We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel perfection found!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Alma Barcelona to your Saves list
Alma Barcelona
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Bloomingdale, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hotel perfection found!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Alma Barcelona may be one of Barcelona's best kept secrets! Even if the City's taxi drivers have often never heard of it (make sure you have the address with you to help the drivers locate it), you will know you have found heaven when your taxi pulls up to it's unassuming facade. Just two doors off Passeig de Gracia on Mallorca, you are steps away from lux shopping paradise, amazing restaurants and wonderful tapas spots and wine bars. Housed in an entirely remodeled Mallorca manse, this modern design gem delights at every turn. From the impressive entry, where the wonderful front desk staff offer you a beverage while you check in ("Cava?" "Why yes, please!"), to the absolutely silent, simple yet have all you could ask for rooms, the Alma pleases at every turn. The rooms are spacious, without being overwhelming and are absolute havens of quiet. Our sixth floor room at the back of the hotel gave a delightful view of the Pandrera; lit up at night, it was a Barcelona landmark framed by our window! And the staff? I could go on and on for days at how wonderful the staff were! Every request we had was honored promptly and perfectly and the staff genuinely seemed interested in our comfort and enjoyment. From helping with restaurant reservations to calling for taxis, they were spot on. I actually looked forward to coming back to the hotel or down to the lobby, just to chat with the staff! You will be extremely hard pressed to find a better hotel in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Homes at the back of the hotel, while not as large as those at the front, are absolutely silent, hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    156
    36
    9
    5
See reviews for
142
571
38
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Hard to fault this hotel really. The location is very handy for the Gaudi houses and top class shopping in Eixample district. The concierge service is invaluable with advice about buying tickets for attractions and public transport etc, and booking tables at restaurants for your evening meal! However, breakfast in the hotel is pricey and there's a nice cheap branch of Cafe & Te just around the corner....
Our room was beautiful, very comfortable bed and an easy chair we fought over! My only criticism is that when one of you is an early riser, it's inconvenient not to have a door on the bathroom (there is a separate toilet!) but it means you can't put the bathroom light on or take a shower/bath without waking up your partner.

There is a spa and fitness area but we didn't have time to make use of them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

After spending a week at the Alma in Seville two years ago and loving it i was very keen to stay at the Alma in Barcelona. Even with my high expectations i was impressed. The staff are excellent, the spa was very good, the lounge, dining and courtyard areas are very well done. Every aspect of the hotel is top notch. I'd love to stay for longer next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Although it was only for one night, it was a great experience. As stated in other reviews, the staff was great and just couldn't do enough for us. Location was in the centre of everything. Even going out at night, we felt safe and had a great selection of restaurants nearby. Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The staff was really wonderful and this hotel was in a great location. While I can say this hotel was one of the better places I have ever stayed, I can also say it wasnt the best value. The rooms were very nice, I really liked the biometric locks and design and the staff was extremely helpful, probably the best staff i have seen in a hotel EVER.

Room Tip: all the rooms seem to have a view of the back patio area and should be all the same more or less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I cannot express what an amazing staff has been gathered by the Hotel Alma. This hotel does not need a Concierge as every member of its staff is a concierge. Specifically "Xavi" who went above and beyond to make our one night stay memorable. Often, the "one nighters" are not treated as well as those who come for longer periods of time. That was not the case. When we return to Barcelona, this is where we will be staying.

The breakfast is amazing. After eating at all the fabulous restaurants in town, I still looked forward to their breakfast. It was THAT good.

Location is perfect. Bed is amazing. Your back and neck will thank you.

Thanks once again Hotel Alma.

Room Tip: not sure as we were slotted to have a garden view as there is an amazing garden nestled on the inner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Alma was a lovely hotel with superior staff located in a beautiful, safe, lively part if Barcelona. Key-less entry to the room is a new requirement for me! I really can't recommend the hotel enough. Oh, and the free mini-bar with water, juice and soda was an added bonus! 5 stars!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Amex, Splendia, Venere, Otel, Priceline, Escapio, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.