We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barcelona Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Espana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Espana to your Saves list
Hotel Espana
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer Sant Pau 9-11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Barcelona Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A Barcelona gem. Beautiful old building just renovated. Charming and extremely comfortable. We arrived early in the day and were immediately taken to our rooms. It is a great location. The girls at the front desk were delightful and extremely helpful. Breakfast was a bit dissappointing but the service made it a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write us to share your experience at Hotel España.
Thank you for your nice comments, and I will pay all my attention to your opinion on the breakfast offer. We take your comment very seriously.
I am aslo happy to know that our staff was helpful and charm, We work very hard for our guests satisfaction.
I look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel España in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    324
    57
    15
    13
See reviews for
98
491
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked 3 days here at the end of a cruise. This is a fantastic modernista hotel with a range of hi-tech facilities and extras. We arrived at 8.30 in the morning which was too early to check in. We were given a range of very useful information by the receptionist to fill our time. We purchased a pack for 3 euros which enabled us to buy a 2 day Barcelona tourist bus ticket at a discount. The pack included a range of information including a very useful booklet of vouchers for attractions,eating places, tours etc.
Having spent the morning using the tourist bus to familiarise ourselves with places we might like to visit we returned to the hotel to check in. This took some time as there were a number of people in front of us and there was only one receptionist behind the desk. The situation was improved when an extra member of staff appeared.
Our room was on the fouth floor and there were 2 lifts. The hotel is ultra modern and very highly appointed. The room was large with comfortable beds, lots of wardrobe space and a leather effect bed settee. There was a large flatscreen tv, a keyboard with wifi availability, a fridge and an impressive array of electrical connections for a range of gadgets including an ipod station. The fridge contained 2 bottles of water and fruit juice and 2 packs of peanuts which were replaced daily at no extra cost. There was also a safe in the wardrobe. The bathroom was strikingly modern in black,white and glass. The shower and toilet were in separate cubicles within the bathroom.
We did not use the bar or the restaurant but they were both beautifully decorated and had interesting features. I looked at the bar prices and they were not disimilar to those being charged in eating places on the Ramblas.
On the roof of the hotel there is a large bar area, a small swimming pool and a jacuzzi. This area is open from May to September.It was very comfortable but was surrounded by rusty solid railings which somewhat spoilt the ambience.
There was free wifi available in all public areas which was a useful freebie.
The hotel is in a central position within easy walking distance of Plaza de Catalunya and Columbus' Column. A little further afield are the Cathedral,Casa Batilo and La Padrera and the House of Spikes.
There are 3 routes on the Tourist bus - blue, red and green. We went on 2 of these. The red route covers the district around the centre of the city. The blue route goes further afield and includes Park Guell.(This is the closest to Mount Tibidabo) The green route covers the area nearest to the cruise terminal.
We went to The Monastir de Pedralbes whilst on the blue route. This was a superb experience of tranquility in the hustle and bustle of a busy city.
We can thouroughly recommend this hotel for value for money, proximity to attractions and the high level of comfort.

Room Tip: I don't know if there are any rooms which have a good view. I think this is unlikely as the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for your detailed description, which helps us an other visitors.
We are very pleased to hear your received a good service from our staff. It is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in a very near future. Yours cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

If you have never been to Barcelona this is a great place to be near a lot of places walking distance. Its location is equidistant from Plaza Cataluna to Plaza Colon and from both those points there is plenty around to see. Service was great and the restaurant was really good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoy you stay at Hotel España. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

I hope to see you again in a very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Hotel Espana is conveniently located a few steps off the LaRambla and steps from the Liceu metro stop, down a side street.

The hotel has been gorgeously renovated and is very modern with a cool vibe. The rooms are not large (common for European hotels), but they are clean, quiet and have all the amenities you need. The bathrooms are also very modern with a glass shower (no bathtub). As two women traveling, we felt very safe staying here.

The hotel staff is nice and speaks English. It was not warm enough to use the small pool, but the deck is very miami-beach like and recommend checking it out.

The hotel is also within walking distance to the major shopping area, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel España for your stay in Barcelona and thank you for letting us know about your experience with us.

We hope to welcome you in a very near future. Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for my 21st birthday, and couldn't of asked for more. It was a gorgeous hotel in a great location. The room was lovely and the staff very friendly and helpful.
Would definitely go back. :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and other visitors. It is very rewarding to know that you enjoyed your stay and your birthday in Hotel España.
We hope to see you again in a near future and thank you for recommending Hotel España!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Excellent service, nothing is too much trouble. I would strongly recommend this hotel for couples looking for quality, location, service and a beautiful interior.
You won't find a better all round package.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us.
We are very pleased to hear your received a good service from our staff. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Hotel Espana is a beautifully restored building, it does not look like much from the outside but inside it is exquiste. It is in a great location, just off Las Ramblas, so out of the noise and crowds but well within walking distance of many places.
We had a room on one of the lower floors so there was minimal natural light but this is not an issue as we didn't spend much time during the day in our room! The room was a good size compared to other hotels we stayed at in Europe, well furnished and decorated. The bathroom was especially lovely and well sized.
We used the roof top bar a couple of times where the drinks were reasonably priced and the service impeccable. It was quite warm whilst there (mid Sept) so it was nice to lay back of an afternoon/evening getting the last of the sun whilst sipping on a drink or 2.
All in all I thought the hotel was great value, not in expensive but you definitely get what you pay for:

Room Tip: I imagine rooms on higher floors would have more natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
First of all we thank you for choosing Hotel España for your stay in our city and for you nice words to us.
We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.
Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Yours cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Address: Carrer Sant Pau 9-11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#55 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#91 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Espana 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Superior Hotel Espana is located in the heart of Barcelona's historic centre, adjacent to La Rambla, the Gran Teatre del Liceu and the Gothic Quarter. Opened in 1859, it was later renovated by the celebrated modernist architect Lluis Domenech i Montaner. The hotel has always been considered a little gem of Barcelona modernism. Completely renovated in 2010, it combines modern interior design with the classicism of a nineteenth century building. The hotel's restaurant service is under the management of the chef Martin Berasategui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Espana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.