We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Placa Catalunya!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Urquinaona

Save Saved
You added Hotel Urquinaona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Urquinaona
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ronda de Sant Pere 24, 08010 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #357 of 517 hotels in Barcelona
Barcelona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Near Placa Catalunya!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Best location and value for your money!
The perfect place to stay for a few nights!
The breakfast was very limited: bread, butter, juice and coffe or tea. For me, who can't eat bread, there was nothing instead of. Not even eggs!
We were four ladies and it was perfect otherwise, but I would not recommend it to families.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    123
    61
    31
    15
See reviews for
59
98
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel was good in general, although the price was high for the general quality. The 502 room was a sauna. It was even difficult to get cold water on the shower.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights from 10 to 12 October in room 102 which faces the street.

We had requested a double bed (double room) in our reservation but got a room with 2 separate beds instead (twin room). After we saw the room, we asked at the reception to change and got offered room 301. This room was about half the size of room 102 with a bed that had to be put against the wall due to lack of space. As this room looked like a prison cell, we changed back to the room we got initially offered.

Positive points:
- Location: next to the metro & 5min walk to Placa de Catalunya
- Nice breakfast: croissants, baguettes, fresh fruit (melon, pineapple), donuts.
- Big rain shower in the bathroom
- Fridge & safe in the room

Negative points:
- Airco not working properly: even when the temperature was put on 5 degrees, the room stayed hot as hell during the night. On top of this, the airco was very loud.

- Noisy: the hotel is located in a busy street with many busses & cars passing by. As the metro runs underneath, you could feel it shaking. As a result, opening the window at night to cool down was not an option.

- Wifi not working: signal was too weak and in this 3 days period I did not succeed once in getting a wireless connection with my ipad/ smartphone (note: internet on pc in hall on first floor did work)

- Beds: extremely soft/ old mattresses which were very uncomfortable

- Finishing of the room: Walls & furniture were damaged. The chair that was put in the room came straight from the outside terrace from the bar located downstairs

- Blankets:These could use a wash

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost rooms that end with a 1 or face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a room on the 4th floor with a balcony. The room was very small but clean. The other rooms on this floor were larger but the balcony was worth it. The breakfast was really good and the staff very helpful. It is too bad the room did not have a coat of paint. the back of the door was pretty beat up and the baseboards needed some work but overall it was a good experience. There was a small fridge but the wifi did not work so don't be surprised, There is a computer for guests located on the first floor and that worked well. Recommended for those who do not intend to spend a lot of time in their room. Traffic noise was minimal over night and two sets of curtains covered the balcony entrance so light and noise was never a problem. There is a metro station really close by.

Room Tip: If you want air and light get the room on the 4th floor with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The room was clean, the bathroom was spotless. Yes it was a bit small but perfect for our needs. The staff both at the front desk and housekeeping were awesome! The cafe/restaurant next door is perfect for breakfast or the late night drink before bed with outdoor seating.
Just a two block walk to Placa de Catalana through a well traveled highly populated area (no back alleys or anything) Same two block walk to Las Ramblas.
Only possible Cons- 1) Right over a Metro, I never felt/heard anything but my mother did a small bit. 2) There is an elevator but it is very old, small and slow. There is a decent amount of stairs to climb.

Room Tip: If you need a quite room, ask for something in the back. Rooms in the front face a decently busy st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I was pleased with ths hotel generally speaking. I was very disappointed that the wifi did not work for the entire 4 days. If there is no wifi please don't advertise it! I was able to go to Starbucks and other places to do the internet contact I had to do while we were here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Urquinaona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urquinaona

Address: Ronda de Sant Pere 24, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 517 hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Urquinaona 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hotel Urquinaona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urquinaona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Urquinaona Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Urquinaona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.