We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful stay in Barcelona!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Granvia to your Saves list
Hotel Granvia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 642, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #35 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Australia
1 review
“beautiful stay in Barcelona!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Extremely happy with customer service and quality of hotel and room. Will stay here again! Room was clean, spacious and nicely designed. Bathroom
was huge. Our flight out that day was cancelled due to strikes and front desk was extremely helpful with contacting flight company. Also recommended some great venues for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaHGV, Director General at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hotel GranVia on TA!

We always try to do our best to make our guests feel like home and help them in any unexpected matter like the one you sadly experienced.

Thank you very much again for your comments and we are really looking forward to meet you again in Barcelona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    143
    29
    8
    10
See reviews for
112
227
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here for two nights for an anniversary weekend city break. The location of this hotel is ideal being a 10 minute stroll to the Placa Catalunya which is a central hub, leading to La Rambla. Another 10 minute stroll took us up to Casa Batlló and La Pedrera, Gaudi's extravagant architecture. From El Prat Airport take the Aerobus (€5) directly to Placa Catalunya and walk to it easily.

In terms of the hotel itself, the main reception hall, dining area, internet study room and roof terrace are lovely. Whilst the rooms were of a very high standard in terms of finish and content, we were slightly disappointment with the room size, especially the bathroom. We had a 'deluxe' room with a private terrace which was nice it overlooked the roof terrace. There was no noise, it was quiet enough to sleep with the terrace door open. The only let down was that the bathroom was so small and the sink so large that you had to sit with your legs to one side in order to use the toilet!

Staff were attentive and polite and we felt comfortable and well cared for at all times. I would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If on the second floor, rooms overlooking the roof terrace were quiet, probably less so on the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaHGV, Director General at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate that you took some of your time to share your comments about the Hotel GranVia on TA!

We are sorry to read that the bathroom from the room you stayed in was not as comfortable as you had expected. Every room in the hotel is different, with different room and bathroom sizes, so if you ever come back to Barcelona and stay and Hotel GranVia again we will do our best to give you a bigger one.

Thank you again for your review and see you next time in Barcelona!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Very conveniently located hotel, next to the big avenues, ideally located to explore Barcelona by foot ( or public transport by the way). The staff is extremely helpful, they know the area well and will recommend restaurantsm etc. Breakfast is excellent and well furbished, a good start that will keep you going until alate lunch. Not cheap, but rooms are classy, spatious and the bedding is excellent. Recommended! )

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaHGV, Director General at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a positive review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed the Hotel GranVia and that you found our staff welcoming and helpful.

We appreciate that you took the time to write your comment and hope to have you back soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Once we found the Hotel Gran Via we had a great stay! The front reception are is very small from the street, but spacious and beautiful inside! Nicely redecorated and lovely terrace and breakfast. Air Conditioning was refreshing after a long day of sightseeing!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaHGV, Director General at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel GranVia and we thank you for your good reviews!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This had to have been the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in. While the room was on the small side (it is Europe after all), it had clearly recently been updated, and everything was new and immaculately clean. The hotel is in a great location, right on the Gran Via main drag, where you can easily walk to Las Ramblas, the fancy Passeig de Gracia shops, and the Metro train station. The concierge staff all spoke English and were very helpful in answering our questions. There's air conditioning in the rooms. The hotel has a delightful rooftop patio where we sat to sip tea a couple times, and even hear live music. We didn't get the breakfast package, and I'm glad we didn't, as there's so much good food to be found in the city (try Brunch & Cake!). If you hang out in your room during the day, be sure to keep the "do not disturb" sign hanging on the outside of your door: on two consecutive days housekeepers opened the door without knocking (there's no way to deadbolt it from the inside). The room had already been cleaned, but there didn't seem to be communication between the cleaning staff as to what rooms had been finished. The only slight negative, for me, is that there was little soundproofing between the door and the hallway to other rooms. Our room was inward-facing rather than street-facing, so I expected it to be dead silent. We were, of course, sleeping at odd times due to jetlag, so any noise we heard in the hallways was actually at normal waking hours, but it's just something to be aware of in case you're a light sleeper. Regardless, I highly recommend this hotel, and would stay there again without hesitation if I find myself in Barcelona again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Staff very helpful and an extremely clean hotel. Good breakfast included in package, but the downside were the rooms weren't soundproofed, especially if you have a family with unruly children nearby as we did. Could hear the children running across the floor at all hours. :-( Saying that it was a short stay and would overall recommend using this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaHGV, Director General at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for staying at Hotel GranVia and taking the time to write a review on TA!

We are sorry to read that your stay at the hotel was not as comfortable as you had expected due to a noise problem. We take all our guest comments into account to keep improving in our service and facilities.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Orleans, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of being guests of the Hotel Granvia in March and we were very pleased with everything. The hotel was decorated beautifully, the room was spacious, the morning buffet was very extensive, the staff was pleasant and helpful and the price point was good. Did I mention the beds were comfortable, that is a big plus with us!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaHGV, Director General at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a positive review!

We are really happy to read that you had a lovely experience at the Hotel GranVia and we are looking forward to your meet you here again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Granvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 642, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#47 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Granvia 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Granvia, a historical manor built in 1870 and totally renovated in 2013, offers 53 completely unique rooms, including triples and family rooms. A lobby featuring elegant 19th century styling, a business center with free Internet access, and a splendid terrace boasting 500m² of gardens make the hotel an ideal place for enjoying Barcelona in high season.Strategically located in the heart of Barcelona, just steps away from Plaza Catalunya and the Paseo de Gracia, Hotel Granvia it is surrounded by some of the city’s most emblematic and impressive architectural structures, among them the Pedrera, Casa Batllo, Palau Robert, Casa Fargas, and Casa Ametller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Granvia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granvia Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Gran Via
Hotel Granvia Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granvia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.