We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, not so much about the management or staff.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Granvia to your Saves list
Hotel Granvia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 642, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel, not so much about the management or staff.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is in the best location in Barcelona, trust me. It is near Passeig de Gràcia, the shopping district of Barcelona, and there is a metro exit just outside of the hotel.

We stayed here for 4 nights. The room was nicely decorated and is a comfortable size for the 2 of us.The beds and pillows were very comfortable, to the point that I went to take a peek of the pillow label so that I can buy it for myself!

The hotel has a terrace on Level 1, and they offer tea & coffee between 5 to 7pm with light snacks (which cost around 1 or 2 Euros).

Free wifi is available too, and the connection is strong.

Okay, so thats all for the good stuff. The bad:

1) No tea making facilities in the room. So if you need some hot water, don't bother calling the reception because they don't offer room service. You will be told to go to Level 1 (the terrace) and ask the staff.

2) On our 2nd night, the bathroom lights flickered so we called the reception. A young chap came up to see the flickering lights, but he said that there's nothing they can do, we've just got to wait till the next day for the technician to come. Fair enough, but I don't understand the point of coming up to our room when there is nothing he can do about it.

3) On our 3rd night, we came back late to the hotel after the Barcelona-PSG soccer match, only to see a notice pasted on the lift to say that the hotel is out of electricity due to some construction work at the next building. Stuff like this is beyond the control of the hotel, that is for sure and I totally understand that. So we bathed in cold water, in the dark, in the middle of Dec.

4) Hotel does not have a torch? I needed to find something in the room, so I walked down to the reception to borrow a torch. However, I was told that they don't have a torch. For real? A hotel without a torch? While I was heading back to my room I saw what looks like a torch on the receptionist table in the lobby. What a liar. If he didn't trust me with the precious torch, he could have escorted us up to our room to search for my item.

5) Housekeeper threw away some of our personal belongings. We went shopping and left a paper bag in the room containing all other paper bags nicely folded up and a few Barcelona magnets which we bought as souvenirs. It was neatly placed beside our luggage at a corner which is not at all near the trash bin. The housekeeper threw it away on the 3rd day. We were not very happy about it but did not inform the reception.

In conclusion, this is a nice hotel, but the management has to be better prepared in situations such as blackout, perhaps to ensure that they have enough torch for guests; and to train its housekeeping staff not to throw away things that are NOT in the trash bins.

I am also not too sure about the reason for the lack of tea making facilities, but the management has to consider providing an electric flask in every room.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    96
    22
    7
    9
See reviews for
90
171
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is in a great location close to all transport links and within easy walking distance of the Ramblas and the Marina. I'd highly recommend a trip to the Sagrada de Familia, just jump on the subway at the end of the road and it's just 3 stops away. It is absolutely breathtaking!!! The hotel itself is very clean, modern and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, just 5 minutes walking distance from Placa Cataluña. Very good decoration, that gives the hotel a cozy and comfortable atmosphere.
My (single) room was extremely small, but nicely decorated, very comfortable and with everything that I needed (TV, free wifi, safe,...).
The breakfast room was gorgeous! I loved the sofas, and the decoration. The terrace also looked great, but it rained during my entire stay, so I couldn't use it more...
Breakfast could be a little better. I was there for four nights, and the bread was a bit hard sometimes, and the orange juice was bitter - but it was freshly squeezed, though!, and the coffee was just terrible...they had a machine for the coffee, and I tried all varieties, but the taste of the coffee wasn't very good and it was foamy. But they had tea every afternoon, and a service of wine and tapas afterwards.
Also, the internet was really good. Available for free in all areas of the hotel, and very fast.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia S, Director General at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your stay at the Hotel GranVia on Trip Advisor!

We are really happy to read that our Hotel exceeded your expectations! We will also take note of all your comments about breakfast and coffee to keep improving our services.

We hope to see you soon at the Hotel GranVia!

Kind regards,

Sílvia Segura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just stayed here for the 2nd time.
Didn't get our deluxe room until 4:30pm but a free cava eased the wait.
The room was lovely, spotlessly clean with a great terrace.
The hotel is in a great spot only 5 mins walk from Las Ramblas. It's very well maintained and the staff are all very nice.
Will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the internal terrace. Our room was, no. 216.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice hotel, good sized rooms, pleasant stay. It was advertised that there was a cocktail bar there, but could not find it. The decor was amazing and very clean. I highly recommend this hotel. It is very close to Barri Gotic and Las Ramblas

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia S, Director General at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dea Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of the Hotel GranVia!

We inform you that we do not have physically a bar but we do have some pushbuttons located on the terrace and on the main saloon tables as well as the menus to call the waiters.

We hope you can stay at the hotel when you come back to Barcelona and enjoy a great meal or drinks in our terrace!

Kind regards,

Sílvia Segura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Granvia is a great hotel in a great location with excellent facilities. Clean, stylish & quiet it was as described by previous reviews. Staff were attentive, The terrace & public areas were very comfortable with free internet & WiFi. Rooms were great & spotlessly clean. This is a perfect hotel for a visit to Barcelona & at the price, a real bargain.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia S, Director General at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your kind words towards the Hotel GranVia itself, staff and services!

See you soon!

Kind regards,

Sílvia Segura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We vissited Barcelona for 4 days in our first anniversary. The city is adorable. Weather was sunny in the morning and slightly chilly at night, perfect for us!
The hotel was great.. Very clean and the terrace was enjoyable (good for smokers). I loved the interior if the hotel, a bit vintage and at the same night not gloomy or dark at all. The location is very good, its 4 minutes walking from Placa de Catalunya and still in a nice street, not very crowded. Also there is a huge Zara store is just around the corner. They knew it was our anniversary so they got us a complimentary champagne bottle, which we loved!
Great stay at this hotel, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Granvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 642, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Granvia 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Granvia, a historical manor built in 1870 and totally renovated in 2013, offers 53 completely unique rooms, including triples and family rooms. A lobby featuring elegant 19th century styling, a business center with free Internet access, and a splendid terrace boasting 500m² of gardens make the hotel an ideal place for enjoying Barcelona in high season.Strategically located in the heart of Barcelona, just steps away from Plaza Catalunya and the Paseo de Gracia, Hotel Granvia it is surrounded by some of the city’s most emblematic and impressive architectural structures, among them the Pedrera, Casa Batllo, Palau Robert, Casa Fargas, and Casa Ametller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Granvia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granvia Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Gran Via
Hotel Granvia Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granvia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.