We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Executive Treatment!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Espana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Espana to your Saves list
Hotel Espana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer Sant Pau 9-11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Executive Treatment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My friend and I booked to stay here on the threat of another friend that if we did not, she would disown us! And my goodness, thank-you friend for the fantastic recommendation!!
Upon entering the foyer, we knew we were somewhere special. It was flawlessly decorated and styled; modern and impressive. We were greeted by the news that we had been upgraded to an Executive room (from a deluxe)!!
The room was beautiful and the TV was on playing melodic music and greeting me personally (yes, I know it is all computerised, but it is the extra mile details that make a hotel stay priceless!). We had a terrace (you may call it a balcony, but it was spacious and sleek, so a terrace to us). The executive room had a coffee machine (Nespresso, I believe), which my friend assures me was the best! The Rituals bathroom toiletries were divine and smelt amazing. Slightly wierd using a toilet with a partially frosted glass door, but that was within the bathroom itself (and another door) so all is good. The bed was oh so comfortable and air conditioning worked wonderfully (being quite warm in Barcelona).
Now, this hotel is more expensive than your budget hotels, but it is located perfectly in Barcelona. About a 2 minute walk to Las Ramblas and the metro and within walking distance of a lot of other sights.
The hotel's bars and restaurants are fantastic. Food is pricey, but delicious and plentiful. The service is fantastic. Drinks were actually quite cheap (compared to Australia) and abundant - I called them my Gin and Tonic "Fishbowls".
If you are looking for a nice hotel in the heart of Barcelona, you cannot go past Hotel Espana, otherwise I will disown you!!! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
First of all we thank you for choosing Hotel España for your stay in our city and for your very nice words to us.

We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Cordially yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    346
    64
    17
    14
See reviews for
103
536
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great location in the middle of all activity. Front desk staff was excellent. Room was fantastic and sparkly clean. We had executive room with balcony overlooking the city. It was well worth the extra price but still great value. Walking distance to many of the best known sites.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us.
We are very pleased to hear your received a good service from our staff and that the hotel facilities fulfilled your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Our best wishes for the New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Very beautiful and very clean Hotel . All the people that worked there were very kind and very helpful .
The Place of the hotel was the best , it was almost in the center of Barcelona and you could go everywhere just by taking the metro or bus or you can go in Catalunya square and take bus , metro , everything and go everywhere ..
I loved my stay there ..
I will stay again .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
First of all we thank you for choosing Hotel España for your stay in our city and for you nice words to us.
We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Best wishes for the New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Me and my wife spent 5 days at Espana hotel. We stayed at a Delux room. Big room (compared to what you typically get in Europe hotels). Very nice, all looks new, modern clean style, comfortable bad, very nice bath room. What you see in the web site is what you get. Location is great, just behind the opera house in the Ramblas (on the Liceu metro station). Breakfast is very good (again, compared to what you typically get in Europe hotels). Staff is friendly and helpful. And finally, the price is fair.

The only small complain I have is that you need to get from the reception a new access code for the WiFi every day (I have seen it also in other places in Europe, I don't understand why it works this way)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comments and for sharing your experience in Hotel España with other visitors.
We take your comments into consideration and we thank you once again for your honest opinion.
We hope to welcome you very soon in Hotel España. Best wishes for the New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I recently went to Barcelona to attend a ballet performance at the Liceu Theatre. I chose this hotel for it´s location right behind the theatre and just off the Ramblas. In this sense it was perfect . It isn´t expensive compared to other hotels in Barcelona in the same category. Unfortunately this area tends to be noisy .
The concierge was polite but definitely not pleasant. The room was extremely small but modern, clean and comfortable. In the bathroom there was a night light in the floor which was way too strong and there was no way of switching it off. This was very annoying since the bathroom door is glass and there was no way of keeping the room dark at night.
The breakfast seemed expensive so we opted for a café on the Ramblas that serves wonderful croissant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us.
I take into consideration your comments and I hope to see you very soon. Happy Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Very beautiful hotel - lovely old features. Rooms nicely designed although somewhat dark - very nice large sofa. Bathrooms very designer and nice large shower. The breakfast is somewhat sparse - 3 very small trays of fruit and you can order eggs if you require. Ham curling up at edges - but bread was very nice. Coffee not up to much and a bit do it yourself - ish. Wasnt overly impressed as bar staff were very obliging when we were in there and the prices for drinks in the bar were very reasonable
It is very close to the Ramblas and when you come out of the hotel dont turn left or you will end up in a very dodgy red light district - prostitutes wearing thigh length boots in th middle of the afternoon! When we came home late one evening 2 of them attached themselves to my colleague - take care also with your wallets and bags - as always near the Ramblas

Room Tip: Try to be as high up as possible to get a room with more daylight
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us to share your experience at Hotel España.
We are making some changes on our breakfast offer, and We will pay attention to your comment about it.

We hope to welcome you again at Hotel España in the near future. Cordially yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Close to the Ramblas just 100 mtr away, wonderfull 19 cent builduing with modern touch , very friendly people , nice breakfast, nice design rooms with a vieuw .
Nice roof terras , and the bar downstairs is worth a visit as well, not cheap , bud for sure worth is price

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
First of all we thank you for choosing Hotel España for your stay in our city and for you nice and honest words to us.

We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Yours cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Address: Carrer Sant Pau 9-11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#46 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#80 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#108 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Espana 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Superior Hotel Espana is located in the heart of Barcelona's historic centre, adjacent to La Rambla, the Gran Teatre del Liceu and the Gothic Quarter. Opened in 1859, it was later renovated by the celebrated modernist architect Lluis Domenech i Montaner. The hotel has always been considered a little gem of Barcelona modernism. Completely renovated in 2010, it combines modern interior design with the classicism of a nineteenth century building. The hotel's restaurant service is under the management of the chef Martin Berasategui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Espana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.