We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slick place for a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chic & Basic Ramblas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Chic & Basic Ramblas to your Saves list
Chic & Basic Ramblas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pasaje Gutenberg, 7, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Slick place for a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

For such a reasonably-priced hotel, I was very surprised as the quality of our stay here over four nights in June. Being my first time in Barcelona, my friend recommended we stay close to Las Ramblas. Chic & Basic stood out as being clean, modern and excellently located. All of these qualities were realised during our stay.

The fitout is very modern but not obnoxious and small, quirky touches abound. Tasteful nude photo on a door anyone? The room we stayed in was super clean and fresh; I couldn't wait to hit the bed at the end of the day. Less than two minutes' walk to Las Ramblas is too convenient, not to mention its similar proximity to Drassanes metro station making getting there from the airport very easy. The staff were excellent too, speaking good English and being happy to have a joke or a chat with us.

The only negative I can recall is that the bathroom had a slight groundwater smell after use, but this is obviously not something the hotel can control, nor was it particularly bothersome.

This property is a winner based on my experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    191
    49
    18
    12
See reviews for
58
195
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great position,just tucked off the end of the ramblas. The staff were friendly and the room was clean and tidy with a fridge and very basic oven ring & pan if you did want to cook something (but why? lots of great value and delicious places to eat just over the other side of the ramblas). The bathrooms are small and basic but clean and tidy and the linen and towels absolutely fine. We did not need air con but had a nice beer on the sunny balcony early evening before going back out again for the evening. Would definitely go back and stay again if going to Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We just returned from a nine night stay .The hotel is in a great location,walking distance to La Ramblas and metro on a small side street .The alley can seem a bit intimidating at night,but we had no trouble even returning late in the evening. We stayed on the 6th floor in a room with a large balcony. The amenities in the room are not fancy,but presented with a hip and minimalist design sensibility , very clean and quiet.There is some construction going on next door,but they didn't make noise until 9:00 am which is perfectly acceptable.The kitchenette was great for storing goodies that we picked up at the Bouqueria Market.Wine,bread,cheese,olives, tomatoes,ham and sausage while sitting on our private terrace,lovely! The staff were awesome,very helpful and friendly.I had to organize several last minute business dinners,the staff went above and beyond to help me find great restaurants.Frances and I would talk food every morning,it was like staying with friends!We had some wonderful meals based on staff recommendations. This is a great budget friendly hotel,with a wonderful staff.I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: rooms facing the alley on 6th floor have a bit of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have spend a fabulous w-end at this Hotel in Barcelona! Its locations is perfect - two steps from La Rambla near Drassanes Metro station and 10 min walk to the Aquarium! I have booked a triple room ( 3 single beds) and it was a very nice , spacious and clean one! The staff very friendly and helpful ! WiFi is available and free in the public areas of the hotel but it do not work in the rooms! We did not try the breakfast or the bar ( 9 euro/day/person) so i don't have any idea! One morning I bought a coffe and it was very good.:) What I absolutly loved at this hotel is the interior design of the lobby and rooms also! It si very " chic and basic"! For its location the prices are very good. I recommend this hotel for a very pleasent stay in Barcelona and fot it perfect location!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Fabulous location with good, clean rooms which have all that you need - including a small kitchen area if you need it. Staff were friendly and helpful and to top it all there was a fashion event on for our first night which meant it was crowded, fun and even had free beer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicandbasicrambles, Gerente at Chic & Basic Ramblas, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and had fun at the Changing Room event.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We decided to stay in this hotel after our cruise, because adding a night would help us save several hundred euros for the flight... So, we wanted something very cheap, but with a nice location, and despite the so-so reviews, Chic and Basic Ramblas seemed to be a good choice... And it was.

For the price, you get a clean room, in the Ramblas, with a mini kitchen. Noise was not an issue, the staff was adequate, and the bed was comfortable. We did not try the breakfast or the bar, so I cannot comment on that.

In short : a good choice for the budget conscious.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We arrived early and the friendly receptionist gave us immediate access to our room with a smile. The receptionist gave us some very useful local information without prompting getting our holiday off to a good start.
The room was clean, functional, and basic as the name suggests. The room had a safe which was free, and kept our valuables secure. We had free WiFi. The hotel location is great for the Ramblas and metro giving you access to the rest of Barcelona. Why not give it five stars?...because its Chic and Basic. The view from our balcony was not fantastic, but we were out most of the time anyway. We had a great stay there. The staff were friendly and obliging. We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't worry about which room to pick. Get checked in and get out and see this fantastic city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chic & Basic Ramblas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chic & Basic Ramblas

Address: Pasaje Gutenberg, 7, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#121 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#165 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chic & Basic Ramblas 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
chic&basic Ramblas is inspired by the Barcelona of the 1960s. In chic&basic Ramblas, the same as in that age, the playful and the creative are strongly united. With a photographic exposition on the doors of the 85 rooms, the passageways overflowing with colour and history, a green Seat 600 in the lobby and a restaurant with bar and terrace, the c&b Ramblas is an entire experience that will delight you.chic&basic Ramblas has all the services that make chic&basic the perfect place to enjoy your stay in the centre of Barcelona. Reception 24 hours, locked room for luggage, bar and restaurant, parking, free WiFi and a PC with free internet access in the lobby. Also, if you want to move about the city at your own pace, bicycles are available to rent. Once you try them, you won’t want to use any other transport in Barcelona.You can also enjoy our chic&basic tour, a two hour walk through Ciutat Vella in which we will mix history with some curiosities, as well as gastronomic and nightlife suggestions. Enjoy it on Tuesdays, Thursdays or Saturdays at 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Chic & Basic Ramblas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic & Basic Ramblas Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chic & Basic Ramblas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.