We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Placa Catalunya!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Urquinaona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Urquinaona to your Saves list
Hotel Urquinaona
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ronda de Sant Pere 24, 08010 Barcelona, Spain (El Born / La Ribera)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #383 of 510 Hotels in Barcelona
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Near Placa Catalunya!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Best location and value for your money!
The perfect place to stay for a few nights!
The breakfast was very limited: bread, butter, juice and coffe or tea. For me, who can't eat bread, there was nothing instead of. Not even eggs!
We were four ladies and it was perfect otherwise, but I would not recommend it to families.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    133
    71
    36
    20
See reviews for
74
116
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel was good in general, although the price was high for the general quality. The 502 room was a sauna. It was even difficult to get cold water on the shower.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights from 10 to 12 October in room 102 which faces the street.

We had requested a double bed (double room) in our reservation but got a room with 2 separate beds instead (twin room). After we saw the room, we asked at the reception to change and got offered room 301. This room was about half the size of room 102 with a bed that had to be put against the wall due to lack of space. As this room looked like a prison cell, we changed back to the room we got initially offered.

Positive points:
- Location: next to the metro & 5min walk to Placa de Catalunya
- Nice breakfast: croissants, baguettes, fresh fruit (melon, pineapple), donuts.
- Big rain shower in the bathroom
- Fridge & safe in the room

Negative points:
- Airco not working properly: even when the temperature was put on 5 degrees, the room stayed hot as hell during the night. On top of this, the airco was very loud.

- Noisy: the hotel is located in a busy street with many busses & cars passing by. As the metro runs underneath, you could feel it shaking. As a result, opening the window at night to cool down was not an option.

- Wifi not working: signal was too weak and in this 3 days period I did not succeed once in getting a wireless connection with my ipad/ smartphone (note: internet on pc in hall on first floor did work)

- Beds: extremely soft/ old mattresses which were very uncomfortable

- Finishing of the room: Walls & furniture were damaged. The chair that was put in the room came straight from the outside terrace from the bar located downstairs

- Blankets:These could use a wash

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost rooms that end with a 1 or face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a room on the 4th floor with a balcony. The room was very small but clean. The other rooms on this floor were larger but the balcony was worth it. The breakfast was really good and the staff very helpful. It is too bad the room did not have a coat of paint. the back of the door was pretty beat up and the baseboards needed some work but overall it was a good experience. There was a small fridge but the wifi did not work so don't be surprised, There is a computer for guests located on the first floor and that worked well. Recommended for those who do not intend to spend a lot of time in their room. Traffic noise was minimal over night and two sets of curtains covered the balcony entrance so light and noise was never a problem. There is a metro station really close by.

Room Tip: If you want air and light get the room on the 4th floor with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The room was clean, the bathroom was spotless. Yes it was a bit small but perfect for our needs. The staff both at the front desk and housekeeping were awesome! The cafe/restaurant next door is perfect for breakfast or the late night drink before bed with outdoor seating.
Just a two block walk to Placa de Catalana through a well traveled highly populated area (no back alleys or anything) Same two block walk to Las Ramblas.
Only possible Cons- 1) Right over a Metro, I never felt/heard anything but my mother did a small bit. 2) There is an elevator but it is very old, small and slow. There is a decent amount of stairs to climb.

Room Tip: If you need a quite room, ask for something in the back. Rooms in the front face a decently busy st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I was pleased with ths hotel generally speaking. I was very disappointed that the wifi did not work for the entire 4 days. If there is no wifi please don't advertise it! I was able to go to Starbucks and other places to do the internet contact I had to do while we were here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
#370 of 510 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Eixample
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
#32 of 510 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#394 of 510 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Lausanne
Hostal Lausanne
#357 of 510 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#224 of 510 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Roma Reial Hotel
Roma Reial Hotel
#364 of 510 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urquinaona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urquinaona

Address: Ronda de Sant Pere 24, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #383 of 510 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Urquinaona 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Urquinaona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urquinaona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Urquinaona Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Urquinaona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.