We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Granvia to your Saves list
Hotel Granvia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 642, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Clean, stylish,large and quiet hotel. No Balcony or view but then the price would have been three times the price. Only a five to ten minute walk to La Rambla and about twenty to Barcaloneta, very well placed to see the best of Barcelona.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    96
    22
    7
    9
See reviews for
90
171
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Pros
- Great location! Quick walk to Las Ramblas, down the street from a Starbucks.
- Comfortable, contemporary rooms. Great bathrooms.
- Afternoon tea time. Free coffee after 5pm.
- Free fast wifi.
- Room was ready for an early check in (11am).

Cons
- Unhelpful front desk staff with limited knowledge of the area. Did not have any recommendations in terms of restaurants in the area, or activities. Gentleman at the front desk did not know how long it would take to get to Sagrada Familia or how much time to allocation for a tour.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Hotel Granvia was a wonderful place! Clean, crisp and trendy. It is a beautiful property located on Gran Via about 5 mins. from Plaza Catalunya. Fabulous patio-perfect for an afternoon glass of wine and hors d'oeuvres(which can be picked up around the corner at the Ingles.) The Ramblas is a five minute walk, the Gothic Quarter and El Born about 10-15 mins. The female receptionist(I wish I remembered her name)was very helpful when we were having difficulty trying to make train reservations. I also stayed at a 4 star property in Barcelona, and would have preferred to returned to the Granvia. The photos previous guests have posted are accurate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel is just fabulous. The room was large and airy. The bathroom was incredibly clean and the shower and facilities great. The breakfast was great and the concierge very friendly. The location was perfect. I would not hesitate to return or recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

.....I have never stayed at a Hotel and my room not been ready at check in time. We initially arrived at 11am and were able to drop our bags. The receptionist was helpful and advised the room would be ready at 3pm which we understood. We arrived back at 3.30pm very hot and tired having been up since 5am. No room ready. We were advised 30 mins wait and given a complementary glass of cava on the terrace. 4.15 pm we had still not been called.....so I went back to reception, was advised another 30 mins. I did not accept this and the receptionist then managed to find us an alternative ( superior) room. We were very tired, hot and fed up by this point. The room itself was excellent - clean, fresh, comfy beds, doors opening onto shallow balcony. My only complaints were bare hooks on the 'feature' wall where there should have been some art work, and no tea / coffee facility only mini bar. I would have given it 4.5 stars if not for terrible check in experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a very beautifully restored hotel with a great location walkably close to everything but away from the madness of La Rambla. The breakfast buffet was very good and had a large selection of both hot and cold foods. The only weakness is the coffee, which is really pretty bad. The rooms are large and modern and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom looks great and was very clean, but the shower only has a half glass door and there is no way to shower without flooding the bathroom. The lighting over the sinks is not designed for applying makeup - the bright down lights don't illuminate the face - kind of a Blair Witch effect. As to the lack of a bar, we found that if we pushed a remote control button sitting on the coffee table, a server appeared to take our drink orders. We were able to sit back on the open terrace or in the cozy living room area, sip drinks and have snacks each night in much more comfort than if we had been in a bar.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the Gran Via are large and have two nice French balconies. The road noise is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Room 306 for a few nights and our experience was great overall. We will definitely be returning!

The good:
- Helpful, polite English speaking staff that provided luggage storage, maps, taxi bookings, umbrella loans, and printed boarding passes.
- Excellent location! Everything is only a few minutes walk away.
- Technological features include free WiFi (2 Mbps down), large smart HDTV, heated bathroom mirror (no fogging), motion sensor hallway lights.
- Many (European) power outlets throughout the room.
- Fridge is spacious enough for your own drinks, including 2L containers.
- Beautifully furnished throughout the entire hotel.
- Rooms have high ceilings and are mostly quiet.

The minor inconveniences:
- Can sometimes hear neighboring guests open and close doors.
- Air conditioning works but is a bit wonky; have to point remote directly at unit to register properly.
- Shower stall has inadequate shielding resulting in wet floors.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Granvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 642, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Granvia 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Granvia, a historical manor built in 1870 and totally renovated in 2013, offers 53 completely unique rooms, including triples and family rooms. A lobby featuring elegant 19th century styling, a business center with free Internet access, and a splendid terrace boasting 500m² of gardens make the hotel an ideal place for enjoying Barcelona in high season.Strategically located in the heart of Barcelona, just steps away from Plaza Catalunya and the Paseo de Gracia, Hotel Granvia it is surrounded by some of the city’s most emblematic and impressive architectural structures, among them the Pedrera, Casa Batllo, Palau Robert, Casa Fargas, and Casa Ametller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Granvia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granvia Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Gran Via
Hotel Granvia Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granvia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.