We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay with great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alma Barcelona

Save Saved
You added Alma Barcelona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 519 hotels in Barcelona
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An excellent stay with great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Alma hotel is modern, well located and has excellent, helpful staff. The concierge was able to give us helpful directions of how to get to Montserrat, put me on on the phone with Verizon to fix a smart phone problem and receommended three great restaurants. I would, without hesitation stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    713
    151
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
136
527
33
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I am always a bit skeptical when I read about the fabulous service at hotels. Often it depends on who is working at the front desk and how busy they are. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the staff at the Hotel Alma. We received a very warm reception on our arrival and throughout out stay. There was always someone available to help with recommendations for dinner or to find us a taxi when needed. We were greeted warmly every time we returned to the hotel. There was always enough staff on duty to deal with all of their guests.

The room was also a great value. We had a large room with a sitting room separated from the sleeping area. There was a lot of storage for luggage which meant that the room felt more like an apartment than a hotel. The furniture was comfortable and stylish and the room was cleaned whenever we went out. There was a large bathroom with a separate room with the toilet. The mini-bar was stocked with free water and soft drinks which was a nice feature. The hotel is in a great area within walking distance to a lot of the famous Gaudi architectural spots. Excellent breakfast (not included) with seating in an outdoor courtyard in nice weather.

I’d stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grayson, georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I booked room #310 facing the courtyard. I am a light sleeper and found the room ideal for my tastes. A very thick pocket door can be closed to separate the bedroom from the entry area, virtually blocking any sound from the outside hallway and the same type doors are available to close off the rear window area, creating an almost sound-proof room for sleeping. We enjoyed the minimalist style, very clean and functional, with pleasing texture and color. We can't say enough about how much we enjoyed the staff. The folks we encountered were young, energetic, extremely professional, very helpful, and instantly made us feel like friends instead of strangers. We found the location to be very convenient for our sightseeing and dining interests. The staff was very helpful in suggesting restaurants and tours. They were also eager to find out afterwards if we enjoyed their recommendations so they could stay updated and make adjustments for future guests. We dined in the breakfast area 3 of the 4 days we were there and found the selection of foods pleasing. Breakfast is pricey compared to the outside, but I believe one pays for the quietness and convenience, and it was well worth it to us. We especially liked the key-less room entry with fingerprint readers. No worries about losing your key! We would definitely return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We wife booked this hotel for 3 nights and from start to finish the experience was perfect. This was is a very modern and well kept hotel. We always found great helpful staff that were friendly and always willing to help. The location was great for moving around the city by foot and it was only a short step to the Passeig de Gracia. Service was everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel and more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at the Alma Barcelona. From beginning to end it was perfect! Minimalist design in a traditional style building-the juxtaposition of old and new was great. We were in a junior suite (#301) and it was spacious and lovely. Very quiet. Location is ideal-can walk to just about everything. Most importantly, the service was impeccable-Michael, Mario and the lovely woman in the afternoon/evening (Apologies-can't remember her name) were friendly and eager to be helpful. Their recommendations for restaurants were great. Breakfast was excellent, if abit pricey. Did not have the opportunity to try out the spa unfortunately. I would go back to this wonderful haven in a heartbeat and recommend it without any reservations.

Room Tip: Our junior suite #301 was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I picked this hotel for a weekend break for my daughter and I. The decision was based on the hotel's location close to the main sights but away from the notorious pickpockets of the Ramblas; its very reasonable price for a 5* hotel; excellent reviews on this site; and its contemporary looks (which I thought a 20 year old might appreciate!).
The location was indeed great - about 10 - 15 minutes walk from the Placa Catalunya, close to good restaurants, shops and bars, and only a couple of blocks away from the Metro and airport train. We felt very safe in that area.The service we received was absolutely excellent - the reception staff could not have done more to help us feel at home and to get the best out of our visit with restaurant recommendations, travel assistance, showing us around the spa etc. The spa incidentally had a good sauna and steam room but the fitness room looked very basic and the pool was so shallow you would find yourself beached if you happen to be be quite generously proportioned!
The breakfast is expensive if you are not planning to make an enormous meal of it (25 euros each), and if I stayed there again I would prefer to go to one of the cafes on the Paseig de Gracia a few hundred metres away.
Having said that, the thing that would put me off returning was that I felt the hotel lacked atmosphere and was rather stark - lots of dark grey walls with 'functional' furniture'. The first morning we went to breakfast there was even rather funereal music playing in the lobby (though it was more upbeat the second day). We had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the courtyard and I believe there may be rooms at the front which are more classically designed. However, despite the friendliness of the reception staff, as you walk into the hotel it feels rather sombre and unwelcoming in appearance. Perhaps it is aiming more for the business traveller than the tourist? Overall a good experience but I probably wouldn't choose it again for a weekend break.

Room Tip: If you prefer something less stark and clinical its worth mentioning when you book as I believe ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We absolutely loved this hotel. Stylish design, fabulous location, comfortable beds, great service and a quiet night's sleep. Perfect!!!!

The only cons were that they didn't have shower caps (handy for us ladies) and there was no door on our shower room, so if you're not travelling with a partner you have to avert your eyes.

We loved the location of this hotel as it is a block away from Gaudi's La Pedrera and Casa Battlo and easy walking distance from Sagrada Familia and the Gothic quarter. It's off the very elegant Passeig de Gracia so you can enjoy an evening stroll with the locals the moment you step out of your hotel and is an easy walk to the more touristy La Rambla and Gothic Quarter. This area is the optimal base for a Barcelona trip.

Other than the hotel - book your tickets to Sagrada Familia online and save queuing round the block. Also worth getting a BCN ticket special as the Gaudi museums all have entry prices of about EUR20/adult.

Eating
- Cervecería Catalana is great atmosphere for tapas but be prepared to wait at busier times.
- Torre d'Alta Mar has amazing views but VERY average food for VERY fancy prices. If you want to enjoy the view of Barcelona go for a drink at the top of Hotel W or go for the night visit at La Pedrera and then go for dinner at a top notch local restaurant. This is certainly not the place for good food or service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Splendia, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.