We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can I come back yet?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Espana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Espana to your Saves list
Hotel Espana
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer Sant Pau 9-11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Brighton, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Can I come back yet?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful 4-day stay at this beautiful hotel. I really can't say enough good things about it. It is historically important, and a must-see if you are interested in the modernista style, or if you enjoy seeing how well a historical building can be sensitively adapted to a modern, comfortable hotel. We were in a standard room, which was small, but perfect for our needs. The rooftop terrace and small pool were open when we arrived which was very welcome, and a real treat for the centre of town. Our bedroom was very quiet (it faced an internal courtyard which may be worth requesting). We had breakfast one day in the beautiful dining room, which was great value if you want 'the works' but other days we had their express breakfast in the bar - coffee, juice, and a pastry,croissant or mini boccadillo for just 7 euros - very good. Thank you to everyone at Hotel Espana for making our visit so special.

Room Tip: ask for a courtyard facing room (quiet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Of course you can come back!! Always a pleasure welcoming you back!
Thankk you very much for your very nice words to us. We are happy to know that we have contributed making a memorable stay in our city and Hotel España.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    324
    57
    15
    13
See reviews for
98
490
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
westfield,ma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a cruise. The room was ready early and we were able to start our tour of barcelona right away since this hotel is just off las ramblas.
Don't let the walk from las ramblas to the hotel put you off, it is a bit rough but we walked back aNd forth at all times of the day and night and felt quite safe.
The hotel is within walking distance of many sites, we spent time in barrio gotic and all along las ramblas . The hop on hop off bus stops at the end of las ramblas and takes you all over
Once back at the hotel you will find yourself in a quiet , perfect relaxing environment. The building is beautiful, around each corner is a lovely surprise .... The art of he building itself was worth exploring. The room was memorable as on our last evening, sitting on the patio with our Spanish wine the roof tops were lit up with fireworks . Perfect ending

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room with a patio on the top floor right over the alley. It was not at all noisy wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing Hotel España for your stay in our city and for your nice words to us.
I am happy to know that Hotel España's location, staff, services and facilities have fulfilled your expectations. I also highly apreciate your sensibility towards the building, its atmosphere and relaxing ambiance.

We all look forward to welcoming you at Hotel España very soon. Yours cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Centrally and perfectly located, the Espana is one terrific hotel. From the second we arrived the hotel's staff made us feel at home. Moreover, they worked to help us fashion our days in Barcelona to our liking. A tad expensive, but definitely worth it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
First of all I would like to thank you you for choosing Hotel España for your stay in our city and for your very nice words to us.
We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy. It is not an easy challenge to make you feel as at home!

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Kindly yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights here. The staff are excellent! We we're treated like royalty, my complements to the staff. The hotel facilities are very nice, modern. It's a short walk to the chaos of La Rambla, literally 100 yards/meters. It's a short walk to everything. The downsides of the hotel for me were the noise of the city, we had a room with windows out, it was noisy at night. We also had a lot of noise in our room from the water pipes, odd I know. The bigger problem was the odors from the bathroom drains, we would wake up in the morning with a stinky bathroom, Yuk. All the negatives considered, we enjoyed the hotel very much. I walked to a nearby bakery each morning for coffee and pastries. The breakfast at the hotel is very nice, but 17Euro buffet, we don't eat big breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Mr. Walton,
First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel España for your recent trip to Barcelona. I highly appreciate to have your feedback, since I am always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests in order to keep on improving our facilities and services.

I am happy to read that you had a nice stay with us. Your comments about the staff are appreciated and I will inform them about your satisfaction.

About the odor mentioned, it is completely an unusual and punctual drawback coming from the street pipeline.

Thanking you once again for your constructive comments, I look forward to welcoming you back personally to our Hotel very soon. Cordially yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We had a great stay in very comfortable rooms. The staff was very nice and helpfull.
The only downside was the availibility of the roof terrace. we booked this hotel because of it but it was closed during our stay, for unknown reasons. (the temperature was above 20 degrees celsius)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our Hotel during your last stay in Barcelona.
Thank you for your nice comments about the staff. We really work hard to make our guests experience better and unforgetable.

