We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Urquinaona

Save Saved
You added Hotel Urquinaona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Urquinaona
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ronda de Sant Pere 24, 08010 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #345 of 518 hotels in Barcelona
Barcelona
1 review
“never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

IThe website gives you a total wrong idea about the rooms, I'll never go back to this hotel. Also because of the fact that there were some clothes stolen from our room! Not any reaction from the reception.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    118
    57
    28
    14
See reviews for
62
99
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The location was excellent, 5 min walk from Playa de Catalunya where the Areobus dropped us off & close to most major attractions. The room was small but served its purpose as a base for our 4 night stay. It was clean and comfortable. There was a large shower which was very powerful. The room we had 104 was very warm and only had a small window with no outlook you could hear the metro rumbling below.The breakfast was perfectly adequate but don't expect any hot food, coissants, donuts, some cereal, filled rolls etc. Internet access available on level 1. They were happy for us to leave our luggage all day when we checked out. Definately value for money. Staff were helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The location is the reason to stay here. Our room was small, dark and shabby. Fortunately, the small beds were comfortable enough and the room was clean. It was a room to sleep and shower only. The lighting was not sufficient for reading and because of the building configuration, little light came in from outside. The small window looked directly into someone's bathroom about 15 feet away. The air conditioning was erratic and was either very warm or very cold.
The hotel personnel were friendly and helpful and the included breakfast was sufficient.
If you choose this hotel you might want to request a balcony room. They may be a little brighter and more cheery.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

First off it's in a great location and it's great value for money. The staff we're very helpful and pleasant. The room is a bit on the small side but that didn't bother us as we spent most of our time out exploring but it wouldn't bother me anyway. The room and the bathroom were very clean. We stayed 4 nights and every day our room was cleaned, bed made, clean towels etc. The shower is big and has a fine big shower head as well which we loved. There was only one English speaking channel on TV which was CNN but we didn't mind too much because again we didn't spend too much time in the room. I had read about problems with the free wi-fi but it worked absolutely perfectly for me on my iTouch. I was in room 402 so maybe you could ask for that room if you wanted. It does look out over the street with a nice little balcony and you can hear traffic at night but I'm a light sleeper and I slept like a baby every night.The breakfast was basic enough but overall I was very happy I chose this hotel and would definitely recommend it for its price range.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Hotel location is excellent. Very centrally located.

However, the room (we were in room 501) was very small. We had difficulty in putting our two medium sized bags in the room. But for the price, it is a deal.

Bathroom was neat and clean.

Breakfast provided was very good to start the day.

I could not get the internet in my room despite the best efforts of the staff. The staff is good and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Best location and value for your money!
The perfect place to stay for a few nights!
The breakfast was very limited: bread, butter, juice and coffe or tea. For me, who can't eat bread, there was nothing instead of. Not even eggs!
We were four ladies and it was perfect otherwise, but I would not recommend it to families.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Urquinaona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urquinaona

Address: Ronda de Sant Pere 24, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 518 hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Urquinaona 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Urquinaona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urquinaona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Urquinaona Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Urquinaona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.