We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Save
You added Alma Barcelona to your Saves list
Alma Barcelona
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
new york
1 review
“Amazing hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at the Alma Barcelona. From beginning to end it was perfect! Minimalist design in a traditional style building-the juxtaposition of old and new was great. We were in a junior suite (#301) and it was spacious and lovely. Very quiet. Location is ideal-can walk to just about everything. Most importantly, the service was impeccable-Michael, Mario and the lovely woman in the afternoon/evening (Apologies-can't remember her name) were friendly and eager to be helpful. Their recommendations for restaurants were great. Breakfast was excellent, if abit pricey. Did not have the opportunity to try out the spa unfortunately. I would go back to this wonderful haven in a heartbeat and recommend it without any reservations.

Room Tip: Our junior suite #301 was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    160
    36
    9
    5
See reviews for
143
587
38
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I picked this hotel for a weekend break for my daughter and I. The decision was based on the hotel's location close to the main sights but away from the notorious pickpockets of the Ramblas; its very reasonable price for a 5* hotel; excellent reviews on this site; and its contemporary looks (which I thought a 20 year old might appreciate!).
The location was indeed great - about 10 - 15 minutes walk from the Placa Catalunya, close to good restaurants, shops and bars, and only a couple of blocks away from the Metro and airport train. We felt very safe in that area.The service we received was absolutely excellent - the reception staff could not have done more to help us feel at home and to get the best out of our visit with restaurant recommendations, travel assistance, showing us around the spa etc. The spa incidentally had a good sauna and steam room but the fitness room looked very basic and the pool was so shallow you would find yourself beached if you happen to be be quite generously proportioned!
The breakfast is expensive if you are not planning to make an enormous meal of it (25 euros each), and if I stayed there again I would prefer to go to one of the cafes on the Paseig de Gracia a few hundred metres away.
Having said that, the thing that would put me off returning was that I felt the hotel lacked atmosphere and was rather stark - lots of dark grey walls with 'functional' furniture'. The first morning we went to breakfast there was even rather funereal music playing in the lobby (though it was more upbeat the second day). We had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the courtyard and I believe there may be rooms at the front which are more classically designed. However, despite the friendliness of the reception staff, as you walk into the hotel it feels rather sombre and unwelcoming in appearance. Perhaps it is aiming more for the business traveller than the tourist? Overall a good experience but I probably wouldn't choose it again for a weekend break.

Room Tip: If you prefer something less stark and clinical its worth mentioning when you book as I believe ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We absolutely loved this hotel. Stylish design, fabulous location, comfortable beds, great service and a quiet night's sleep. Perfect!!!!

The only cons were that they didn't have shower caps (handy for us ladies) and there was no door on our shower room, so if you're not travelling with a partner you have to avert your eyes.

We loved the location of this hotel as it is a block away from Gaudi's La Pedrera and Casa Battlo and easy walking distance from Sagrada Familia and the Gothic quarter. It's off the very elegant Passeig de Gracia so you can enjoy an evening stroll with the locals the moment you step out of your hotel and is an easy walk to the more touristy La Rambla and Gothic Quarter. This area is the optimal base for a Barcelona trip.

Other than the hotel - book your tickets to Sagrada Familia online and save queuing round the block. Also worth getting a BCN ticket special as the Gaudi museums all have entry prices of about EUR20/adult.

Eating
- Cervecería Catalana is great atmosphere for tapas but be prepared to wait at busier times.
- Torre d'Alta Mar has amazing views but VERY average food for VERY fancy prices. If you want to enjoy the view of Barcelona go for a drink at the top of Hotel W or go for the night visit at La Pedrera and then go for dinner at a top notch local restaurant. This is certainly not the place for good food or service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very nice quiet discreet 5 star hotel. All dark wood low lighting and excellent staff all with good English and very helpful. We didn't have time to use spa etc as too much sightseeing. Only gripe is that at a 5 star hotel you would think they could include breakfast as this was EUR25 each!
Beds were huge and the most comfortable hotel beds ever. Very central only 10 mins walk from tube and then direct train to airport taking 25 mins.

Room Tip: Higher room may have a view but we were on 3rd floor which looked on to the courtyard garden which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have enjoyed this hotel the last couple times we were in Barcelona and have been very impressed. It has great location, service, nice open concept rooms, and reasonable prices given how nice it is. The service really stands out with a personal touch, you see similar faces who do a lot of the little things that many hotels overlook. I'm also always concerned about bedding in Europe and this hotel is great in that area, crisp white sheets, non-split king beds, and down bedding. Great find!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

It's a fantastic hotel in a great location. The staff are friendly, very helpful and very knowledgeable.They made our first trip to Barcelona special and memorable. The hotel room and the hotel itself is one of understated elegance. The bar is great and the restaurant is very good as well. It is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. I cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the courtyard and was very quiet at night which we appreciated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed at this hotel over a weekend in November. The hotel is situated in a central position with easy access to local transport and within walking distance to main attractions such as La Sagrada Familia (15 minutes walk). The rooms are clean, modern and spacious...and I loved the idea of entering the room by simply placing my finger on a sensor by the door. The hotel staff were outstanding! They helped us to plan our days, booked tickets for us and recommended great restaurants. Everything was done with a smile and you never felt rushed. This is an excellent choice and no doubt I will stay there again on my next trip to Barcelona.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, T4B, Venere, Splendia, Agoda, Otel, Priceline, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.