About the terrace, I feel It is important to clarify. The Bar Alaire Ramblas, on the top floor, opens from Wednesday to Sunday during May. From June to August, it will be opened the whole week.
But, the access to the terrace, to the jacuzzi and to the Swimming pool is free and available during the whole day. Although the bar is not available on Monday and Tuesday, Room Service is.

Looking forward to wellcoming you very soon .... and have the possibility to enjoy good tapas and drinks in our beautiful terrace. Kindly yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. Prior to arrival the concierge assisted us by arranging for fresh flowers in our suite and helped us to secure great tickets/reservations to the Grand Palau Flamenco/Opera. We were greeted with a complimentary bottle of Vino Tinto which was very tasty.

The hotel is in an excellent location, just off the Ramblas, next to the Gothic and a few blocks from Catalunya square. It is also a lovely walk to the Grand Palau de las Musica Catalana, if you enjoy walking. We actually walked to the Sagrada Familia, which was about 30 minutes.. of very enjoyable site seeing.

We selected the Jr. Suite, on the 5th floor. The Suite was well appointed, two rooms, 1 1.2 baths, private terrace. The bed was extremely comfortable, fresh linens, robes, slippers and bath accessories were kept fresh. The bath included a rain shower and soaking tub with bath salts. The bathroom tile floor was heated and warm on our bare feet. We enjoyed cafe express, juice and water in the morning in the privacy of our suite or balcony overlooking the Raval, a bohemian area. Our room was quiet and peaceful at night.

The staff was friendly, accommodating, patient and welcoming at every turn. The reception staff was genuinely warm, helpful and sincere. We were assisted with day trips, taxis and directions. We were able to check in immediately, with a short wait in the breakfast room. We enjoyed the convenience of coffee and breakfast after a long flight. We also tried the Bar Anau and dined in the restaurant. Dinner was delicious from beginning to end.

I highly recommend this small, historical hotel. Would love to return. Negatives? Not the hotels fault, we were not able to use the rooftop terrace or pool, the weather was too cool.

Room Tip: Jr. Suite 502 large, afternoon sun, private terrace and central air conditioning.. no noise. Lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for sharing your detailed experience at Hotel España with us and other visitors.
We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and received a good service from our staff. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guests and it is very rewarding to know we enhanced your stay in Barcelona.
I am proud to read that you also enjoyed our terrace on the 5th floor, good tapas and relaxing atmosphere, and our nice Restaurant Fonda España.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Cordially yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This hotel has beautiful architecture mixed with boutique style bedrooms. Service was friendly without being over the top.
The rooftop terrace is lovely, unfortunately we didnt visit the restaurant but another guest was raving about her meal there.
We felt really relaxed and pampered here.

Negatives? Unfortunately the only air conditioning that was in action was in the bedrooms making the rest of the hotel very warm - it was April when we visited so hopefully this wouldnt be the case in the height of summer or it would be unbearable.
We had a flooded bathroom every day due to the gap between the sheets of glass screen.
Minor niggles in the grand scheme of things!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel España for your recent trip to Barcelona.
We appreciate to receive your nice comments and your feedback. We are always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests in order to improve our services.
It is really a pitty you did not have the chance to have dinner or lunch at Fonda España Restaurant, on the ground floor oh the Hotel. It worth it for its food quality, service and special setting. I would recommend you to book at your arrival to make sure there is a table avaiable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon. My best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Address: Carrer Sant Pau 9-11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#55 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#91 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Espana 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Superior Hotel Espana is located in the heart of Barcelona's historic centre, adjacent to La Rambla, the Gran Teatre del Liceu and the Gothic Quarter. Opened in 1859, it was later renovated by the celebrated modernist architect Lluis Domenech i Montaner. The hotel has always been considered a little gem of Barcelona modernism. Completely renovated in 2010, it combines modern interior design with the classicism of a nineteenth century building. The hotel's restaurant service is under the management of the chef Martin Berasategui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Espana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.