We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to sit and eat tapas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Boqueria

Bar Boqueria
Stall H9, La Mercat Boqueria, Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #821 of 6,910 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: El Raval
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really nice place to sit and eat tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Not very expensive, patatas bravas are very good!
Located at Ramblas-Boqueria market. Terrace also nice to eat outside.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    58
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tasty cheap food in the market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

You wait to sit on a high stool around the bar.its worth it,you can have as much or as little as you want but always fresh and tasty.last time butiffar a sausages with garlic beans,to die for washed down with white wine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best service and seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

What a wonderful experience to eat at a barstool restaurant and have great service and seafood. I wish I could eat here every day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islamorada Fl
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Favorite in La Boqueria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I love this market & the restaurants/bars inside. As you face the market from las Ramblas side, Bar Boqueria is in the back & on the right. They sell both meat & seafood. Everything is cooked ala plancha (to you Americans, on a flat top) or fried. After walking through the market & getting yourself amazingly hungry, stop at Bar Boqueria! Friendly, hectic, a bit loud...it's REAL!! Took only a few minutes before I was able to grab a counter seat. People often dine standing 3-4 deep. Razor clams or Navajas were looking marvelous as were the amazing U8 shrimp! 4 of theses monsters slathered in a sauce of sherry, garlic & parsley, patatas bravas & a couple cold beers! does it get any better? All that for just under 15 E! Incredible!! I will return just as I have been for 20 yrs. Whenever I'm in Barcelona the market is always a favorite with Bar Boqueria a particular favorite!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County CA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good food, lackluster service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were attracted to this bar because it was crowded -- figuring that locals knew the best bars. I had Catalan sausage and white beans that were excellent; wife had sardines she enjoyed except for difficulty getting the bones out. Cold beer. Service is non-existent. I know these bars are not fine-dining establishments, but the waiters acted as if they couldn't care less if we were there or not.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Boqueria also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Bar Boqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Boqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.