We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Rambla” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Espana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Espana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Espana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer Sant Pau 9-11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #41 of 520 hotels in Barcelona
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Close to Rambla”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Close to the Ramblas just 100 mtr away, wonderfull 19 cent builduing with modern touch , very friendly people , nice breakfast, nice design rooms with a vieuw .
Nice roof terras , and the bar downstairs is worth a visit as well, not cheap , bud for sure worth is price

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
First of all we thank you for choosing Hotel España for your stay in our city and for you nice and honest words to us.

We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Yours cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    254
    40
    12
    11
See reviews for
78
377
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had a beautiful autumn break here. The building is spectacular, service great and the vodka tonics at the bar were huge. A very nice place to be in Barcelona and still be in the heart of the city. Would easily stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us and other visitors. We appreciate your nice comments and we hope to see you again in an spring break!
kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Great location
Immediately in the Ramblas
Design hotel
We really appreciate at all
Reccomended
Not so good the 'expensive' not included breakfast
Great location
Immediately in the Ramblas
Design hotel
We really appreciate at all
Reccomended
Not so good the 'expensive' not included breakfast

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write us to share your experience at Hotel España.
As per your comment, I will pay attention to our breakfast offer to check why it did not resulted hundred per cent satisfactory.

We hope to welcome back at Hotel España in the near future. Cordially yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great staff, good amenities and information provided - free mini bar (minus the alcohol!), clean and comfortable rooms, also very stylish!!! Despite being so central, no noise could be heard from inside the room! We got there very early, at around 10.30am and our room was ready! We were very pleased with that as we had an early flight and had been up at 3am that morning, so that was much appreciated.......... Didn't eat or drink in the hotel bar, but it did look good and there was always people in there, which is a good sign! Had a very nice stay and would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your really nice comments!!
It is very rewarding to know that Hotel España staff and its facilities have fulfilled your expectations.
In your next visit, you can not leave without dinning in our Fonda España Restaurant. It really worth it!
Looking forward to seeing you very soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Have just come back from a 3 night stay @ Hotel Espanya and could happily have stayed for another 3! Fantastic location, very modern rooms with showers to die for and the staff that we dealt with were all extremely helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoy you stay at Hotel España. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

Thank you very much for recommend Hotel España to friends and family!
We hope to see you again in a near future. Yours cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed here years ago, marvelling at the mermaids on the restaurant walls; have now returned to find it completely refurbished. Complete luxury in bedrooms and public areas, but great value for money. Amazingly friendly staff, very wecoming to 10 month old baby! Good to have delicious late breakfasts in the bar area. Located in historic old town, surrounded by brilliant bars, restaurants, and shopping areas.

Room Tip: Lovely rooms facing street and totally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us.
We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy. Your baby was amazing!

We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on a recent business trip and the rooms here are fantastic.

The style and feel of the hotel is really nice, especially seeing's it housing is an incredible old building. There was a fragrance machine churning away downstairs which filled the air with a really nice aroma... a great touch.

Really well positioned for access to the Ramblas as you are pretty much in the middle of the main stretch. The road the hotel actually faces out onto is a little dodgy looking, but not awful. Like any large city in the world, you have to be aware of your surroundings and not be to 'touristy' or else you may be an easy target.

No free wi-fi in the rooms doesn't make it very business friendly, but you can purchase 24 hours access from reception if needed.

If you are looking for a great base to use for Barcelona but still want the luxury of a nice hotel with large comfortable rooms.. this is definitely it.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room to be honest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us.
We are very pleased to hear your received a good service from our staff and that the hotel facilities fulfilled your expectations.

As per your comment about the wifi, it is free of charge in the whole hotel making your reservation through our web site!

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España, we remain at your disposal for any further assistance. Yours cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Barcelona
Hotel Espana Barcelona, Catalonia
Address: Carrer Sant Pau 9-11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#65 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Espana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Superior Hotel España is located in the heart of Barcelona’s historic centre, adjacent to La Rambla, the Gran Teatre del Liceu and the Gothic Quarter. Opened in 1859, it was later renovated by the celebrated modernist architect Lluís Domènech i Montaner. The hotel has always been considered a little gem of Barcelona modernism. Completely renovated in 2010, it combines modern interior design with the classicism of a nineteenth century building. The hotel’s restaurant service is under the management of the chef Martín Berasategui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Otel, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Espana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.