    175
    40
    9
    5
See reviews for
162
643
43
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn, ny
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Modern yet charming smaller hotel in very good location. Excellent service and very good in- hotel breakfast. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Just be aware that in some rooms the shower is not separated from the rest of the room by a wooden door, so make sure you are traveling with someone you are very close to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was part of a film unit shooting in and around the Barcelona area. The majority of the crew stayed at the Alma for a matter of two to three weeks.

During this time, the staff at the Alma became another part of the CREW. They were amazing, catering for every one of our needs and requests. I HUGE THANK YOU to all of the front house, bar, waiting, and cleaning staff for their hard work, friendly attitude and great spirit.

I will speak about our experiences with the Alma in years to come...always with a smile. I couldn't recommend them enough. As an international crew with various languages and accents, they were brilliant.

I cannot say enough and look forward to returning to our "friends" in years to come.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almahotels, Director General at Alma Barcelona, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Mr . Jamie_ D77,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experiences in AlmaBarcelona. I will pass on your kind words to everybody here at the hotel and looking forward to welcoming you back here in the near future.

My best wishes,

Amaya Guisasola
General Manager AlmaBarcelona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 3 nights in November 2012. We couldn't be more pleased with hotel. Quiet, relaxing and a very pleasant modern design. The dim light was just like a switch to get us in an unstressed mood. Our best recommendations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

New, modern, luxury hotel. Very silent, comfortable, all the amenities and accessories are best of breed. Rooms are spacious. Staff is very helpful. If you want an escape, especially as a couple, the hotel is perfect.
SPA is small, but you can relax for an hour.
Location... It depends on what you expect. If you want to be in the middle of the old city, Ramblas, crowd, then Alma is not the right place for you. If you prefer to be at 10 minutes walking distance to all these, and to stay at a calm and luxury environment, then Alma is definitely right for you.

Room Tip: Grand Executive rooms have individual designs. You'd better first go and see your room during ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in summer and it was fantastic. Beautiful minimal design lots of grey, black, silver, white. Really impressive foyer, large rooms with enormous walk in shower. Champagne on arrival, 1st class service, free mini bar, best location. Only con was the spa which didn't have enough lounge chairs and seemed to not yet be complete. One very cool feature was the finger print technology instead of keys- pretty cool. I would come back on my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

One of the best places I've ever stayed. The attention to detail is out of control, and the location is tops. Friendly staff helped point us to some incredible meals. If you appreciate architecture and design, this place will not disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.