We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel-almost excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Granvia to your Saves list
Hotel Granvia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 642, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Newark, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel-almost excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stay for two nights only. Beautiful decor. Comfortable rooms. Excellent location. However, the bathroom had a horrible smell. We never addressed the issue with the hotel since we were hardly ever indoors. We just kept the door closed. Front desk people were nice and helpful. Breakfast was average.The smell kept it from an excellent review.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    96
    22
    7
    9
See reviews for
90
171
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
E.Sussex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in the Gran Via over New Year for 3 nights and couldn't have been happier with our choice.
Eduard and Edurne checked us in in a friendly and efficient manner and then explained various amenities close by. We spoke to them several times throughout our stay and they were both very helpful.
The decor is fabulous giving a chic and relaxed feel to the place. Our room ( 211)was quiet and compact but large enough for a short break and we had a lovely balcony overlooking the nicely laid out terrace.
There is no bar or restaurant available but an adequate breakfast is served and there are plenty of eateries nearby. We did not experience the sweet smell mentioned in another review but can confirm that it as difficult to shower without getting the floor wet.
We were a group of 4 and all of us would be more than happy to stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaHGV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Granvia for your stay in Barcelona.

We are truly pleased to know you had a lovely stay with us and we would like to thank you again for taking some time to share your wonderful experience with us. We will also make sure that the staff is aware of your satisfaction and your nice review in order to encourage them to keep looking after all our guests as good as they did with you.

Finally we would like you to know that we are really looking forward to meet you again at the hotel.

Best regards,


The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay at this hotel. The location is fantastic close enough to walk to las ramblas but far enough away to leave the madness behind. The rooms were fab and so clean. I can only praise the staff who were so helpful. Genuinely great hotel

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaHGV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Granvia for your recent trip to Barcelona.

We appreciate your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and the satisfactions of our guests.

Finally, we would like to take this opportunity to let you know that we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon.

Kind regards,


The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Excellent location in the heart of the Barcelona. Hotel staff is very helpful and friendly! We had booked a quad room which was quite good in size for four people. Hotel has very good and modern decor! Overall excellent experience. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaHGV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for choosing Hotel Granvia for your stay in Barcelona and for taking some time to share your experience with us.

Finally, we would like to mention that we are truly pleased to know that you had a lovely stay with us and we hope you can visit us again in a soon future.

Kind regards,


The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at The Hotel Granvia for five nights in late November as part of our 31st anniversary celebration just prior to a transatlantic cruise. The hotel experience was excellent even before we arrived. I reached out by email before leaving home with some questions concerning nearby restaurants (trying to surprise my wife) and room location preference (street or courtyard?) and was pleasantly surprised by the response and responsiveness of Daniela Iglesias from the hotel. She provided tips and treats to help us enjoy Barcelona even more than expected. As you may have read in other reviews, all the staff is friendly, helpful and professional not to mention that their English was way better than my Catalan and Spanish. We opted for a room in the back overlooking the courtyard (I think it was 318; it was the back leftmost room) which was a quiet and pretty spot. The room was well sized with a queen-ish sized bed in a sleeping alcove type layout. The room décor was modern, nice and understated. The bathroom was largish and outfitted with nice towels sufficient to mop up my mess from exuberant showering. Credit mostly goes to housekeeping staff for that though; they were in and out and had our place looking great in no time each day. The Smells: a number of reviewers commented on two types of smells, the original bathroom type and the type used to cover that up. Both of which were slightly present and both of which were not unexpected if you travel much. Neither of which is unique to this hotel nor should they be downgraded because of them. The room had a large wall mounted flatscreen TV with plenty of channels to trip through. Drawers! I would have liked at least one drawer in the room; in the desk or closet or bureau or something. I did like that they provide a large safe (PC-sized plus) in the closet. Their courtyard that we overlooked is very nice with lovely sitting areas but it was late November and cold so we didn’t venture out there much. At all. You can see it from the breakfast room and I imagine it would be a great spot to start the day during warmer weather. Breakfast, as noted in others reviews, is excellent with quite a nice variety. I’m a sucker for pastries and cakes and each day enjoyed their offerings. Plenty of meats, cheeses, breads and goodies are offered to get you out the door ready for touring. The room would get busy toward the end of the breakfast hours, but the staff there did an excellent job keeping the food replenished and tables cleared. Coffee and tea is available for free throughout the day and night in this room. Adjoining this area is their comfortable library and computer room with two PCs for guest use. WiFi at the hotel is free and (most times) strong in the room and public spaces. A couple of access glitches in five days (that didn’t last long) weren’t a big problem. The Granvia had been completely renovated recently and is beautiful and spotlessly clean. The hotel’s central location is convenient to shopping, dining, and sightseeing and well, it’s very very convenient. Our five day stay ended with picking up a cab easily right at the front door and a relatively short (not pricey) ride to the cruise port. Would we stay there again? In a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Enjoy a quiet room overlooking their courtyard. This review is for room 318 (?) the last one in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaHGV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for sharing with us such an accurate and nice review.

We appreciate your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and the satisfaction of our guests.

Finally, we would like to mention that we are truly pleased to know that you had a lovely stay with us and we hope you can visit us again in a soon future.

Best regards,


The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have visited the Gran Via a couple of times in the past, so were delighted to see a special 'reopening offer' when we wanted to stay there a couple of nights in December. The hotel now has a clean, modern look inside which contrasts with the old-style Spanish dark wood that typified the hotel before. There are now good double-glazed windows on the street side of the hotel now. Noise from the Gran Via used to be a nuisance, but is no longer a problem.

What has not changed is the welcome and the attention that is paid to the guests. The staff were always polite and helpful - seems to be characteristic of Barcelona generally - and the breakfast was excellent.

If you are looking for a base whilst exploring the wonderful city of Barcelona, you could not hope for a better located hotel, just minutes from the Plaza de Catalunya, La Rambla etc. I thoroughly recommend Hotel Gran Via.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaHGV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very glad to know that you came back to stay with us after the refurbishment and you enjoyed the hotel's new look. We are truly pleased to know you had a lovely stay with us and we would like to thank you for taking some time to share your wonderful experience with us.

Finally we would like you to know that we are really looking forward to meet you again at the hotel any time in the future.

Kindest regards,


The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Why does the review have to go from average to 'very good?'. If the was a space for 'good', this sits about there. Great location, clean, comfortable and well priced for short breaks. Staff very pleasant and speak good English. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaHGV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do most appreciate the fact that you will recommend the hotel to your friends and relatives.

Finally, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you one more time for choosing Hotel Granvia for your last stay in Barcelona.

Kind regards,


The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Granvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 642, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Granvia 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Granvia, a historical manor built in 1870 and totally renovated in 2013, offers 53 completely unique rooms, including triples and family rooms. A lobby featuring elegant 19th century styling, a business center with free Internet access, and a splendid terrace boasting 500m² of gardens make the hotel an ideal place for enjoying Barcelona in high season.Strategically located in the heart of Barcelona, just steps away from Plaza Catalunya and the Paseo de Gracia, Hotel Granvia it is surrounded by some of the city’s most emblematic and impressive architectural structures, among them the Pedrera, Casa Batllo, Palau Robert, Casa Fargas, and Casa Ametller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Granvia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granvia Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Gran Via
Hotel Granvia Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granvia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.