We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full Joy:)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Espana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Espana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Espana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer Sant Pau 9-11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #50 of 517 hotels in Barcelona
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Full Joy:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is one of the nicest hotel I have been in:) I booked it for a short week-end and it was pure pleasure from start to finish. Location just puts you in the middle of the city, all you have to do is just to explore:). I loved the room, very nice design, cozy and special at the same time.
The reception lady was pretty helpful and nice. We tried one of the night the restaurant downstairs: excellent food and we really loved the wine as well:).
For me this will be the hotel to use in Barcelona, has everything!
Thanks to all the posting, really helped me have a better picture before choosing the hotel...and yes, morning coffee is great if you get it done with the coffee machine, takes some time, but coffee's great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us.
We are very pleased to hear your received a good service from our staff. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the very near future. Yours cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    383
    282
    49
    13
    12
See reviews for
88
428
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A Barcelona gem. Beautiful old building just renovated. Charming and extremely comfortable. We arrived early in the day and were immediately taken to our rooms. It is a great location. The girls at the front desk were delightful and extremely helpful. Breakfast was a bit dissappointing but the service made it a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write us to share your experience at Hotel España.
Thank you for your nice comments, and I will pay all my attention to your opinion on the breakfast offer. We take your comment very seriously.
I am aslo happy to know that our staff was helpful and charm, We work very hard for our guests satisfaction.
I look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel España in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked 3 days here at the end of a cruise. This is a fantastic modernista hotel with a range of hi-tech facilities and extras. We arrived at 8.30 in the morning which was too early to check in. We were given a range of very useful information by the receptionist to fill our time. We purchased a pack for 3 euros which enabled us to buy a 2 day Barcelona tourist bus ticket at a discount. The pack included a range of information including a very useful booklet of vouchers for attractions,eating places, tours etc.
Having spent the morning using the tourist bus to familiarise ourselves with places we might like to visit we returned to the hotel to check in. This took some time as there were a number of people in front of us and there was only one receptionist behind the desk. The situation was improved when an extra member of staff appeared.
Our room was on the fouth floor and there were 2 lifts. The hotel is ultra modern and very highly appointed. The room was large with comfortable beds, lots of wardrobe space and a leather effect bed settee. There was a large flatscreen tv, a keyboard with wifi availability, a fridge and an impressive array of electrical connections for a range of gadgets including an ipod station. The fridge contained 2 bottles of water and fruit juice and 2 packs of peanuts which were replaced daily at no extra cost. There was also a safe in the wardrobe. The bathroom was strikingly modern in black,white and glass. The shower and toilet were in separate cubicles within the bathroom.
We did not use the bar or the restaurant but they were both beautifully decorated and had interesting features. I looked at the bar prices and they were not disimilar to those being charged in eating places on the Ramblas.
On the roof of the hotel there is a large bar area, a small swimming pool and a jacuzzi. This area is open from May to September.It was very comfortable but was surrounded by rusty solid railings which somewhat spoilt the ambience.
There was free wifi available in all public areas which was a useful freebie.
The hotel is in a central position within easy walking distance of Plaza de Catalunya and Columbus' Column. A little further afield are the Cathedral,Casa Batilo and La Padrera and the House of Spikes.
There are 3 routes on the Tourist bus - blue, red and green. We went on 2 of these. The red route covers the district around the centre of the city. The blue route goes further afield and includes Park Guell.(This is the closest to Mount Tibidabo) The green route covers the area nearest to the cruise terminal.
We went to The Monastir de Pedralbes whilst on the blue route. This was a superb experience of tranquility in the hustle and bustle of a busy city.
We can thouroughly recommend this hotel for value for money, proximity to attractions and the high level of comfort.

Room Tip: I don't know if there are any rooms which have a good view. I think this is unlikely as the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for your detailed description, which helps us an other visitors.
We are very pleased to hear your received a good service from our staff. It is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in a very near future. Yours cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

If you have never been to Barcelona this is a great place to be near a lot of places walking distance. Its location is equidistant from Plaza Cataluna to Plaza Colon and from both those points there is plenty around to see. Service was great and the restaurant was really good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoy you stay at Hotel España. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

I hope to see you again in a very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Hotel Espana is conveniently located a few steps off the LaRambla and steps from the Liceu metro stop, down a side street.

The hotel has been gorgeously renovated and is very modern with a cool vibe. The rooms are not large (common for European hotels), but they are clean, quiet and have all the amenities you need. The bathrooms are also very modern with a glass shower (no bathtub). As two women traveling, we felt very safe staying here.

The hotel staff is nice and speaks English. It was not warm enough to use the small pool, but the deck is very miami-beach like and recommend checking it out.

The hotel is also within walking distance to the major shopping area, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel España for your stay in Barcelona and thank you for letting us know about your experience with us.

We hope to welcome you in a very near future. Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for my 21st birthday, and couldn't of asked for more. It was a gorgeous hotel in a great location. The room was lovely and the staff very friendly and helpful.
Would definitely go back. :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and other visitors. It is very rewarding to know that you enjoyed your stay and your birthday in Hotel España.
We hope to see you again in a near future and thank you for recommending Hotel España!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Excellent service, nothing is too much trouble. I would strongly recommend this hotel for couples looking for quality, location, service and a beautiful interior.
You won't find a better all round package.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us.
We are very pleased to hear your received a good service from our staff. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Address: Carrer Sant Pau 9-11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#75 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#93 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Espana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Superior Hotel España is located in the heart of Barcelona’s historic centre, adjacent to La Rambla, the Gran Teatre del Liceu and the Gothic Quarter. Opened in 1859, it was later renovated by the celebrated modernist architect Lluís Domènech i Montaner. The hotel has always been considered a little gem of Barcelona modernism. Completely renovated in 2010, it combines modern interior design with the classicism of a nineteenth century building. The hotel’s restaurant service is under the management of the chef Martín Berasategui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Espana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.